1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Diplomat Mod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by OrionVeteran, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    The Diplomat Mod Beta 3

    Introducing Orion's Diplomat Mod

    Download: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=17649

    The Diplomat is a new unit, who conducts bribery missions that are typical of a corrupt negotiator. Diplomat will be able to conduct 11 different diplomatic missions.

    Beta 3: 5 Oct 2011

    Changes:

    1. Bribe for war mission must be conducted from the capital city of the foriegn civ you are bribing.

    2. Many Python code tweaks.


    Beta 2: 4 Oct 2011

    New capabilities:

    1. Bribe for war: You can Bribe one civ into declaring war on another civ. This is a very expensive bribe mission and the risk for getting caught is very grave indeed. If your mission is successful, there will be war between the two civs you select. However, if your diplomat gets caught, then both civs will declare war on you! It is possible for your mission to be successful and your diplomat gets caught. In this case not only will there be war between the two civs you select, but both civs will declare war on you as well. The result is a 3 way war. My advise to your diplomat: Don't get caught!

    2. Bribe for peace: You can bribe one civ to make peace with you. This is also a very expensive bribe mission, but could be very useful if you find yourself in a losing battle.

    3. The War and Peace missions can only be executed when you have a Diplomat in your own capital city.


    Beta 1: 19 Sep 2011
    The missions are listed below in the order of Cost: From the most expensive to the least expensive.

    1. Bribe a Civ for a Current Era Tech (different from #5, as these are the highest techs researched)
    2. Bribe a Civ to obtain a city
    3. Bribe a combined unit to change allegiance
    4. Bribe a Great Leader to change allegiance
    5. Bribe a Civ for any technology (Any tech you don't have)
    6. Bribe a city to incite a revolt
    7. Bribe a unit to change allegiance (non leaders and not a combined unit.
    8. Bribe a Civ for improved diplomatic relations
    9. Expel a foriegn Diplomat

    Diplomatic bribes 1, 2, 5, 6 and 8 require the diplomat to be in a foriegn city to execute the mission.

    Diplomatic bribes 3, 4 and 7 require the diplomat to be on any plot owned by a foriegn civ that has at least one foriegn unit to bribe.

    To expel a foriegn diplomat, you must have your diplomat on a plot owned by your empire, with the foriegn diplomat (the one you want to expel) on the same plot.

    The cost to conduct a diplomatic mission will vary depending upon the type of mission selected and how much you are willing to pay. The cost to conduct a diplomatic mission increases for each era you have achieved through research. After selecting a diplomatic mission from a popup menu, there will be 3 choices available to determine how much the mission will cost in gold:

    Slim Chance: -25% off of the base cost (The cheapest rate, but higher risk of failure)
    Fair Chance: The Default or base cost (The average cost)
    Best Chance +25% added to the base cost (The most expensive rate, has lower risk of failure)

    This allows you to determine just how much gold you are willing to risk for a diplomatic mission. Once the diplomatic mission is executed, a calculated random chance will determine the success or failure of the mission and whether or not your diplomat was caught. There will be consequences for a failed diplomatic mission, in the form of a change of attitude of the target civ towards your empire. The worst case scenario is when the diplomatic mission fails and the diplomat gets caught. Believe me, the Civ will not be happy about the international incident.

    The Diplomat is similar to the Caravel unit, as it can enter into foriegn territory, without declaring war or having an open borders agreement. The Diplomat will be just like the Missionary unit, as it will be used up whether or not the mission was successful. The gold spent will be non-refundable.

    Note: The AI is unable to use the diplomat in Beta 1, but will when the final version is released. For now, I want you to check out the mod and see if you like the concept.

    The Diplomat is, for the most part, corrupt; as it's main focus is to conduct bribery missions. Have fun!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    I've added several screenshots to the download page.
     
  3. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Well, let's hear what you think about the mod.

    There has been discussion about adding another mission: Negotiate (Bribe) for Peace. This mission, if successful, would force all civs into a 10 turn peace agreement. Failure, would result in a massive attitude adjustment against your empire by all Civs at war with you at the time you execute the mission. Chance of success: 95%. Cost of bribe: Huge! Discussions persist on how much greater the mission cost would be over the base cost.
     
  4. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,039
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Uh, that looks interesting :cool:.

    Are you planning on expanding this further? e.g. i still remember that nuclear explosion option from Civ2.
     
  5. stolenrays

    stolenrays Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Looks like fun. I have created some middle eastern flavor diplomats for my mod updates so you are free to use them for unique units when I post the mod.

    What about a mission to worsen two civs diplomatic relations (not including you) or even to lean them to be your vassal? I figure those might be hard though.
     
