1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Tech brokering question

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by jonpfl, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. jonpfl

    jonpfl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    385
    All,

    I am not sure how to set up my game. I want to have technology trading but only allow things a civ discovered to be traded. How should I set it on the option screen?

    Uncheck 'No Technology Trading'
    Uncheck 'No Technology Brokering'

    Is this correct?

    Thx
    jonpfl
     
  2. Walliard

    Walliard WW007D?

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    You want "No Technology Brokering" to be checked.
     
  3. niels251

    niels251 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Netherlands
    does anyone know if you have No Technology Brokering checked and you maken a colony can that colony trade away the techs het gets automatically from you?
     
  4. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    I do not believe so. In fact, IIRC, I don't think the colony will "inherit" the techs that the mother country has obtained from third parties, either.....so if you didn't research meditation, for instance, your colony may have to research that on its own after independence.
     
  5. niels251

    niels251 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Netherlands
    thanks for the info
     
  6. _alphaBeta_

    _alphaBeta_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    That means the colony would have completed technologies, and not have the prerequisites. I see this as a problem for unit making etc.:confused:
     
  7. jonpfl

    jonpfl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    385
    So, Brokering means anyone can trade any tech regardless if they researched it or not?

    Thx
    jonpfl
     
  8. Endwar 005

    Endwar 005 The lolrus

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Over there, hiding
    No. When colonies are formed, they get the previous tech branch that you researched, I think..
     
  9. _alphaBeta_

    _alphaBeta_ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Well assuming they get every tech I had at the time of the colony forming, the question is can they trade any of it? I would think not with the "no tech brokering" option on.
     
  10. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    I seem to recall a colony researching a tech that I already had (like Divine Right I believe) in a previous game. Of course, that wasn't a tech branch, just a specific tech, so it's possible my example wasn't a good one. If you can show a save file or something, I'll gladly stand corrected.... I seem to recall seeing colonies end up with riflemen as their units when they're founded after I traded fro assembly line, for example (I almost always play with "no tech brokering" enabled.)
     
  11. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    England
    Yes, brokering in this context means getting a tech by trading (or gift) and then trading it with someone else to get more tech.
     
  12. Thyrwyn

    Thyrwyn Guardian at the Gate

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    State College, PA
    In my experience: Colonies inherit all technologies known by the parent civ at the moment of their creation, to the same degree as the parent civ. Meaning, that if you just researched IronWorking and then created a colony, that colony would a) know IronWorking and b) be able to trade it.

    [Sudden thought: I do not know I they inherit beakers invested in yet to be learned techs, though it would be important to know either way. If they do inherit beakers, that is useful to know; if they do not, then the best time to create a colony is the turn before you finish researching a tech.]
     
  13. niels251

    niels251 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Netherlands
    since they inherit all technologie has anyone seem or notice them trading?

    I they can i think when you are on top with technologie than making an colony is not a smart thing to.
     
  14. SlightlyMad

    SlightlyMad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Colonies get all techs their masters have, regardless of how he got them. They can also trade them all away as if they researched it themselves, even if their master didn't. Personally, I think all colony techs should be considered traded (and therefore not tradeable under NTB), but that hasn't stopped me from taking advantage of it.

    The first thing I always do when I see a colony spin off is trade with it. It's especially nice if the master hated you, but the colony likes you, so you can get not just the techs that the master can't trade, but also the ones they won't trade because of attitude. And since colonies are generally pretty weak, you don't have to worry so much about giving them techs that would make them too powerful.

    For this reason I also rarely even spin off colonies when I have a tech lead.
     
  15. jray

    jray Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    North Carolina (USA)
    Sounds like a major bug to me. Hopefully Bhruic is reading this and will fix it in his unofficial patch :). I guess we'd need to come to some sort of consesus about what the "intended" gameplay was though-- colonies having no trading rights on inherited techs (my personal preference) or inheriting the same flags as the master has. In any case, I'm certainly never going to make a colony if I play No Tech Brokering.
     
  16. oedali

    oedali Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    840
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I do the exact same thing too, and never realized until now that it's a total exploit and a serious bug. Great catch! Hopefully Bhruic will agree to fix it.
     

Share This Page