"Thanks" for making a grown man cry!

Antiphon

Warlord
First let me say the following rage rant is not based on any gameplay. I did just start up this game for the first time right now. I have yet to finish turn 1. It's rather the technology, especially graphics engine.

I'm an old civ veteran, who also played Alpha Centauri a lot. Recently, I had been addicted to Civ5 plus AddOns. Naturally, when I heard they wanted to make a new Space Game I was exited. I was blind. I did not want to read previews in order not to spoil anything. I trusted Firaxis so much I preordered the game blindly cause it was a CIV game. Now, not having finished a single round, I am pretty damn close to crying already.

I couldn't wait to set foot in Civ5 graphics (which are from 2010 but still good) set in space. 1080p and whoopass 3D-Graphics, that let you think you are looking at a table-top strategy game rather than a computer game.

Then the menu popped up, and I immediately recognized the setup menu from Civ4, plus no option for 1080p (900p max? wtf???). My heart began pounding like crazy and I was thinking "could they, really?", hoping they did NOT go back to the engine from 2004 (10 years! T-E-N years!!!). I started the first game and - bang, I saw a very civ4 like, flat landscape (pushed into the background, like in civ4) and a crash. Second time again, only switching off 3D-Vision would let me play the game, and that's where I broke inside and went to these forums after months of deliberately reading no magazines, no gaming websites out of fear of spoiling my fun.

And now I am stuck with a game which has graphics that are almost literally T-E-N years old (taking into account only 900p, it's actually worse). I mean it's a strategy game, it doesn't need to have the newest graphics, and Alpha Centauri graphics were pretty for their time too. BUT THEN....