The Event that broke the camel's back...

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by dennisg, Apr 8, 2010.

1. dennisg

dennisg Warlord

When BTS first came out I started playing with "random events" enabled...but I finally got sick of it after I was in a war and the forge in my major production city burnt down! WTH? A forge...burning down?

For me, that was the event that pissed me off so much I turned off random events and never turned them on again.

[edit]If you're like me,[/edit] I was just wondering what event/situation pushed you over the edge...

2. Junuxx

Junuxx Emperor

The -25% inflation event is pretty ridiculous too IMO, although it's positive. I should be playing without events, but I keep forgetting to switch it off at game start.

3. catfish99

catfish99 Warlord

I don't have a problem with the random events. Think of the "forge burning down" event as a production issue. You don't lose the ability to create the unit you are building, you just don't do it as quickly as you thought you could. Real world examples abound - German Tiger production in Numberg was delayed by the bombing of the Maybach engine plant in Berlin.

4. Disgustipated

Disgustipated Deity

I always pay to have it rebuild. But if you don't have the cash...

5. eris

eris King

You seem to assume that everyone has been led to the same level of frustration with events as you. That is an incorrect assumption. The early barbarian invasions are broken, but everything else seems to balance out and add just a little bit of flavor and an occasional strategic decision. Subjective preference, I guess.

6. dennisg

dennisg Warlord

No, I wasn't assuming that. I just forgot to add a bit to the post. Post edited.

7. markiz2001

markiz2001 Chieftain

iron sheik broke the camel's back.......
    then made him humble.

8. huh?

huh? Warlord

At the lower levels, I used to play with the events turn on. I would typically have the cash and/or units to handle the situation.