Suggestions and Requests

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Force44

    Force44 King

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    The Low Countries
    request for an additional promotion against barbarians.

    Local garisson or Partisan (until a better name is thought of)

    requires combat 1 or citydefender 1

    +10% strenght (only against barbarians?)
    victory against barbarians gives one additional xp

    Battles against barbarians are too much of a two outcome game(tie or defeat) to my tastes. Victory against a barbarians brings very little rewards compared to victory against ai civilizations.
    Some civilizations face some very stiff barbarian opposition. Succesfully overcoming that challenge comes with (imo) to little reward.

    This promotion aims to ameliorate that problem somewhat. (I figure less rewards for overcoming barbarians is intentional, but the sheer amount of barbarian pressure is on a few occasions (Persia, Rome and China, arguably India) even harder to overcome than the treath their rivals pose.)

    As an alternative (or addition), missed xp could be handed out as failgold.

    Historically (I would not be surprised if) military units with a tie to the land outperform their non local counterparts. (due to higher morale)
    (unfortunately I have no sources to back up this claim though)
     
    hnrysml likes this.
  2. BaneFire

    BaneFire Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    I think we're onto the basic idea here. One thing DOC does really well is that the gameplay basically enables roleplaying in a sense. What I mean is, often as a civ I will do something because of a particular gameplay rationale that translates into the historical rationale of that civ. Eg in the China example, I conquer Shenyang to prevent further barbarian spawns. Historically, China pacified Manchuria to prevent Manchu raids into China. Ludonarrative harmony, to be wankish. When ludonarrative dissonance occurs the fun is broken. In the discussed example, this is as China when I want to conquer the Tarim Basin cities, but don't because it will hurt my science. IRL China never thought this, and probably benefitted from conquering the Tarim Basin due to increased connections to Persia and Europe. Another example is as Portugal: I'm not settling far-flung cities to bring in large sums of luxury resources to enrich the crown, but rather to complete the UHV.

    So taking Imp. Knoedel's suggestions and Paco's suggestions here's mine:

    "Colonial Garrison"
    Building, requires currency
    Costs a minimal amount of hammers to build
    -75% maintenance
    Does NOT reduce expansion stability
    City can only work first ring of tiles around it
    +25% corporation commerce

    And additionally:
    Silk Route can spread in Chinese cities
    Trading Company is not civ limited (eg, any civ can get it if they fill the criteria of sub-saharan africa/carribean/southeast asia and a luxury resource)

    This then changes the game rationale a bit. As China, I am thinking "if I conquer these Tarim Basin cities I can bring the fight to the barbarians, keep contact with Persia, and establish valuable trade routes", as Portugal I am thinking "if I settle these African/Asian cities I can establish new trade routes and get even richer"

    ---

    I would also consider:
    Silk Route can spread to even European cities if they have open borders with a civ(s) who has a clear route from China to Europe, have held that territory for a certain amount of time and are at peace with the European civ.
    * This means if Persia/Seljuks are stable and mega they can even spread the silk road into Europe. There might be some way we could give a role for Italy in this so that we can represent the Venetian trade monopoly over Eastern trade, though I'm just spitballing here.
    Something like "Mediterranean Trade" corporation, to encourage the Phoenicians and Greeks to set up more colonies throughout Europe.
    * These could persist after Roman conquest so that certain important trade cities like Massalia and Emporion remain relevant.
     
  3. Visard

    Visard Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Some suggestions:

    Toleralism civic is quite weak so I think the +50%:culture: bonus could affect all your cities with state religion.
    And the +50%:culture: bonus for capital could be moved to Democracy.

    Wording of republic civic could be more elegant, like this:
    +1 :food: for specialists and orchards.
    -1 :food: for flat land tiles.
    Free Artist and Statesman slot in all cities.

    I think there are some flaws in the current city placement in current map:
    Ankara in 3000BC should be either 1W or 1S so that it can reach all Anatolian hills.
    I suggest moving Chang'an(Xi'an) 1S for game play reasons; less overlap with Beijing, get's river access and more hills to work with.
    Oslo should be moved 1W for same reasons ; less overlap with Stockholm/Copenhagen plus more coast and a hill to work. There no need to leave room for Bergen, Norway already has spots for many cities. Also Baltic sea could have some islands near Copenhagen, Stockholm and/or Riga.

    It would be also nice have a another coastal feature: a Strait, which would give +2:commerce:, it would fit nicely between Denmark-Sweden, France-England, Singapore-Indonesia, Ethiopia-Arabia, Japan-Korea, Morocco-Spain, and other similar locations with historically had a lot of trade going through. Graphically it could be just different kind of islands and/or merchant ships.

    You can get Warriors from goody huts, but they are identical to Militia, except they can be upgraded to Axeman.
    So I suggest changing the Warrior's +25% city defense bonus to +25% against Barbarians or Animals(like scout) or Melee(like axeman).
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2020
  4. KeeperOT7Keys

    KeeperOT7Keys did nothing wrong

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mugla, Turkey
    in Sengoku mod for Civ4 (which is really good btw) iirc there are two types of cities, fiefs and towns, you can build a 'town' building in a fief with 6 population to upgrade it which increases the maintenance and unhealthiness, but gives access to more buildings like markets etc.

