The Great War

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Sarevok, Jan 25, 2004.

?

What do you think of this scenario?

  1. Its Great! one of the best out there!

    261 vote(s)
    54.6%
  2. Its a good scenario

    119 vote(s)
    24.9%
  3. Its ok

    40 vote(s)
    8.4%
  4. I dont like it

    58 vote(s)
    12.1%
  1. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Yes that is right.
    In TGW version 2.1 (The Brigade-level version) you need 5 towns
    to form an army.

    Rocoteh
     
  2. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Two other issues:

    1) government office, it seems to imply that I will get vets in those towns, but I do not. It seems there are no barracks after the wonder expires and hence no upgrades?

    2) Austria has an MPP, RoP and yet they were not able to use my roads or rails? I tried to attack Italy via Austrian lands, but I do not have use of their infrastructure either?

    These are not a great issue, but it is a bit hard to know what things work as advertised and what does not.

    A third nit is the impassable mountains. They were flag as such in AoI, but not here and I notice some mountains have roads and some do not? Again, this adds to the work I have to do, to figure out what is what.

    It would have been nice, to have some readme with these types of things reported.
     
  3. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Should there be a version 2.2 of TGW Brigade-level what you mention
    are problems that should be solved.
    However I doubt there will be such a new version since I will give
    priority to the Division-level version.

    Rocoteh
     
  4. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    RoP is not broken, it was actually saying I had a Locked Alliance.

    The mountains meant that I had to check all of them as I could not tell, which ones could be improved and which not.

    The grass was the same thing. It was very hard to tell the irrigated tiles, from the non irrigated tiles.

    I also was not able to really understand the movement rules for Kaiserjagger units. At times, you could ignore movement penalties and at other times not? They are too strong with the ability to travel over most tiles as if it had a road or a rail.

    What is the Division Level version?
     
  5. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    This is not a product of the scenario, but did sort of shock me:

    One of locked allies sabotaged my product. I know it was them, maybe not the one mentioned, as I had killed all the enemies. It was the turn that I got control, after the last one was eliminated. I guess it is possible that the Swiss did it.

    That does bring me to the concept of the Swiss not be accessible. I could not even para drop in. I hate to not be able to kill everyone. I would have like to be able to break the locked alliance. Then I would have been able to go to war on the nation that sabotaged me.
     
  6. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    "That does bring me to the concept of the Swiss not be accessible. I could not even para drop in. I hate to not be able to kill everyone. I would have like to be able to break the locked alliance. Then I would have been able to go to war on the nation that sabotaged me." vmxa


    The Kaiserjager units have Blitz capacity and "All terrain as roads" in
    version 2.1 of TGW Brigade-level. (Only Blitz capacity in TGW Division-level
    version 1.6.)

    In TGW Division-level the basic ground unit is a division.
    Thus there are less units compared with the TGW Brigade-level.

    You also can enter mountains in TGW Division-level 1.6.
    and thus there should not be an problem to invade Switzerland.


    Link to TGW Division-level:

    http://www.stormoverciv.net/forums/showthread.php?t=520


    Rocoteh
     
  7. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,729
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    Just some general comments:

    I've been playing the brigade version lately. I just love having to manage all of those units. Have not tried the division level version but I don't think I ever will for the reason stated.

    I've been sort of modding this scenario to freshen it up a bit and also merging some concepts learned from other scenarios found here. I dreaming of making this great scenario something even better.
     
  8. Sasebo

    Sasebo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I just DLed the 2.1 biq. file that is listed in the OP. I noticed that Germany can only build coastal submarines, while everyone else can build the better submarines?? I assume there was supposed to be a U-Boat unit, but it didn't get put in for some reason? Also, why do the subs and the coastal subs have transport capacity, I can't figure that one out.
     
  9. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Well sub always have transport people and things. Look at all the operations in WWII using subs to drop or pick up troops and spies.

    I played this as Germany, but I did not build subs or even pay attention to what they could make.
     
  10. Serutan

    Serutan Eatibus Anythingibus

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,576
    Location:
    Baja Arizona
    Yes, but they only transported small commando teams; they never transported anything remotely like the number of troops represented by a single unit in the scenario. In WWI, they shouldn't have any transport capablity at all.
     
  11. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Its a bug.

    The last verson of TGW Brigade level (2.1) was launched more then
    5 years ago.
    Should there be anymore version of this scenario I will probably
    focus on the Division level version.


    Rocoteh
     
  12. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    What does Brigade and Division stand for anyway? The size of the map?
     
  13. Arexander

    Arexander Trucker

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    854
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    The amount of units. In Division one unit is representing a division, while in Brigade one unit is representing a brigade. So you'll have more units running when playing in Brigade-mode.
     
  14. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,863
    I was wondering if anyone was still playing this very fine scenario?

    I was trying to contact the author, but all in vain...
     
  15. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,729
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    I haven't played it in a while but I've been thinking of updating it. It's one of the many projects I'm getting into but right now this one is on the back burner.

    Btw I immediately recognized your avi and handle. He was a great king. ;)
     
  16. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,863
    I am amazed how accurate is it, one of the most accurate scenarious I ever seen. I am playing on Marshal(Sid) difficulty, AI seems to act pretty smart. I literally had a battle of Heligoland -- as Germany finished the turn of my light cruissers early and they all got sunk by Beatty's battlecruisers... Using mines to break British blocade, feeling a little bit like cheating, since AI does not use mines effectively :) ...

    P.S. Wow Moff, very few people know anything about Armenians, good job!
     
  17. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618

    I will reply on all PM:s.
    However since about a year ago I only visit CFC once a week.


    Rocoteh
     
  18. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618

    Thank you.
    I am glad to hear that you like the scenario.


    Rocoteh
     
  19. Moff Jerjerrod

    Moff Jerjerrod Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,729
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Aboard the Praetor's pride
    I was too the first time I played the scenario. The other thing I really liked about it was the fact that whenever you build an infantry unit 1 population point is deducted. This simulates the attrition that WW1 was notorious for. The fact that you can easily produce a lot of infantry quickly and use them to create a continuous fortified line simulates trench warfare.

    Shnorhagal'em, yes al Hye 'em! :)
     
  20. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,863
    Wow! Shat apres axper jan! :) Erbeq chei mtaci erku hay khandipen aystex! :)
     

Share This Page