1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Taking out planes at an aerodrom/airpots

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by TheTr00per, Sep 30, 2017.

  1. TheTr00per

    TheTr00per Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    OK, I got my modern armour on a tile with 7 bombers at an airport/aeordrome whatever you want to call it. How do I get rid of the units that have caused me a lot of harm?
     
  2. PibbZ

    PibbZ Paladin

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Arendal, Norway
    What? AI Bombers? Are you serious?
    I have to ask, because I have never seen an AI aircraft in my entire Civ 6 career. And its been quite a few games.
     
  3. TheTr00per

    TheTr00per Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    You know what, coming to think of it this is the first time I have seen bombers (advanced flight B52s). **** you not my enemy has them. Think I'm on Prince level at the moment. THe issue is the same if what aircraft they have. How do I destroy them on the ground!!!! Walking over a civiliasation and they move their bombers elswhere like 4 turns later when I had a modern tank army on it!. They're now dispersed in cities causing trouble. I thought I had 8 of them in one go! Really annoying.
     
  4. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,676
    Sound like you have a bug where they still work from the airport even though it is your airport... am I correct is assuming it your airport now?
    If that's the case the only thing I can think of is build some AA units and station them there and hope they start bombing you.
     
  5. Archon_Wing

    Archon_Wing Vote for me or die

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,533
    Gender:
    Male
    So you can't destroy planes even if you occupy/pillage the enemy aerodome?
     
  6. TheTr00per

    TheTr00per Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    It's in the enemys territory. Was thingong about taking this civ on but noticed the airport with 8 bombers. That's obviously my first target. Get some armour on that! Got there, bombers still stationed there. SO started pilliging and then they moved to various other locations. (face plant myself*)
     
  7. Haig

    Haig Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Location:
    Finland
    I get attacked by a.i. bombers, not rare in my games anymore (after some patch I think).
     
    Quintus of Mund likes this.
  8. Ovidious

    Ovidious Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Michigan
    It is annoying when you capture a city with an air field but you cannot use it for your own planes as enemy planes still occupy it. I have had a few instances where I would use the captured city to bombard the airfield on every turn until the enemy aircraft was destroyed. Most times when my city would hit it I would get the message "You hit an enemy fighter for -11 points damage" or some variation. It usually takes 4 - 8 turns to clean it out so I can use it to land my planes. I have even parked a modern armor on the space without any change, only through city bombardment could I get rid of the enemy. If I remember correctly, I even tried to pillage it but was not able to do that.

    Also I never see the enemy plane, just when I go to re-base mine it does not show up as an option plus my city defenses are lit up and ready to strike a close enemy, just one I cannot see.
     
    jbavon and Victoria like this.
  9. crashume

    crashume Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    With respect to the issue of enemy planes occupying the airports in cities that you have conquered, preventing you using them for aircraft storage or for air deployment, I have had some success using missile cruisers to clear them. I suspect that units from the line that includes machine guns will also be succesful
     
  10. TomKQT

    TomKQT Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Well, for some strange reason, it seems to me that land ranged units do not work. And I think that the submarine line of units does not work either. So if the airfield is far from the coast, it is bad.
     
  11. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,295
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Hey! It's just good to know that the A.I. is using aircraft in war; and at Prince level at that!
     
  12. Arent11

    Arent11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    721
    Well, you could argue that when they saw your tanks approaching, they quickly took to the air & rebased to another city/airport. But yes, in principle you should be able to bombard (artillery!) or destroy planes on the ground, since that's what happened quite often in war.

    ---

    Ceterum censeo that helicopters should learn to fly.
     
  13. rschissler

    rschissler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    782
    Location:
    So. Cal, USA
    There are definitely some bugs with the air part of the game. In a current game, there has long been a 0/3 aerodrome/airstrip icon in the middle of the ocean, from a destroyed AI. Also, I built an airstrip and I am able to place bombers on it, but the tile doesn't show the 0/3 icon.
     
  14. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,047
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I've seen Kongo fighters on Prince games, but not bombers yet. But I tend to end my games before 1900, or at the latest 1930 or so.

    Airfields are definitely buggy, hope they sort some of this out with the expansion.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  15. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,676
  16. Ogro

    Ogro Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Maybe it is just me, but there is a bug that let you re base air units to military encampment districts. Air mechanics are still very bugged. They prevented deploy from aircarriers to stop a bug and that feels like a cheap fix to this day.
     
    crashume and Victoria like this.
  17. crashume

    crashume Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Bugger.
    I anticipated archers/crossbows/field cannon/machine guns would work. Did you use one of these?
     
  18. TomKQT

    TomKQT Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    I tried machine guns for sure (and maybe also field cannons), didn't work.

    In my last game which I played on the second hardest difficulty, I saw really a lot of enemy planes. And because I was going for a military victory and thus I was capturing a lot of cities with enemy planes, I noticed how extremely bugy or strangely designed this whole system was :(
    The bugs included for example a fighter that stayed (just the icon, fortunatelly) on an ocean tile where once parked the aircraft carrier.
     
  19. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,047
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I've had bombers get stuck on ocean tiles before. Thankfully I was able to rebase them. I often use aircraft carriers in this game, even if I don't actually need them. I did serve aboard an aircraft carrier in my younger years after all.
     
  20. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,676
    Respect. best I have done is sail Tornado's for 10 years and that certainly encourages me to contemplate my naval always.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop