1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Stupid mistakes you have made

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Legal_My_Deagle, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. Stylesrj

    Stylesrj Tabitha SEAL

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    New LA, Planet Mira
    I never build the Shewegon thingy. Who cares, I like Organised Religion until Constitution! Then I bother switching to Free Religion...

    I like to stick with Nationalism until the very end thank you very much. Conscripts saved on upgrading until I managed to make more money in my recent games.

    Oh and I never ever switch to State Property now because of Mining Inc. and Cereal Mills!
     
  2. Legal_My_Deagle

    Legal_My_Deagle Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    215
    I just did one:

    I was running a specialist economy so I had 3 Great Scientists saved up who I had rounded up and put in my capital...I lightbulb the first one to get a tech, and then realize I had all three selected still. One tech for the price of three!
     
  3. dante alighieri

    dante alighieri Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Oberammergau, Germany
    I've accidentally clicked on the "The people of city X want to rightfully join civ X" thing and lost cities. Had to reload, but it irks me. The city was mine from the beginning. how do they "rightfully" want to join another civ? especially when I'm number 1?
     
  4. jimbob27

    jimbob27 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    London
    I accidentally hit the "gift unit" button, when I was moving my 50+ unit SOD through my vassals territory.

    In my last game, I gifted some tactical nukes to napoleon, because he was my friend and had close borders with russia, my enemy.

    About 3 turns later.... napoleon stabs me in the back, and uses the nukes against one of my cities.
     
  5. Stolen Rutters

    Stolen Rutters Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,100
    Location:
    Michigan
    Trying to win a game by conquest, but I forgot that I turned off the conquest victory condition in that game. :blush: I haven't turned off a victory condition since.
     
  6. Magic Cat

    Magic Cat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    UK
    I was playing the other weekend. I'd had a ...few... beers & a bit of a session.
    An oppossing Civ decided to offer me (I forget precise details) 1 tech in return for 2 of my techs, some money & map. "Cheeky b@stard", I declare. And renegotiate. I suggest, arrogantly, that for ONE of my techs, he should give ALL his money, his world map & all the techs he has that I don't.
    To my absolute surprise and delight he agrees!
    About 2 turns later I suddenly notice that I have no money. Thats right - in my wasted state I'd mixed up which side of the diplomacy screen was me & which was the AI.
     
  7. TylerD

    TylerD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    U.K.
    +1.


    BTW: I eventually road up most of my land for mobility purposes.
     
  8. LiberiGlacialis

    LiberiGlacialis To the stars!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Online, for crying out loud!
    Pyramid Idiotacy (Build, then forget to swap out for needed Civic)

    Religious version of Pyramids idiotacy (Build, then don't swap to Free Religion. For way too many turns. Err....)

    Military lacking....when Alex/Monty/Kahn nearby....
     
  9. sabo

    sabo My Ancestors were Vikings

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Minneapolis, City of Lakes
    Yeah I do that too only I do it intentionally!! :lol: but only during mid to late games when there is really nothing else I can do with a worker except doing that or sending him back to my capitol to sleep. I think it's left over from the civ III days when you got an extra commerce for a worked road tile.
     
  10. Carabodes

    Carabodes Timid Viking Warlady

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    Biggest blunder: Going deliberately for space race, and then forgetting to build the parts. I got sidetracked by deciding to wipe the mighty Nippon off the map. Saved the sitituation by winning diplo (luckily I had not forgotten to build UN, and as the new ruler of Japan and the only one with modern armor - lots of - nobody but my opponent dared vote against me).

    Habitual idiocy: Whenever I explore with caravels, they all tend to end up in the ice. I have this affinity for icy cold waters :D. My friends and foes are still in the fog, somebody else circumnavigates the earth, while I'm happily exploring onesquared, tiny, icy islands. Can't help myself, the ice is like a grand magnet, must be the magnetical poles :D.
     
  11. cthom

    cthom 3,011,451,295

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,309
    Location:
    was clackmannan, now sauchie
    Those Apostolic Palace Blues...
    still learning the ropes on bts so i'm on chieftain. still, i'm cruising through the game and get offered the chance to build the palace. i thought 'nah, it's useless. just votes on trade and stuff.' i carry on, wage war and get into an embarrasssingly good lead. 1740ish the computer announces that a rival civ has won a diplomatic victory courtesy of the palace. i actually laughed. :hammer2:
     
  12. Crighton

    Crighton Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,136
    My most recent blunder:

    While doing an experiemnt with corporations and crafting a synergetic commerical powerhouse, I go ahead and click on Yes to the Environmentalism Civic change resolution from the UN (I hate the UN).

