1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Strategic resources and unit obsolence problem

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by player1 fanatic, Oct 30, 2016.

  1. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    In this game, unit get obsolete when upgrade unit is available, regardless if you can or not produce the upgrade due to lack of strategic resources.

    This leads to weird gambling situations, when you try, for example, to discover Ironclads, and if you do not get Coal discovered when you get the tech, you lose access to both Caravels and Ironclads and need to rely on Frigates and Privateers. Then you try to avoid Battleship tech, since it would make Frigates outdated too.

    Same thing happens with Gunpowder. No Niter means no musketmen nor swordsman. Avoid bombard tech at that point, if you want to keep your catapults.
     
    fatgordy and idjit like this.
  2. TruthfulCake

    TruthfulCake Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    363
    I dislike the idea of unit obsolescence in general. Aside from losing access to some unique units (like Aztecs' Eagle Warrior), the strategic resource problem that you mentioned is a real pain. It is a civ's freedom to create obsolete units, if they feel like it, really.

    To put a little more thought into this suggestion:
    1. Purchasing an obsolete unit and upgrading it needs more gold than buying a contemporary unit. This is not the case with slingers/archers. This causes the lack of obsolescence to be exploitable.
    2. Have a second tab/heading in the production panel titled "obsolete" to separate the new units from the old, in order to make the build list less cluttered.
     
  3. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Suggestion to developers:

    One possible way to resolve this would be to make units obsolete only after a first upgraded unit is build.

    So lets say you get tech for Ironclads. You do not have Coal, so you are allowed to build Caravels. Thus, not penalized for discovering new technology.

    Then, when you get Coal and build/upgrade first Ironclad, then make Caravels obsolete.
     
    Assault Lemming likes this.
  4. greygamer

    greygamer Feudal Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Location:
    UK
    The problem is strategic resources currently are an all or nothing proposition. In reality nations that did not have access to such resources could still get those weapons, for example Brazil commissioned two dreadnoughts despite not having the means to produce them locally.
    Lack of a resource should increase the cost/maintenance or limit the number of units, especially if obsolescence is a game mechanic.
     
  5. idjit

    idjit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States of Whatever This Is Now
    I noticed this too last night. I had made a seaport city for building a navy. I then found out that I didn't have coal (no one did, actually), so no ironclads and then to my horror, realized I also couldn't build caravels either. Caravels are better than nothing. But then my game crashed to desktop sometime in the modern era after that and I just gave up at that point. I tried guys, I really did. I guess I just need to "readjust" my definition of a working product, as well as my definition of "fun."
     
  6. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Yep. Really dangerous here. Researched swords, could no longer build warriors. But no access to iron.

    Though I guess it makes sense in that it prevents people with a lot of gold to build the cheaper unit then upgrade en-masse once they get the resource.
     
  7. Becephalus

    Becephalus King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    725
    Yeah the penalty for a lack of resources should be much higher build costs, not inability to build whatsoever.
     
    Assault Lemming likes this.
  8. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    Probably just allow upgrade for ~3-5*the cost (and maybe encampment production as well)
     

Share This Page