The Ancient Mediterranean Info

Discussion in 'Civ4 - The Ancient Mediterranean MOD' started by thamis, Jul 19, 2006.

  1. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,581
    >> Download the latest version

    Installation Instructions
    Delete "The Ancient Mediterranean" folder in your CIV4\Mods folder if you have installed TAM before! This ensures that your XMLs are up to date if we split old files into several new ones. Then double-click the installer and extract it into your main CIV4 folder. This will not overwrite any original CIV files.

    The map is in the PublicMaps folder. Best way to launch the mod is to simply double-click the map file!

    Features
    - All ancient civilizations
    - All ancient technology tree (completely new tree)
    - All ancient units (many new units)
    - Heroes
    - Several maps, more coming
    - Smithies equip units with better weapons
    - More dynamic religion spread
    - Reworked AI behaviour

    Playable Civilizations:
    - Babylon (Hammurabi)
    - Gaul (Vercingetorix)
    - Mycenae (Agamemnon)
    - Rome (Caesar)
    - Scythia (Partatua)
    - Egypt (Hatshepsut)
    - Iberian Tribes (Viriato)
    - Germanic Tribes (Arminius)
    - Carthage (Dido)
    - Lydia (Kroisos)
    - Phoenicia (Hiram)
    - Getae (Decebalus)
    - Kolchis (Aeetes)
    - Illyria (Teuta)
    - Persia (Dareios)
    - Medes (Deiokes)
    - Britons (Cunobelin)
    - Goths (Theoderich) (not on any of the maps)
    - Nubia (Taharqa)
    - Tartessia (Argantonio)

    The Team
    Thamis (Chief Evangelist, German Text)
    Shqype (Chief Coder, Pythonist)
    Laurino (Iconographer, French Text)
    Seven05 (SDK God)
    Ingvina Freyr (Research, Pedia, Graphics)
    Notarzt (Chief Skinner)
    Karhgath (Treemaker)
    Onedreamer (Tester, Italian Text)
    Leptomeninges (Copywriter)
    Spirit_Viriato (Spanish Text)
     
  2. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Location:
    Chicago
    Great to see another great mod gets its due!
     
  3. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Nice! Different threads is going to make things a lot easier to handle.
     
  4. Dionysius

    Dionysius Emperor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    s`about bloody time ye got a forum, am pleased.
     
  5. Shqype

    Shqype Shqyptar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,468
    Location:
    New York + Shqypni
    haha, I like Irish people.
     
  6. darkedone02

    darkedone02 The Suggestor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,734
    Location:
    Louisville, Kentucky
    damn it, why is there no goths in any of the maps! Gothic hating people:mad: . oh well, at least i continue to play as the Germanic Empire. I do hate these freakin crashes and bright Terrain bugs that i continue to get on Civ 4... When will Firaxis ever going to fix them things on there engine!
     
  7. AndreasS

    AndreasS Warlord

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    I personally think the Goths are more suiting for a Fall of Rome scenario, but I think they will be added when the 18 civ limit is removed.
     
  8. Dionysius

    Dionysius Emperor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    hmm... will there be a 24 limit with warlords? or none at all? hopefully the latter.
     
  9. AndreasS

    AndreasS Warlord

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    Well, I'm not sure if it will be removed completely, but I think I heard that you at least will be able to play 24 Civs at once. This must be done to be able to play all the 24 vanilla civs after Warlords on one map.

    I never play huge maps now, because I think that 18 civs is to little to fill those maps. I guess 24 + will be awesome for the huge sized maps!
     
  10. Neonanocyborgasm

    Neonanocyborgasm Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,695
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it reasonable to assume that this latest version of TAM is essentially complete with little but a few bugs to work out?
     
  11. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,581
    Yes, that's how it is. It works perfectly fine, we're just working on the fine tuning and some minor missing text entries.
     
  12. davbenbak

    davbenbak Lackey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Texas
    Just posting so that I can get notices when the forum is updated. P.S. just got warlords and can't wait for a TAM compatable mod.
     
  13. Dionysius

    Dionysius Emperor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    wahhh...
    customgame on warlords; only 18 civ can be put in :(

    is there no way this can be modded?
     
  14. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,581
    Either Dale or Rhye have modded warlords to allow for 32 civs. :D

    We'll finish up the normal CIV4 version first and then move on to warlords. Finishing up means that we'll fix up graphics and text, and do some more gameplay balance tweaks.
     
  15. Dionysius

    Dionysius Emperor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,319
    wow. excellent! i can do a 32 counties of ireland scenario now...
    either dale or rhye, i salute you! :salute:
     
  16. Drtad

    Drtad It Stinks!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    838
    What civs are going to be added since the cap has been removed?
     
  17. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,581
    Version 1.95 posted, get it at the TAM website as always.
     
  18. Eddiit

    Eddiit King of Nothing

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Florida, U.S.A.
    I downloaded the scenario and extracted to my civ 4 file as instucted. I'm running version 1.6.1.1841 and I cant seem to get the scenario to work. I get numerous errors as the mod is loading. I manage to get as far as the civ selection screen but after there is a critical error and civ shuts down. Am I running the wrong version of civ? Is it supposed to be for warlords? Any advice?
     
  19. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,581
    Are you sure you extracted the MOD into your MAIN civ4 folder, NOT into the mods folder? That's what it sounds like to me. It's not for warlords, but for normal civ.
     
  20. Eddiit

    Eddiit King of Nothing

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Florida, U.S.A.
    Actually I think it may be a problem with civ itself. I'm reistalling. If it doesnt work ill let you know. I did install it correctly though.
     

Share This Page