    I had been running at 100% for most of the game, with profits varying between 100gpt and 400gpt depending on if I was a at war.

    After environmentalism: 0% with a profit margin of 37gpt.

    And this all immediately after two long and brutal wars with Shaka and Tokugawa (which would have been way worse had hey not unloaded the majority of the nuclear arsenals prior to dumping the remain 10 or so on me).

    Either way, there is no profit from Fallout Scrubbing.
     
  13. DigitalBoy

    DigitalBoy Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,346
    Built Ironworks when I didn't have iron in the same city where I constructed the National Park (removes access to coal from city). No iron, no coal, no bonus. I also built a coal plant in the same city after constructing the National Park. :rolleyes:
     
  14. sabo

    sabo My Ancestors were Vikings

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Minneapolis, City of Lakes
    hahaha, that's a good one... I can see how that could happen when you are playing on 'automatic' like I do sometimes and not paying attention to what I'm doing.
     
  15. SpiderMinky

    SpiderMinky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    In my own Mind
    I did this one just lst night :lol: Wanted to bang my head on teh desk when I finaly noticed it it is particularly bad as the turn they were build I was thinking I need to remember to change to representation thtis turn..... and then promptly forgot. .


    Another of my favorites stupid things to have a plan to whip a building out to finish it (usualy a wonder) and then somehow manage to change civics out of slavery right before I remember to whip....:blush:
     
  16. Stylesrj

    Stylesrj Tabitha SEAL

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    New LA, Planet Mira
    One time I had a caravel try and cross the globe. Next thing you know, the bloody thing is turning back, exploring a coastline as I had the line too far out and too far in the middle, so the bloody thing is going back on the other side of Pangea, trying to enter a black spot by going through cities and stuff...

    Another time, the ice caps had blocked off Pangea from itself. My caravel couldn't not go around either way. I bought someone else's map (The Germans, even though they were North of me and I was on the west side of the continent) and I got the extra movement point.

    I forget to put a scout in my Advanced Start games (where I start Ancient Times and have 2500 gold to spend! Woot!)
     
  17. Gorman Truart

    Gorman Truart Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Several times I've gone through a long period of peaceful rebuilding, then I select my next invasion targets. I finish most of my buildings and open up the civics screen to switch to police state/vassalage/theocracy, only to find out I never switched out of them when I ended my last war:cringe:
     
  18. Thrasybulus

    Thrasybulus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Delphi
    Attacking a barbarian city with just enough axemen to leave one barely breathing barb, and then Suryavarman swoops in to take it the next turn.

    Then DoW on Suryavarman only to have Toku and Shaka join the fight against me.

    Restart.
     
  19. Inky

    Inky Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Accidental clicking is the heart of many mistakes. I've hit the "explore" button by accident, and wondered why my workers, loaded transports, stacks of tanks, etc., aren't where I left them. Moving out city defenders this way right before an attack is bad.

    I clicked too fast on the "trade world maps" offer from Kublai Khan, when I was roughly 90% done with my circumnavigation trip. He had a ship in place to finish the last 10%. I did all the work, he gets the bonus.

    In most cases, I could just have reloaded and recovered from my mistake, but I don't like wasting real world time. So I gamble that the mistake won't cost much, and it ends up being bad.

    My workers were being snapped up during the war, but I, in my worry about moving military units, left the rest, right next to the enemy, working in harm's way.

    My poor blockading privateer survives several attacks. I forget to move him to safety and healing, instead, leaving him to be killed the next turn.

    I build a worker first, then realize that I don't have any worker techs yet. I get so used to picking civs with worker techs I forget that not all start with them.

    I was building the Apostolistic Palace, and changed religions to one which I controlled. I forgot that the AP city didn't have that religion. I was quite upset when I got the message that I could no longer build the AP in that city. Fortunately, I had a missionary close enough to correct this, but it still cost me a few building turns which could have cost me the AP.
     
  20. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary

    Ah :)

    Maybe you woud like to check out my plan?
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=181037

    It has this idea of roads to connect improved tiles... :king:
     

Share This Page