    With the same idea, some buildings that are more associated with core cities can be tied to this new building, like universities, factories etc. As you unlock more buildings, opportunities missed for keeping colonies would increase so you would eventually switch between the two which is both historically and gameplay-wise a nice solution.
     
  5. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,816
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    I took the liberty of compiling a few of the minor fixes I made in my modmod and making a Pull Request of them:

    Of course my timing couldn't have been worse, heh. Literally two minutes before I was about to make it I find Leoreth adding a new commit and now the branch has conflicts that must be resolved. Ah well.

    Edit: Looking over the "Using Git to contribute" guide again and found this:

    Okay, fine, I'll fix it, urgh. Curse you and your timing, Leoreth!

    Edit2: So apparently the file CvRFCEventHandler.py has been removed entirely? I take it you found your own solution for communist city renaming not working?

    I adjusted all files that supposedly had conflicts and yet it still wasn't able to automatically merge. So now I cut all files I changed, moved them elsewhere on my computer, and copied the entire up-to-date DoC folder into my branch or fork or whatever folder, then reinserted the files I had changed, committed and pushed, and now... it still says I'm 31 commits behind dguenms:develop and it can't be automatically merged? What?

    Ah screw it, have my changes as an archive uploaded to this post. Take them or leave them, I am done with this mess.
     

    Attached Files:

    • FFS.7z
      File size:
      196 KB
      Views:
      83
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    Hickman888, Cosmos1985 and 1SDAN like this.
  6. Cosmos1985

    Cosmos1985 King

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    When you change to a civic that abolishes slavery, could a percentage of settled slave specialists then perhaps be converted to regular citizens instead of vanishing? Maybe half of then, but they are angry for x turns for having been slaves, something like that?
     
  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    Nope, you freed your slaves.
     
    phoenixfire7 and 1SDAN like this.
  8. Hickman888

    Hickman888 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    254
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    Idea: Resources that supply a limited number of cities are able to supply one additional city whenever their improvement gets its yield upgraded by a technology.

    For example, wheat currently supplies one city. When you research Chemistry, the farm gets +1 :food:, so now each wheat would supply two cities. And when you research genetics, the farm gets another +1 :food:, and the wheat would supply three cities.
     
  9. Cacaso

    Cacaso Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    Minor map changes:
    1 - Adding the Shannon River in Ireland
    2 - Move the tile from the city of Plymouth 1N, to have a greater distance from Brest and thus allow the settle of the two cities (IMO the map of the British islands is visually better this way).
    3 - Change the banana resource to Citrus in são paulo and move it 1E / 1N (the region is one of the largest exporters of orange juice in the world).
    4 - Add resource Stone 2N1E of Rio de Janeiro, to represent the quarries of Espirito Santo state, (Brazil is one of the largest exporters of Dimensional stone in world https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dimension_stone#cite_note-dsan- 14 https://pubs.usgs.gov/periodicals/mcs2020/mcs2020-stone-dimension.pdf)
    5 - For reasons of game balance, shouldn't the area of Gran Colombia civ have at least one Horse / Iron resource, to allow the construction of military units?
    6 - there is a river in France whose mouth is flowing near the Alps, I think this is a mistake.
     

    Attached Files:

    Krieger-FS, Crimean Lord and Leoreth like this.
  10. Steb

    Steb King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    843
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    I have pointed this out and Leoreth said it's supposed to represent Lake Geneva, but I agree it just looks like a mistake.
     
    Crimean Lord likes this.
  11. Dragonxander PR

    Dragonxander PR Emperor of the Drakons

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    548
    Location:
    Mayagüez, Puerto Rico
    There's a historical basis for that. The llanos region along the interior Colombia-Venezuela frontier area are a savanna and major ranching area, and thus horses would be very much justified in here. One of the most famous novels of Latin American literature, Doña Bárbara, is set in this context.
     
  12. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,909
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    The map only shows the resources present at the start of the scenario. Horses would spawn later and aren't placed on the map yet. But I'm sure they will spawn at some point.

    Even more, the Llanero is one of their UU. It would be bad if you can't build your UU because you don't have the required resources in you own territory.
     
    Cacaso, 1SDAN, Krieger-FS and 2 others like this.
  13. Cacaso

    Cacaso Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    it's true, i forgot the spawn of future resourses
     
  14. MalayanGamer

    MalayanGamer Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    330
    Gender:
    Male
    Can someone give me a file of Frederick_The_Great leaderhead? I want to remaking the leaderhead, but couldn't due to i unable to open a CIV IV Aessets fpk.file. (I'm using Windows 10 btw so don't ask about use pakbuild or anything)
     
  15. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,786
    I'm on Windows 10 and can use Pakbuild just fine
     
  16. MalayanGamer

    MalayanGamer Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    330
    Gender:
    Male
    Then how can you download pakbuild? Because when i downloaded it, it got an error 404.
     
  17. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,909
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    What does any of that have to do with this mod?
     
    KeeperOT7Keys likes this.
  19. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,786
    No clue, I thought I was in the modmodding thread
     
  20. MalayanGamer

    MalayanGamer Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    330
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevermind. It worked now.
     

Share This Page