1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Submarine firing torpedo's through land tiles.

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ColinTH, May 24, 2011.

  1. ColinTH

    ColinTH Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bedford
    I was bombarding a CS with two Destroyers from the back of the Island, the CS built a Sub and I kid you not, It started to attack my destroyers whilst still in port. It must have had some really Hi Tech torpedo's!

    I am well aware that most military ships are able to bombard over the top of land hexes, but submarines!
     
  2. Helmling

    Helmling Philosopher King

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,677
    Surface to surface missiles?
     
  3. Bungle

    Bungle Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Norway
    I think they are using secret "Mole" torpedoes that after being fired, dig themselves deep into the ground, then dig their way back up on the other side to the water.. and then hit their target.
     
  4. ColinTH

    ColinTH Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bedford
    I sent my destroyers back to base for repairs and the super-sub proceeded to torpedo my Mech Infantry whilst still on land!

    Below is a screen shot of Super Sub!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ColinTH

    ColinTH Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bedford
    Some of you guys may be thinking, that guy is just stupid, he hasn't realised that the City State bombarded his destroyer. I just played back through auto save, and I can assure you the City State attacked the Mech Inf and in the very same turn the Sub fired a torpedo through the Island.

    I even moved the destroyers out of range of the City State bombardment (from auto save), the Super Sub continued to fire through the Island and wiped out both destroyers. "I watched the torpedo's", unfortunately I can't get a screen shot while there is action.

    I was at war with Greece at the time, so I took a look at the bigger picture and there was nothing Greek within 30 hexes. Like I said I watched the Torpedo leave the sub and come through the Island hex.

    Edit: Added the save file just before the end of turn where the Submarine shoots through the Island.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Karl_Rove

    Karl_Rove Pleb

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    yeah...that should be fixed...
     
  7. The_Quasar

    The_Quasar King

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    I had this happen to me once before, but the submarine attacked another submarine... I shot back, not expecting it to work, and killed the enemy submarine! At the time I thought it was a one off, and probably fixed by now as I'd not heard anything here since.

    It would seem to be a very rare bug.
     
  8. Kin

    Kin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Alabama
    Didn't you see the movie "The Pink Submarine"? They sunk a truck.
     
  9. ColinTH

    ColinTH Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bedford
    Thanks for the confirmation.

    It seems to occur only when the sub is in port!

    I can imagine some unscrupulous Multi player civ players using this to their advantage!

    I wonder just how many land hexes it can shoot through?
     
  10. The_Quasar

    The_Quasar King

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    I've shot through 2 land hexes... I think the range will depend on the torpedo range of the sub... baring in mind that the last hex needs to be a sea one.
     
  11. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Until the bug is fixed, ...
    consider that unit locations are actually a little vague so perhaps a sub was actually able to reach the target AROUND the land hex. :)

    Locations are vague/amorphous because how else could you rationalize the enormous lines of sight of various units (especially the naval ones): the units are composed of multiple ships, and some of them are spread out scouting the various hexes.
     
  12. ColinTH

    ColinTH Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bedford
    By means of retaliation, unfortunately I can't cruise through super subs port dropping depth charges!
     
  13. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Yes, unfortunately sonar detecting subs is not 100% reliable, even with current tech. ;)
    Sometimes the thermal layers in the ocean deflect/distort the sound waves. It's hard to fire at something when you don't know where it is.

    Ironically, NON-nuclear subs are better at avoiding detection (new power systems that don't require oxygen vs. noisy pumps in nuke subs).

    --
    Hopefully, the bug will be fixed 'soon'. Meanwhile, don't abuse it and don't mind TOO much if the AI gets a free shot in once in a while.
     
  14. svendhhh

    svendhhh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I've managed to fire torpedoes from a submarine in the ocean hitting an embarked unit in an in-land sea (like a lake, but all squares called "coast"). See this screen shot and not the submarine to the left and the damaged Mech Inf just north of Monaco:

     
  15. Arilian

    Arilian King

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Hungary
    This is how it works from the beginning. It is a bug that never get fixed.
    The sub can fire to 2-4 hex and it did not check if there is any land in the middle.
     
  16. Jampine

    Jampine Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Yeah, the bug here is that the torpedoes have range, but may not strike land tiles, but there's nothing in the coding to make land tiles block the range, like how hills and forests do. however, lets not dwell on this, and instead revel in the absurdity of this :p

    Maybe they fire the torpedoes at ramp on the beach, which launches them into the air, over the land, before landing on the chosen target? (saying its just sea-to-surface missiles is too boring folks! :cowboy:)
     
  17. householder

    householder Lord of the Fleas

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Torpedoing tanks or shooting torpedoes across solid ground is all well and good, but I want submarines to be able to shoot at aircraft.

    After all, submarine launched anti-air missiles (SLAMs) which are fired out of torpedo tubes have been around for some time. Granted, they are mainly used against helicopters, which aren't likely to be over the ocean in this game. Still, if torpedoes can strike land targets, why not air targets, too? :cool:
     
  18. Socratatus

    Socratatus Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    Yea, I remember the first time I noticed it. Works fine when under ice; stupidly illogical with land. Basically land in Civ 5 floats on water like ice.

    I just can`t be bothered to complain since I doubt it will ever be fixed.
     

Share This Page