1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

TERRAIN: Mines with tower

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Niessuh, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. Niessuh

    Niessuh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Madrid
    I have modified the RoN tower extracted by ArbitraryGuy, inserting It into my soft mine graphic. Credit goes to Jack O'Lantern (Apolyton) for having the idea of mixing towers with mines


    screenshot:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Niessuh

    Niessuh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Madrid
    download:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Fanatica

    Fanatica Strategic Mapmaker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    In The Moment at Waters Edge
    Interesting.
    I usually have mines on most locations, I'm curious as to whether it will make the map a bit crowded, but I like the idea.
     
  4. Niessuh

    Niessuh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Madrid
    It's a pity that there is just one mine tile. There are 48 irrigation tiles!
     
  5. Aonghus

    Aonghus Rainwood

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Will trade territory map for 50gol
    Wow thats so amazing, you were able to stick a tower next to the standard mine! Your talent astounds us all! Maybe next you can stick a silo in the irrigation graphic! :rolleyes:
     
  6. Drift

    Drift It's a boy!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    Aonghus, there's absolutely no need to be rude. :nono:

    Graphics look nice. Better than the ones with derricks. :goodjob:
     
  7. Butz

    Butz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    The Deep South
    You dont have to be an ******* Aonghus

    Well the graphic looks nice Niessuh:) I might use them.
     
  8. thedirk

    thedirk Master of Stealth

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    The future centre of the universe
    If anyone cares, the technical term for the tower at a mine site is a "tipple." They are used to store the mined material (e.g. coal, iron ore) before it is removed from the site.
     
  9. CdGGambit

    CdGGambit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    And you have better...where?
     
  10. Zurai

    Zurai Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    726
    That's not the standard mine, genius.
     
  11. Ankka

    Ankka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    7,299
    Nice work. :goodjob:
     
  12. Jurimax

    Jurimax Duke of Flanders

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    636
    Location:
    Oostrozebeke, Belgium
    Looks great

    IMHO it might indeed make the map a bit crowded. BTW is there a way to work with different mining graphics? These could be used for hills and mountains and the old ones could be used for grassland, plains, ...


    Greetz Jurimax.
     
  13. microbe

    microbe Cascaded Mansion

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,596
    Would it make radio towers irrecognizable?

    Nice picture, but I don't think the idea is good. ;)
     
  14. Plexus

    Plexus Architeuthidae puericomedentis

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,011
    Location:
    S. Calif., U.S.A.
    Idiot.

    I, however, like the idea and execution. :goodjob:
     
  15. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,701
    Location:
    Versailles City, Vekta, United Systems of Vekta
    I like these mines better than the ones in Civ3 :)
     
  16. King Squanto

    King Squanto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    oo very nice, I'm impressed- this is the first terrian-mod-graphic change that I've seen that I've liked! no offense against anyone who has made a terrian-mod-graphic change thingy. one problem though, besides the others mentioned, is that it would look silly if you built it in the acient times- if only Civ III had an option of updating the graphics for it when you hit the industrail era, then it would be very nice... how come Fraxis didn't do something like that themselves? mines are very diffrent looking than they were 4,000 years ago :rolleyes:
     
  17. Zcylen

    Zcylen Moonlight Rambler

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,031
    Location:
    Monterrey, Mexico
    nice job you traitor :p
     
  18. Niessuh

    Niessuh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Madrid
    It's at apolyton too :p

    Agree @King Squanto
    At least this mine could be used at scenarios like wwII or Napoleonic
     

Share This Page