1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions and requests

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,405
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Actually, the more programming a feature requires the more likely it is to be implemented, because programming is fun.

    Tasks that don't require much programming, such as the creation of new scenarios, mainly consist of lots of tedious things that are the exact opposite of fun.
     
  2. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    Doesn't adding a new scenario take a lot of programming, because of the amount of things in Python that have to be added/changed?

    Also, 800th Post! [party]:dance::banana::band::banana::dance:[party]
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,405
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Nope, I took the opportunity to streamline things when I created the 1700 AD scenario because did I mention? Programming is fun.

    And congrats.
     
  4. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    Since I am now taking a Python class in school, I might be able to start fiddling around with RFC by December, and then maybe I can make my own modmod! If I did, however, it would be focusing on alternate history.
     
  5. adhiraj.bose

    adhiraj.bose Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Pune, India
    I'd like to learn with mrrandomplayer. Right now I can't even understand the ABCs of python :( . I'd have shifted the flip area for the Mughals to include only Afghanistan and Merv and that would be their spawn areas. All I know is I'm supposed to do that through changing the consts.py but don't know exactly how.
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,405
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Understanding how to write code in Python and how to use this knowledge to edit the mod are two very different things.

    For instance, the Consts.py file doesn't really contain any code at all and is only a collection of constants. It's finding the right places for the information you want to change that's the challenge there, and that doesn't depend on Python.

    (Is Python the first programming language you learn, by the way?)
     
  7. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    I know a few snippets of C++, but pretty much yes.
     
  8. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,899
    Yeah, I don't really know Python at all, but I've changed quite a lot in DoC.
     
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,405
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    That's interesting. Python isn't a traditional language to teach programming beginners, and it's different than the classics C or Java in a number of ways.
     
  10. Rorgloin

    Rorgloin Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    I awoke this morning and walked out to my balcony to view. . . BEAUTIFUL THEODOSIAN WALLS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU LEORETH THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! Your magnificent, awe-inspiring Goodness knows no bounds! We praise you with great praise! Long live Leoreth!
    I CAN FINALLY PLAY AS THE BYZANTINES!!!
    :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)
     
  11. citis

    citis Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    A new technology cost proposal:

    Every tech has three situations: Undiscovered, advanced and discovered.
    Advanced: discovered by one civ
    Discovered: known by two or more civs
    Undiscovered: all the others

    Every discovered tech is characterised by a number.
    If a discovered tech's number is increased, then the number of every requirment tech increases by one.
    When a tech becomes discovered its number is set to 0.
    The cost of a discovered tech is (normal cost)*(4/5)^(its number).

    Every advanced tech is characterised by a number. The cost of an advanced tech is the normal cost (since it is researched by a civ that doesn't know it yet).
    On tech discovered, this tech is characterised discovered, its number is set to 0 and the advanced tecs that require it are updated (according to the following rule).

    The cost of an undiscovered tech is greater that the normal cost and depends on its requirements.
    If there are no requirements then the cost is normal. (Its number is set to 0)
    If it can be researched by discovered requirements, then the cost is normal. (Its number is set to 0)
    Else there is at least one advanced requirement. The advanced requirement is discovered by the researhing civ.
    From the replacable requirements the smallest number is kept. If one of the replacable requirements is discovered then 0 is kept. (For example, at discovering music the replacable requirements are literature and drama).
    The kept number represents all the replacable requirements. From the kept number and the numbers of the other requirements the biggest number is kept.
    The cost is (normal cost)*(5/4)^(biggest number).

    The proposal has these characteristics:
    *A tech's trade value remains the same after it is sold.
    *Backyard civs can discover outdated techs in lower cost.
    *Advanced civs can discover advanced techs at greater cost.
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,405
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Such a mechanism is already in the game.
     
  13. citis

    citis Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Yes I know that there is a mechanism about backyard civs. However, as far as I know it focused on open borders agreement. The proposed is focused in maintaining technology unity throughout the globe. Moreover, does it cost more to search an advanced technology?
     
  14. Lew09

    Lew09 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    I do not completely understand your proposal, citis, but I'd say technology unity isn't a overall good idea. At least a civs research progress shouldn't depend on the progress of civs it never had contact with, or even on those it has no contact with at the moment.
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,405
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    No, it's not based on open border agreements.

    Techs just get progressively cheaper the more civs have already discovered them.
     
  16. Royal Tenenbaum

    Royal Tenenbaum Exiled

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,738
    Why not just make.
    DYNAMIC TECHNOLOGIES
    Eh? Eh? A unique tech tree. FOR EVERY. CIVILIZATION
     
  17. yurisusuki

    yurisusuki Hope, Faith and love

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    531
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    São Paulo
    Fear...
     
  18. citis

    citis Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    :lol: Royal Tenenbaum, I bow to your trolling abilities.
     
  19. Malchar

    Malchar Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Saint Paul, Minnesota
    For it to be truly dynamic, the tech tree would have to be changing during the game. :D
     
  20. adhiraj.bose

    adhiraj.bose Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Location:
    Pune, India
    When I first learned about the Corporation feature of BTS, I imagined spreading powerful wealthy corporations worldwide. instead, I could only spread them to my cities. With DOC, that became randomized. But, as an added feature, why not allow spread of home corporations to foreign cities as Multi-National Corporations ?

    Only corporations with presence over enough cities to cover 30 pop points can spread into other cities. When they do, the target country would get a sum of money representing foreign investment, but would have to pay to the host country a sum per turn representing repatriation of profits. When an MNC makes an investment into another civ's city, it would gain access to 1/2 of the resources of that respective corporation present in that country and get a bonus boost equal to that. E.g if a steel MNC spreads to a civ with 3 iron resources, it would get the bonus boost of 1.5 iron resources.
     

Share This Page