1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions and bug reports.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Ancient Europe' started by Hornakhtyotef, Jul 9, 2014.

  1. Hornakhtyotef

    Hornakhtyotef Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    While I play PAE here and there, I intent to report suggestions and bugs encountered in this very thread. Of course, my immense congratulations in making this monumental mod. The best one regarding ancient times, my favorite period.

    To start off,

    1) I've seen once a workboat is assigned to either temporary promotions to get +25% attack or defense, the unit get stuck at 0 :move:. Not the end of the world, but it was rather funny I killed my unit usefulness when trying this out.

    2) A first suggestion would be perhaps starting a work of rebalancing some aspects that differentiate each civilization from each other. Albeit I understand the motive to make some way stronger than others by allowing several buildings/units others don't have, sometimes, the gap is way too wide. Let's take the mesopotamian civilizations having many science boosting buildings (either unique or allowed). Just on the unique side with the sumerian altar+ziggurat: that is a whooping +50% just for Babylonia and Sumeria. Then, if we compare the weaker nations (a.k.a. nomadic ones like the Libyans, Scythians, etc.), half the civilizations have access of school, libraries, etc. That pushes the gap between sumerian/babylonia and nomadic nations with a killing ~90%. What I think would be nice is to allow those nomadic nations to access those political organizations through invasions/stealing....any furtive or forceful methods to acquire them.
    I don't remember the Middles Ages arab writer name that ended up with that statement, but he basically said the dynamic evolution of nations from the very humble of civilizations is a constant cycle of a sedentary civilization being invaded by nomadic people at one point, which makes the last ones sedentary at some point when they absorbed the culture of the vanquished. Then, the newly sedentary nation becomes invaded by other nomadic nations.

    In the end, it makes sense that weaker nomadic nations should have access to the superior technology of established nations when crushing it or steal the tech. It should be accesible instead of blocked as it is (Not capturable/tradable). It's not like Libyans were idiots; they were fated to live on a land that did not purvey resources to higher forms of governments. In a new game scenario, they should be allowed to get the superior forms of buildings (cisterns, canals, schools, etc.) if they invaded an advanced nation or steal those techs. That would make the game far less unfair and also make the playing of them less painful, knowing we'll never get those powerful buildings (and wonders attached to them like those four academies needing the school/library).
    Something to chew over to make the experience far more exciting and less static.

    ====

    3) Another point of interest is the balance of religions. I think some allows too many bonuses and others lack too much. The problem is not the sheer amount of unlocked buildings linked to a religion, but the lacking from other is the problem to resolve.

    For instance, if we compare the egyptian/greek/semitic religions to the phoenician cult, we instantly see the latter is moribund in unlocked goodies. A bad temple (-25% :gp: for a mere +5% :gold:), no special wonders, no special units, etc. Only the early culture helps and then the religion is a hassle diplomatically (or on happiness count if we choose Syncretism civic). Hence, here I suggest the addition of wonders specific to that religion while supposing there is no graphics to them (thus will be invisible on the city overview):

    • Temple of Paphos
    • "Maabet" [i.e. main shrine] of Amrith
    • Méghâzil

    I'm sure there are other monuments worth of mentioning and to be attached to the phoenician cult.
    But now, I'm short of time, I'll come back to this subject another day (samely for the other religions deemed weak).
     
  2. Keinpferd

    Keinpferd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    Berlin
    Absolutely! :)

    In the early days of PAE Pie once stated, that the choice of your Civ is a difficulty level for its own sake. I always liked that non-conformist approach, that doesn't regard "balance" as a purpose in itself. The only reason in favour of an all even "balance", I personally can relate to, to a degree, is the multiplayer mode. But then, in the ongoing MP games, balance issues have never been brought up, as far as I know.

    Maybe one other reason for "balance" is a psychological relaxation for the player, who was taught that balance is always good, and finds, that PAE pays due respect to that dogma:p…

    Really?

    I agree. Why should the Phoenician religion be weaker than others? Though I see that as a completely different matter than your earlier proposed access of "looser civs" to "high culture buildings". For me, it's in history, regardless of balance, that the huns didn't have a villa rustica or aquaeduct or library – but burned them.

    Numerous Phoenician temples could be added, that would work as national wonders or unique buildings. Just as there ist a Temple of Mars for the Romans, there could be a temple for Melkart, Eschmun, Tanit, Tofet, Baal Sunny Days, Baal Rainy Days… I would go for a god of commerce, whichever that was ;).

    It is always possible to ask one of the still active skin artists for a Phoenician special building.

    Pie, what do you think of a little more goodness for the Phoenicians?
     
  3. Crash757

    Crash757 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    I concur. We never had balance issues although I've played countless AE hotseat games with my friends.

