1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Terra Nostra

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Scenarios' started by Moriboe, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium

    This mod is a conversion of Rhye's earth map, with additional and adapted civs. First of all I need to say that most of the hard work was done by other modders. I'll mention them further on and provide a link to their stuff at the bottom of this post. Make sure to check out their work! I had some doubts about posting this here; I hope this can be considered a scenario.

    For the G+K version look here. The post below deals with vanilla.

    Current version: v7.3
    Get it from the downloads database or from the mod browser.

    This mod is still functional, but will no longer receive updates.

    Key features:
    • Large Earth map with enlarged Europe (Rhye),
    • 22 old world civs, including the Norse, Poland, Carthage, Kongo, Zulu and Korea,
    • 32 city states, including new types by Iceco,
    • New or boosted traits for several vanilla civs,
    • Removing marsh requires biology,
    • Map version with quick combat enabled,
    • No DLC's required

    New civs:
    • Norse: Trait = Viking Raids, UU = Berserker, UU = Housecarl
    • Poland: Trait = Golden Liberty, UU = Hussar, UB = Stud Farm
    • Carthage: Trait = Winds of Trade, UU = Numidian Cavalry, UB = Cothon
    • Kongo: Trait = Glory of the Manikongo, UU = Pombo, UB = Raffia Mill
    • Zulu: Trait = Buffalo Horns, UU = Impi, UB = Ikhanda
    • Korea: Trait = Ancient Scholars, UU = Hwacha, UB = Seowon

    Vanilla civs:
    • The Ottomans became the Turks, capital Suyab (in central Asia). Trait = Empire Builders: melee and gunpowder units +25% vs cities, plus Germany's vanilla power
    • German trait: melee, gunpowder and mounted units can make 2 attacks per round (taken from Kael's battle fury trait).
    • English trait: additional 10% gold bonus in cities.
    • Greek trait = philosophy: +50% GP rate.
    • Songhai trait = Bureaucracy: +1 gold on tiles producing 3+, faster river movement.
    • Mongol trait = Organization: +1 gold from trade routes, faster mounted movement.
    • Arabia trait: boosted to +2 gold from trade routes.

    The city states:
    • Americas: Onondaga, Sioux Falls, Mesa Verde, Tenochtitlan, Chichen Itza, Quito, Cuzco, Igloolik, Temuco, Iperoig
    • Africa: Aoudaghost, Oyo, Axum, Mombasa, Great Zimbabwe
    • Europe/Near East: Dublin, Lisbon, Jeruzalem, Tblisi, Karelia, Kiev, Sibir
    • Asia/Oceania: Yakutsk, Sri Lanka, Lhasa, Hanoi, Watarishima, Jakarta, Waikato, Uluru, Tonga

    The terrain:
    • Jungle -1 food.
    • Removing marshes requires biology.
    • Wheat is now called the more generic "cereals". Added more around the map.
    • Old Faithful became Geysir, Grand Mesa now Table Mountain (to spread them out more).
    • Various edits of the map, including (even) larger Europe, Korea and Japan.

    Running the scenario:
    1. Select the map 'Earth 22' or a variant.
    2. Tick the 'Load Scenario' option, then select a civ. If you cannot select the civ of choice: take another, start the game and exit to the menu. Try again: now all civs are selectable.
    3. Have fun!

    Other mods: I found the combination with the Barbarians! mod to work pretty well; check it out!
    And of course it is fully compatible with Building Made Fun.

    Work I used:
    Spoiler :

    Click the "*" for links:
    • Rhye: the original map * * *
    • ecv: conversion to civ5 and further touches *
    • Iceco: Not Another City States Mod *
    • molnutz: Carthage and Vikings * *
    • Hukkak: Korean and Zulu civilizations *
    • zjb: Polish Empire mod *
    • Cyon: Kingdom of Kongo *
    • Deliverator: Housecarl (adapted from Bakuel, Walter Hawkwood) and Impi unit graphics * *
    • Kael: battle fury trait *
     
  2. Ddude97

    Ddude97 King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Looks good :goodjob:
     
  3. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    Posted an update already. I spent the last couple of days doing little else than testing the scenario :blush: The result are various map and leader flavor tweaks.
    Problems included the Turks consistently walking halfway across the world to found their third-ish city; toning down their naval flavor seems to work. The Germans just wouldn't expand so I made their starting position slightly weaker to make some people want to emigrate :crazyeye: etc.

    I can't seem to upload attachments lately so no screenshots, but the downloads database has one should you require it.

    Also I've played around with Mentos' Barbarians! mod: highly recommended!
     
  4. Ddude97

    Ddude97 King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    When the map is not in your actual maps folder but is turned on, can you see your map?
    Any help with integrating mods info to maps would be appreciated :)
     
  5. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    I'm not sure what you mean, but here's what I know:
    I just put the map in the root folder of the mod and added it in the mod properties' Content tab, which makes it selectable in the game setup screen. Mod data is available in the map if the mod is active, this goes both for ingame (obviously) as WorldBuilder: opening a map from inside a ModBuddy project is no guaranty that the project is actually loaded; the "change mods" option can do that.

