The Black Death...

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Macintosh' started by gfeier, Jul 18, 2006.

  1. gfeier

    gfeier King

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    ...or whatever you want to call it. Usually everything except the units gets really dark and the game slows way down. Sometimes, just for variety, I presume, the units turn black (particularly noticeable with ships). This problem has been reported in this forum by a lot of users with all kinds of machines using all kinds of CPUs. Saving and reloading seems to fix it temporarily, but it always comes back. Just wondering if anyone has figured out what causes it and if it's been officially recognized as a bug which needs to be patched. :confused:
     
  2. ejday

    ejday King

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    973
    Location:
    Burbank, CA, USA
    I've seen it once and it went away after reload.

    I saw an odd variant of it when a ship went off the left edge of the map to appear on the far right side. All the in-place units on the right side were fine, but my ship was black. This persisted for a number of turns... then the problem vanished.

    I've got Mulder and Sculley looking into right now.
     
  3. gfeier

    gfeier King

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    887
    Location:
    In front of my Mac
    Besides ejday, I have seen this bug mentioned by essentialsaltes, Zaimejs, floppymouse and bnew. bnew said he corected it by zooming all the way out and back in again, so I'll try this the next time I run into it. I'm still wondering if Brad has seen it and if it was also a problem in the PC version.
     
  4. Beamup

    Beamup Higgs boson

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Boston
    I've also come across it once. Quit and restarted and it went away.
     
  5. 5150

    5150 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    I've seen it many times. Usually it can be temporarily fixed by zooming out and then in, but it always comes back.
     
  6. Skippy_Kangaroo

    Skippy_Kangaroo Prince of Denmark

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Sydney
    I suspect what I observed is not 'the Black Death' - but it was odd.

    All the ice turned black. Everything else was fine, but the ice was all black. It was really freaky but, surpisingly, aesthetically pleasing in a Model-T kind of way. Has anyone else experienced this problem?
     
  7. Helmling

    Helmling Philosopher King

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,680
    I've seen the black ice on the PC version during save/loads
     
  8. 5150

    5150 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Yup. That always precedes the cities and units going black. It's an every-game occurrence for me.
     
  9. rrrrrr

    rrrrrr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Ah, I should have read this before I posted mine. I experienced this black death yesterday for the first time and solved it by going to global view and then back again. Everything was normal once again. Hope it works for u!
     
  10. mikeyredk

    mikeyredk Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    It didn't work for me unfortunately
     
  11. oLO

    oLO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    German Capitol
    My lovely Arabic woodships, often switch colours (for gods sake no flags also!) Like one step its nicely green ,but then ,pink, yellow, and more enemy colours. Had the black ice aswell and jumpy units too.

    Te most akward combo I´ve seen on a PC though, a Stealth Bomber/jet crossbreed and htat was no mod!

    CHeers oLO
     
  12. Covenantor

    Covenantor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Ok - I am new here at this site, but has anyone ever gotten what I affectionately call the "Stone Henge Bug". As soon as someone builds Stone Henge the screen automatically zooms way out and all the images are small.

    FIX = Reload the game.

    Just curious.

    Covenantor
     
  13. 5150

    5150 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    I've seen it zoom all the way out like that. I just zoom back in.
     
  14. Beamup

    Beamup Higgs boson

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Boston
    I always thought that was expected behavior related to recentering the map. And there's no need to reload, just zoom back in.
     
  15. 5150

    5150 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Nah, it scrolls to recenter the map constantly without zooming all the way out. It's a bug.
     

Share This Page