    In fact I love different civs having different gameplay, it makes things less dull ;)
     
  4. Hornakhtyotef

    Hornakhtyotef Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    4) Unless I didn't catch how to use the Trojan Horse, but when I was next to an enemy city (that had % of defense ofc), no button appeared to use my unit. Is it a bug? :confused:
     
  5. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient :)

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    hello Hornakhtyotef,

    I am very glad you like the mod and thx for your feedback. sorry, when I answer late, but RL...

    1) workboat and promo: oh, thx, I'll have a look

    2) as said before, it was more unbalanced before and I like it. there are CIVs who are different but really good balanced for MP games. but there are also CIVs for pro players who wants to have a bigger challenge.

    3) Religions: oh thats true, I will change that.

    4) hm. strange. but I will have a look there too. thx.
     
  6. Antigenes2

    Antigenes2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    I was playing the Eastern Med scenario and was lowering research and raising gold. At 90% research and above gold production was 0. At 85% it was +1, but at 80% it was back to 0, only going back to +1 at 65%.
     

    Attached Files:

    • em1.jpg
      em1.jpg
      File size:
      230.2 KB
      Views:
      61
    • em2.jpg
      em2.jpg
      File size:
      229.2 KB
      Views:
      96
  7. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient :)

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    thx, I'll check that.

    edit: look at your worked land. first your city uses the coast. this gives more commerce.
     
  8. Antigenes2

    Antigenes2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    I don't see the point. Sorry. Surely if setting gold at 20%, 25% or 30% doesn't give you +1 gold production, then setting it at 15% shouldn't either. A little bit further into the game, running down through the research percentages, the +1 gold message flickered on and off again (at 80% research this time) but didn't stay on.

    I haven't noticed this happen with any other scenario. :dunno:
     
  9. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient :)

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    If you change your tax rate, it seems that the cities choose other plots to work on.
    In your two pictures:
    1st: city works/cultivates fish + 2 coast plots
    2nd: city works /cultivates fish + 1 forest plot + 1 hill

    coast gives +2 commerce (I think) and forests or hills without rivers no commerce.

    Fix the worked plots and test again. then it will be correct calculated, I'm sure. ;)
     
  10. Antigenes2

    Antigenes2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    143
    I was unable to reproduce it in a new game. I tried to follow the same build strategy but I couldn't get the plots to change by changing the tax rate so I don't know what caused it. Maybe I built something out of sequence :confused:

    But no matter if it's not a bug :goodjob:
     
  11. mourndraken

    mourndraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    54°30′59″N, 128°35'59"W
    I have started a new game with the latest patch.
    There are many mines on the map but I can't make new ones ?

    Quarries - yes.
    Mines - no.
     
  12. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient :)

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Quarries plop up mine resources. If you get one, you can "upgrade" to a mine.
    Mines - without knowing there are resources in there - are in such way a "modern" thing, I think.

    and yes, I will note, that mines on empty mountains have to be changed into quarries in scenarios.

    but on the other hand, it's no stamped thing. It's a purpose to add more realism in surface mining instead of the (deep) mining.
     
  13. mourndraken

    mourndraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    54°30′59″N, 128°35'59"W
    so if my mine gets pillaged, what do I do ?
     
  14. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient :)

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Make quarries and hope, you'll find a resouce on it, then you have more profit than before.
     
  15. mourndraken

    mourndraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    54°30′59″N, 128°35'59"W
    IC

    Quarries provide the same function, in game. if there are fewer mines and more quarries, the map would look cleaner. Mine graphics are kind of ugly.
     
  16. lp_04

    lp_04 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Leiria, Portugal
    Hello. This is not a regular bug report but I thought I coud post my problem here.

    I downloaded this but it never worked. I tryed to download the patch, version V all the things and to update BTS.

    But still the same erroe appeared:

    " GFC Error: Failed to initialize the primary control theme"

    Do you know how can I work this out? I would really like to see how is this mod.

    Thanks
     
  17. mourndraken

    mourndraken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    913
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    54°30′59″N, 128°35'59"W
    hey do you have it all ? try downloading it again ?

    unpacked totals : 2,129 files / 130 folders
     
  18. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient :)

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Hello Ip,
    "GFC Error: Failed to initialize the primary control theme" probably means, that you have renamed the mod folder. It has to be called "PieAncientEuropeV" otherwise it won't work.

    There is a link in Resources/Civ4.thm where you have to change the folder's name, if you really want to use another name for the mod.
     
  19. lp_04

    lp_04 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Leiria, Portugal
    Ok thanks.
    I haven't changed the name but I'm running this on windows 8.1 (is there any problem)

    I'll install it all over again
    thank you all.
     
  20. pie_at

    pie_at PAE-Let's play ancient :)

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Maybe read/write rights of the full PAE subfolders? Open the game as administrator (or is this just in Win7)?
     

Share This Page