1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

stuttering during wonder movies

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Bug Reports' started by solar28, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. solar28

    solar28 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Can't figure this out. During all wonder videos, the audio stutters/skips in and out. Annoying, ruins wonder video Doesn't happen in other games, and I've got an Audigy 2, and went to the creative web site to download latest drivers, auto update says everything is up to date.

    Seen other threads, no solutions. Been to Take2 support site, no info.
     
  2. brokguitar

    brokguitar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    i get the same thing. seems like the music skips every 2-3 seconds. soundblaster!live! soundcard here
     
  3. SuicideMW

    SuicideMW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    New York, USA
    I get the same as well and while it does ruin it, I just grin and bear it until a patch is released fixing this problem.

    Awesome game nevertheless.
     
  4. darrellF

    darrellF Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Yeah, I get the same too with the sound built in to my asus board so it is not isolated to sound blaster cards...
     
  5. gunnergoz

    gunnergoz Cat Herder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southern California
    I updated to latest SB Audigy 2 drivers and that did not help the movie audio/video stuttering, though I think the other sounds now work better.
     
  6. BearMan

    BearMan One More Turn...

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    The Northpole in Civ4.
    and I get the same thing :) , MSI motherboard integrated AC97 here ;)
     
  7. zorven

    zorven 12,000 Suns

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,964
    I get the same thing. I have a SoundBlaster Live! 5.1 Digital with the latest drivers. I don't think it happens with every movie though.
     
  8. solar28

    solar28 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    still not working. I've tried every audio option. Downloaded latest nvidia drivers (81.xx), downloaded Miles/Bink toolkits, no bingo yet. Someone mentioned using the Omega drivers -- but they are back at version 66.xx -- no good for other 3d games.
     
  9. spopeblue

    spopeblue Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Yup, same problem here. XP w/SP2, Hercules Game Theater XP 7.1, all with latest drivers.
    It's a tad annoying, because the intro movie looks so good, but I had to turn the sound off!
     
  10. oldStatesman

    oldStatesman Cybernaut

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Random Map
  11. coolfish

    coolfish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    i am having the same problem. sb audigy, latest drivers..

    luckily i have 2 other sound devices (harman karden sound sticks and the built in audio). I will try all sorts of combinations but it is driving me bananas in pyjamas.

    set it to use harmen karmen sound sticks and windowed mode.............. still stuttering.
    latest drivers of everything.
     
  12. Tommy1234567890

    Tommy1234567890 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Argentina
    two words "same" and i know it is only one word
     
  13. Stoneage

    Stoneage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Same here as well
     
  14. André Alfenaar

    André Alfenaar Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    I have the same problem with SB Audigy. I thought updating to the new beta drivers would do the trick, but no... :( I have tried all available versions on all settings, but it doesn't work. I am disappointed.

    Firaxis, please release a fix. You have made a beautiful game but many people cannot play it.
     
  15. MarcAntiny

    MarcAntiny Arrghh!

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Lynn, MA, USA
    I get studdering speech sometimes during wonders but not always which is to say the least weird. I use SB Audigy gamer. It seems to be later in the game so I'm not sure what the relationship to this problem is. I have a load of RAM (2GB) and a 256 MB Geforce 6800GT Vid card and a P4 2.8Ghz so I'm not sure what is causing the sound issues. Game plays smoothly otherwise.
     
  16. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Same for me.
    WinXP SP2
    Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
    ATI Sapphire 9600 Atlantis (I don't know if the graphics card might interfere with the sound processing, but hey, after what we experienced...)
    1.5 GB RAM

    The system has been set up completely new just two weeks ago, with all the newest available drivers at that time.
     
  17. tegilbor

    tegilbor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    I have the same problem with a Soundblaster Live 5.1. But for me, not only the sound is messed up, but also the video (on an ATI Radeon 9500 Pro).
     
  18. Graun

    Graun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Same here with SoundMAX Audio!:(

    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: SoundMAX Digital Audio
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3059&SUBSYS_810D1043&REV_60
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: smwdm.sys
    Driver Version: 5.12.0001.3663 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 7/15/2003 16:00:00, 578368 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Analog Devices
    HW Accel Level: Full
    Cap Flags: 0xF5F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 48000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 33, 32
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 33, 32
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: Yes
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): Yes
    Registry: OK
    Sound Test Result: Not run
     
  19. sassoundwave

    sassoundwave Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Netherlands
    same here.
    I guess it has nothing to do with what audiocard you have or a drivers issue. As I see many people with different cards and updated drivers having the same issue.
     
  20. BearMan

    BearMan One More Turn...

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    The Northpole in Civ4.
    I could almost eliminate the problem by setting the sound hardware acceleration to zero. However, this isn't right, they need to patch it.

    I'm completely sure that it shouldn't and doesn't need to be this way, it's a software bug that needs to be fixed, however, meanwhile i can play with these settings.
     

Share This Page