  6. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    The version on the download page is a beta and was released to get reaction from the community. Currently, the AI does not know what to do with the unit, but will in the final version. I just wanted to solicite some more ideas. I have never played Civ 2. Can you explain what this nuclear option was all about?
     
  7. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    If an idea wins support from my friend, who is a history expert, then I will attempt to include it.
     
  8. stolenrays

    stolenrays Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
  9. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Yes. Spies plant bombs, while diplomats negotiate for what they want and in this mod, the diplomat makes bribes to get what he wants. Since planting a nuclear device is considered to be an act of sabotage and terrorism, I believe this mission is more suited for the actions of a spy or a Great Spy. I just need to change the Spy unit to perform the drop off of the nuclear suitcase. About 3 turns later it goes off. That would be a nasty surprise.
     
  10. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    The decision has come out. I will be adding a mission to bribe for peace and another mission to bribe two competing civs into going to war against each other. The consequences of mission failure or getting caught will be very grave.
     
  11. stolenrays

    stolenrays Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
  12. Bataknese

    Bataknese Horas Bah..

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Indonesia
    This is interesting.
    For point # 6. 'Bribe a city to incite a revolt'. Will be awesome if merged with RevDCM. Do you think it will compatible?
     
  13. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Yes. However, With all due respect to the great work of RevDCM, you may also want to try Grand Inquisitions (OGI), which has host of new techs, wonders, buildings and units, along with an improved version of Mine Warfare and so much more. The download is 1/2 GB in size! Once completed the Diplomat mod will be merged with OGI and my goal is to post the latest fixes and updates before Thanksgiving, as that is when I will be playing my next epic game.
     
  14. SamSniped

    SamSniped DJ Goodboye

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5,413
    Location:
    playing some funky jams
    Hey, I believe allegiance is spelled wrong in your screenshots. It should be spelled the way I spelled it in this post.
     
  15. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    I will make the correction, which you will see in the next version.

    Thanks
     
  16. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    I was able to get the Peace mission to work last night. ...One down.

    The mission to get two civs to declare war on each other will have the following:

    1. Bribing Civ will select two civs to declare war against each other
    2. Bribing Civ must have met the selected civs
    3. Selected civs must not have an alliance
    4. If Diplomat gets caught and fails his mission: The selected civs will declare permanant war against the Bribing civ.
    5. If Diplomat gets caught, but his mission is successful: Selected Civs and the bribing civ declare war on each other for a 3 way war.
    6. If Diplomat doesn't get caught and mission is successful: Selected civs will declare war on each other.
    7. If Diplomat doesn't get caught and mission fails: The Bribing civ just looses his bribe money, which happens anyway.

    With great risk comes great reward. The consequences of getting caught will result in war. Success will result in your enemies attacking each other. Bottom Line is: Don't get caught! ;)
     
  17. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Diplomat Mod Ver Beta 2

    New capabilities:

    1. Bribe for War: You can Bribe one civ into declaring war on another civ. This is a very expensive bribe mission and the risk for getting caught is very grave indeed. If your mission is successful, there will be war between the two civs you select. However, if your diplomat gets caught, then both civs will declare war on you! It is possible for your mission to be successful and your diplomat gets caught. In this case not only will there be war between the two civs you select, but both civs will declare war on you as well. The result is a 3 way war. My advise to your diplomat: Don't get caught! :groucho:

    2. Bribe for Peace: You can bribe one civ to make peace with you. This is also a very expensive bribe mission, but could be very useful if you find yourself in a losing battle.

    3. For this version, the War and Peace missions can only be executed when you have a Diplomat in your own capital city.
     
  18. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    I'm going to make a change to the Bribe for war mission. This mission will have to be conducted from the capital city of the foriegn civ, instead of your own capital. With the exception of the Bribe for Peace mission, it makes no sense to believe you could convince one civ to declare war on another civ, if you are currently at war with the civ you are bribing. They wouldn't listen to you, much less your diplomat. The only mission to be executed from your own capital will be the bribe for peace mission. Look for this change in the next release.
     
  19. OrionVeteran

    OrionVeteran Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Newport News VA
    Diplomat Mod Ver Beta 3

    Diplomat Mod Ver Beta 3 has been released.

    Changes:

    1. Bribe for war mission must be conducted from the capital city of the foriegn civ you are bribing. See previous post.

    2. Many Python code tweaks.


    OK it is time for all of you to let me know how this works for you. So let's hear your comments good or bad. :)
     
  20. Cybah

    Cybah Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,480
    In the download package there is only the .ini. :D Nothing more.
     

Share This Page