1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Terraforming marsh in RFC?

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by Beyondtheocean, Dec 6, 2008.

1. Beyondtheocean

Beyondtheocean Chieftain

I understand the marshes in Rhye's and Fall of Civilization were added for realism, but I don't like to be stuck with them the whole game.
    In the real world most of the marshes were turned into farmland (grassland?) at some time. In my part of the world mostly in the 19th and early 20th century.

Is this already possible with an existing mod? And if not.... does anyone know how to make this work? (I have no programming knowledge)

2. Cethegus

Cethegus Chieftain

I'd like to second this. Allow Marsh-clearing after a certain technology, that'll turn even Helsinki (Finnish capital) into profitable city site.

3. 3Miro

3Miro Chieftain

Can you guys find an example of a marsh that has been terraformed.

4. Wessel V1

Wessel V1 Chieftain

I only have to walk a mile to see that happening, because at the moment they are building a new citydistrict in a former marsh:). Since the 13th century, the Dutch have been clearing marshes, up to 1000 square kilometers in the 17th century. However, I can't think of other evident examples.

5. jessiecat

jessiecat Divine Monarch

England early 17th.C. The Cambridgshire Fens (100's of sq. miles of marshes) completely drained and dried out by Flemish and Dutch engineers. Since then some of the richest farmland in Britain.

6. Beyondtheocean

Beyondtheocean Chieftain

And I live in an area pretty close to Wessel V1, the Peel region in the south-east Netherlands. A good example of late (industrial age) marsh draining.

7. SadoMacho

SadoMacho spanker of civilizations