1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The AI can use a navy! At least against cities...

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Discussions' started by Greasy Dave, Oct 13, 2015.

1. Greasy Dave

Greasy Dave Prince

I've just been pleasantly surprised by the AI in a navy battle. It wasn't doing anything revolutionary. But it was using it's units tactically and completely surprised me.

I should have taken screenshots.

I was playing Apollo, NSA, small map, with ten civs. I'd found Soyuz fairly straightforward and figured I'd try pushing up the bar. I'm far from an expert player and shouldn't have been so ambitious.

I won't bore you with the various mistakes I made leading up to it. By turn 90 I had 3 cities and one outpost (all water cities). I'd struggled to keep my relationships good with my neighbours and hutama, the Chinese and BRazil all DOWed me within a turn of each other.

HUtama was the most interesting. He sent a bunch of land units to my outpost. I actually laughed and thought, great AI, trying to melee attack my outpost from the sea, duuh. I was the dumbo of course. I'd set up the outpost within 2 tiles of an island and he parked a couple of gunners on it and proceeded to pound the outpost to dust, with the other melee units acting as guards. When the defense was zero, a cutter came out of the fog and smacked it.

On my cities he used subs - he parked 2 within two tiles of my 3rd city and bombarded it. My navy was stretched too thin across the four cities, so when I tried to use a cutter or two to spot the subs, they pounded them to nothing and then returned to the city. Once that was zero - a cutter came out of the fog and took it. Brazil used the same tactic on my capital.