tech tree and upgrade path need fix

pietro1990

Prince
hello forum,

so i have been playing civ 6 for a few months now and i noticed a major flaw in the game its the upgrade path of units and the lack of strategic resources. And the placement of units in the tech tree seems a little bit wierdI thought that the fall patch would fix the AI not upgrading uints but is still see crosbowman and other medieval classical units at the modern era. the biggest reason of this is the lack of strategic resources.

In civ 5 for example all military units of the same type fallowed the same tech path for example swordsman upgrade to longswordsman and then to muskemtman all those techs where at the same place at the tech tree same goes for cavalry. The problem with civ 6 is that the AI Fallows a certain tech path and ignores techs that allows them to upgrade their units.

i never seen a infantry unit from the AI only mechanised infantry that’s because they skip the infantry tech and go straight to mech infantry wich results in them not having strong melee units when they don't have niter they can't make musketman and just keep building medieval era units. Same goes for field cannon they just ignore it. I’ve seen lots of classical era and medieval era units in the modern era its really annoying especially if you go for a domination victory.

And the other major problem is the upgrade path in general it doesn’t make any sence. For example unique units like the elephant from india upgrades in to a TANK not a cavalry unit or knight so this means that you’re ancient era unit can’t get upgraded during the medieval and renaissance era wich results in them becoming useless. Same goes for the rough rider(America) it ignores tank upgrade and goes to modern armor so if enemy gets tanks you get destroyed. Not to mention unique units have to be built from scratch you can’t upgrade you’re horseman in to rough rider.