1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Submarine fires torpedo under land mass.

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by SirMaru, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. SirMaru

    SirMaru Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    I was able to fire a torpedo from a regular submarine and sink an enemy submarine on the other side of a land mass. LOL.
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    :lol:
    Savegame please.
     
  3. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Confirmed using Standard 1.0.0.621. America did something similar to me.

    Here's the savegame (actually two in a ZIP): http://www.sendspace.com/file/emban4

    The autosave (called Submarine 330) is from before the attack and the savegame (Elizabeth 331) is from after the attack.

    My destroyers are positioned to the northeast of Philadelphia. There's a submarine in the city. Clearly the destroyers are separated from the city by means of land. When it was America's turn to attack, the submarine shot straight through the land mass. I believe if you take the Elizabeth 331 save and just skip till the next turn, then the American submarine will again fire at the destroyers through the land mass.
     
  4. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    I can confirm the behavior from the provided save games (Thanks for that!), but I'm not so sure this is a bug. The manual is very clear that subs engage in ranged attacks. All other ranged attacks that I know about have the same behavior. Is it clear that subs fire torpedoes?
     
  5. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    :hmm: can ground-ground missiles be stationed on subs (i mean in RL)?
     
  6. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Well, the Wikipedia article on submarines states that they can fire cruise missiles. I'll move the thread to Confirmed Bugs, but list it as a possible bug. Firaxis can make the call.

    Moderator Action: Moved to the Confirmed Bugs forum.
     
  7. musicman

    musicman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    TX
    I just found this error when I was playing. An enemy submarine is able to fire a missile from their city through a landmass to my battleship. Obviously, this shouldn't be possible.

    I've attached an image and the game file. It occurs with a sub from Teotihucan to my (damaged) battleship with the circle around it.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TractorBoy

    TractorBoy Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    England
    I have been aware of this since long before I joined civfanatics, 3 years and still no fix?
     
  9. Sincro

    Sincro Thou hast no Cu, again...

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Canton, Ohio
    While this is probably a game bug, subs in RL can and do fire missiles. Obviously missile subs carry a couple dozen ICBMs, which have continental range. Attack submarines (US Los Angeles, Seawolf and Virginia classes and Russian Victor and Akula classes) carry vertical tubes for shorter range anti-ship missiles as well as (at least for US subs) cruise missiles.

    -S
     

Share This Page