1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Term 2 - Presidential Office: Back to Prime Time Chats!

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Demo Game V: Government' started by Chieftess, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Presidential Office - Term 1

    The turnchat schedule is in the turnchat listing in the main forum.

    President - Chieftess
    Vice President - DaveShack
     
  2. Epimethius

    Epimethius Wish I Hadn't Been Here

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Finally, chats I can attend.

    *goes out and buys more alcohol*

    Congratulations, CT. Hopefully your term will be more organized and successful than the last.
     
  3. Black_Hole

    Black_Hole Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,424
    i wouldnt say the last term was unorganized and unsuccessful, but exactly the opposite. i didnt mind the turnchats because everybody should be able to make 1/3 of them
     
  4. DaveShack

    DaveShack Inventor Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13,108
    Location:
    Arizona, USA (it's a dry heat)
    Madame President,

    I would like to point out another reason the Iroquois might have fortified within our borders -- to discourage us from moving a settler that direction. I wonder if the other two units in the area could be a settler and escort?

    For the settler in the area of the cattle to the south, I recommend moving the escort first. If that reveals a settler about to plant, then build our town in place (not at 8E as instructed) to get there first.
     
  5. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    The AI isn't that smart. Besides, the Iroquois have declared war on us, like I thought they would. Immo defended well, and I promoted the garrison in the city for their valiant defense!
     
  6. JackA

    JackA Master Trainer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    All Hail to CT the New President.I hope we teach the Iroquois do not mess with Japanatica!
     
  7. ravensfire

    ravensfire Member of the Opposition

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,281
    Location:
    Gateway to the West
    Madame President,

    Will you be providing a summary of the turn chats? If so, when may we expect them?

    -- Ravensfire
     
  8. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    Our Sunday Turn Chat start time has been moved up an hour?
     
  9. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    It was a typo. No conspiracy here.
     
  10. blackheart

    blackheart unenlightened

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,633
    Location:
    Chicago
    It's those darn Abstainians that are doing this! :crazyeye:
     
  11. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    I think you need help. Ms. President. How could you have reckoned a conspiracy out of that? You're getting as paranoid as eyrei... :rolleyes: ;)

    Moderator Action: I don't find this even mildly amusing, even if you intended it as a joke. The next time you make a statement like this you will be banned from the demogame for an entire term. Eyrei.
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
  12. Sir Donald III

    Sir Donald III Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,073
    Madame President, I have to ask, why are we clearing the Jungles near Fanatikku? We can get better production out of mining the 3 hills nearby than clearing Jungles at this point. We probably won't need such a square until the Industrial Era.

    Also, I have heard reports that some of these trees may be of a type of springy substance, which some use in their military training. What if these may have a use in the future beyond recreation and dummy swords?

    (OOC: i.e. Will we still get Rubber if we chop these Jungles down?)
     
  13. Provolution

    Provolution Sage of Quatronia

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,101
    Location:
    London
    I would preserve the Jungle since we do not need it. I cannot understand that CT is cutting down our little resort :) Go for the hills.
     
  14. Sir Donald III

    Sir Donald III Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,073
    Well, what she is doing, she has done. But let's preserve the other Jungle Squares. Please?
     
  15. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    I have to disagree with you, SD3. As you can see, CT plans on having this Worker tied up for at least 12 more turns, clearing Jungle on a city that has 6 excess food right now. She keeps complaining about how we don't have enough workers, yet she'll clear a Jungle when it is obviously a bad move. We should stop now, and build a mine on the hill next to the city. As I said, we have 6 extra food right now, so let's double the shield output of the hill tile while only having the Worker work half the time?

    The Jungle clearing is comparable to the 3 Workers we had building a road on a mountain tile no city will ever use (see red arrow), even though we could have built the road on a hill tile right next to it that a city could use.



    We need better Worker allocation from this administration.
     
  16. Provolution

    Provolution Sage of Quatronia

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,101
    Location:
    London
    I agree with Cyc here, leave that jungle and build that mine.
    CT has made a strong profile on her micromanagement skills, which certainly is better than mine, yet here I think CT did an obvious miscalculation.

    Cyc, we disagree sometimes on city locations, but your micromanagement inputs I find excellent :)
     
  17. Cyc

    Cyc Looking for the door...

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14,736
    Location:
    Behind you
    @ SD3 - And if a tile is going to have a resource, it will appear, even if a Jungle or Forest has been cleared. ;)

    Thank you, Provolution. I admire your work also.
     
  18. ravensfire

    ravensfire Member of the Opposition

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,281
    Location:
    Gateway to the West
    Madame President,

    The Judiciary has declared the office of the Minister of Culture vacant. Subsequently, the Minister of Culture posted their resignation. Although a formality, please appoint the deputy, who has already provided us with useful information, to the office on a permanent basis.

    Thanks!
    -- Ravensfire
     
  19. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    ok, ok!! I'll spare your little resort! Just don't give me any more Mure's! ;)

    @SDIII - Resources appear on their base terrain, so it'll still appear even if a jungle, say, turns into a desert.
     
  20. Provolution

    Provolution Sage of Quatronia

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,101
    Location:
    London
    Honorable Queen :)

    I am not going for a new Mure, I go for Roman Iron and Ironport.
     

Share This Page