    I hope you find an answer somewhere in the above. If not, please rephrase your query :)
     
  6. Ddude97

    Ddude97 King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    What did you do to add it to the Content tab? What tags are needed for this? (Name, Type?)


    Currently, I am unable to select my map when my mod is activated, I plan later once this is fixed to start integrating mods into my scenario, and possibly creating some.

    Thanks for the quick reply!
     
  7. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    You're welcome :)

    The tags:

    Type = "Map"
    Name = the name you want to appear in the game setup screen

    Good luck!
     
  8. Ddude97

    Ddude97 King

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    It works! Thank you very very much :)
     
  9. HisAwesomeness

    HisAwesomeness Grand Duke of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Grand Duchy of Awesome
    Dear Moriboe,

    I would prefer to cancel Quick combat, how do I do it?
    Anyway Awesome Scenario.

    :trophy:
    :trophy2nd:
    :trophy3rd:

    Your Friend,
    HisAwesomeness
     
  10. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    YourAwesomeness,

    Unfortunately, there is no ingame option to change this for a scenario that I know of. I will have a look later at the YnAEMP map pack, it manages to have an advanced options menu. But for now there is a way:

    You can open the map, located in the mod's root folder, with the World Editor (SDK mod tools required). Then click Scenario in the menu bar. You will get a list of game options, including Quick Combat. Disable and save. If this doesn't work out for you, I can provide more help on Tuesday (no access to my installation now).

    Thanks for the appreciation :)
     
  11. Farrapo

    Farrapo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I seem to have a lot of problems installing Civ5 mods and I am not sure why. Some work, some don't. In this case I used the download database and put the resulting terra_nostra_v_2.civ5mod file into my MODS folder. I went to the browse mods feature in the game and clicked to install the mod. It extracted and verified 111 items, however it does not appear as a selectable scenario to enable. Likewise, doing a single player setup does not show the earth 18 map.

    I then went back to look at my documents file in civ5 and found that all the extraction had added was an empty Terra Nostra (v2) folder in MODS. I moved the above file into it, repeated the process through extraction and had the same result.

    This often happens to me ... installing a scenario only results in setting up an empty folder under MODS. So unless I can find the corresponding map and move it to the maps folder, etc. I cannot get the scenario.

    I should mention that I run Civ5 in a Windows 7 partition under Parallels on an iMac, but I don't think that's the issue because some mods work fine and others I can never get to install.

    Any suggestions?
     
  12. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    I can send you the mod files as an archive or upload it somewhere - on Tuesday ;) Either you PM me your email address or I'll PM you the upload location.

    As for the problem I can only make a guess. Maybe it has something to do with write permissions? Perhaps the mods that don't work have their own directory structure that is not allowed to be built? Just a wild guess...
     
  13. Farrapo

    Farrapo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Not sure, but for some reason the extraction does not populate the mods and maps folders. Once properly placed all mods work fine. If there is a place I can download all the extracted files that would be great. Meanwhile I'll keep working on it. I suspect it must be an artifact of working in a Windows partition, though not clear why that would be the case. Always liked the Rhyes scenario in Civ4 so would like to try here.
     
  14. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
  15. gijas

    gijas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Due North
    Quick combat enabled? Not my choice of combat. Is there anyway to disable this in your mod back to the normal combat?

    Never mind... I saw your post above on this. I will leave my post here as to remind you that not everyone here likes QC enabled. Otherwise, great mod and good job!
     
  16. Farrapo

    Farrapo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Thanks for the zip version and also for the PM. I'll try it out tomorrow.
     
  17. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks for the notice. I'll get a next version up with two maps; with or without quick combat enabled. The solution in Gedemon's YnAEMP mod is too complicated for me :sad:
     
  18. Moriboe

    Moriboe King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Belgium
    New version available, see OP :)

    I noticed a strange problem where rivers flowing into the sea south to north do not provide the river property to the final tile on the right bank of the river. Only two rivers did not have that problem. Rivers in other directions are all fine. Very strange. My solution: change the course of rivers with a south to north final section ;) As a result some rivers divert a bit more from their real world course.

    And many more map improvements in general.
     
  19. Farrapo

    Farrapo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Downloaded zip v3 and it's working fine, so thanks. Testing it now.
     
  20. HisAwesomeness

    HisAwesomeness Grand Duke of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Grand Duchy of Awesome
    The terrain:
    Jungle -1 food.
    Removing marshes and jungle requires biology. But you can build plantations and mines in them without clearing.
    Wheat is now called the more generic "cereals". Added more around the map.
    Old Faithful became Geysir, Grand Mesa now Table Mountain (to spread them out more).
    Various edits of the map of little general interest.

    Dear Moriboe,

    It is out of my curiosity that I ask you this. What are these "Various edits of the map of little general interest." you speak of?
    Keep being awesome.

    Your Friend,
    HisAwesomeness
     

Share This Page