1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great War

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Sarevok, Jan 25, 2004.

?

What do you think of this scenario?

  1. Its Great! one of the best out there!

    257 vote(s)
    54.2%
  2. Its a good scenario

    119 vote(s)
    25.1%
  3. Its ok

    40 vote(s)
    8.4%
  4. I dont like it

    58 vote(s)
    12.2%
  1. CellKu

    CellKu Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Europe
    That is awesome! :worship: I am really looking forward to your finalized d-version! :)

    CellKu
     
  2. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    CellKu,

    Thank you.

    Germany has now been completed.

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  3. CellKu

    CellKu Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Europe
    Sarevok, I am not sure if that is of any concern now (or in the future): I found some pics for the civilopedia (civilization advances) in the graphics forum. Perhaps some of them could be useful for TGW?

    The link is: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=64759

    (Doc mentioned something of sending you DyP pics or links. So perhaps you got these or other pics already.)

    CellKu
     
  4. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  5. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Report on the division-level version:

    Greece, Albania, Bulgaria, Romania, Serbia
    and Montenegro have now also been "converted".

    Rocoteh
     
  6. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  7. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
  8. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    I have another request, and I hope its nottoo much but... Can you do all of the navy's? Im thinking ill screw up on those and where to put them. My military knowledge is mostly on land and is minimal at sea. If there is another major land power you have not done, ill take them in exchange. Same ratio's for ships as in main version BTW
     
  9. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Sarevok,

    Yes I will do all the navy`s. No problem

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  10. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Arabia converted.

    Nations to convert to to division-level:
    Britain
    France
    Austria-Hungary
    Italy
    Ottoman Empire
    Russia

    Rocoteh
     
  11. jimmygeo

    jimmygeo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Well, I played TGW 1.4 for several hours. It's a very detailled and accurate representation of WW1 and looks beautiful. BUT it's still so SLOW both configuring and playing!! It's more a job--a CAREER!--than a game. I got bored waiting for the AI to finish, went off to do something else, and then forgot what I was planning to do in the next turn. I'll stick to Marla_Singer's "July 1914" for WW1 gaming. Thanks, but no thanks.
     
  12. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    jimmygeo,

    I am sorry to hear that, maybe you should
    then test the divisional version when it is ready.

    Ground units reduced with 50%.

    (Britain have now also been converted)

    Best Regards



    Rocoteh


    Download WWI - Global 1.6b (the new version)from:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=1651098#post1651098
     
  13. jimmygeo

    jimmygeo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Thanks for the info, Rocoteh. I will try the divisional version when it comes out. Keep up the development work.

    jimmygeo
     
  14. froglegs

    froglegs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    I downloaded v 1.3 last week and set Switzerland as an active player and turned on the debug mode. I started the game playing as Switzerland because they are neutral and not easily attacked. I wanted to see how the scenario plays without a human opponent.

    Week 31:

    Krakow falls to Russia.
    Coujova falls to Bulgaria.
    19 Italian infantry advance on Strassburg.

    Week 32:

    Gaza falls to Britain.
    Metz falls to France.
    Kosice falls to Russians.
    3 Italian infantry dressed as tourists sneak thru Holland and approach Bremen in full combat formation.

    I stopped the game since it appears to be a total disaster for the Central Powers. Is the AI always this bad for the Central Powers or were they just unlucky?
     
  15. CellKu

    CellKu Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Europe
    Rocoteh, you are fast with converting!!! I am looking forward to that version! :)

    Sarevok, if you need more (and more proper) civilopedia pics, perhaps Rufus T. Firefly could help out. As it seems he is very much into drawing all kinds of graphics from wondersplashs to civilopedia pics. Well, it's just a thought. :)

    Btw, will you update both versions (huge and division) simultaneously?

    CellKu
     
  16. Metacomet

    Metacomet King

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    USA
    The new division level version it will be great for the people with the old computers, thanks a lot Rocoteh and Sarevok. You always thinking in the poor people like myself:goodjob:
     
  17. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    hmm... mabye the AI just didnt do good.
     
  18. froglegs

    froglegs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    The direct question to the scenario creators whom have done an excellent job of researching the historical background of each and every nation involved in The Great War -- Have you all ever done what I did to see exactly what happens for the first few turns of the scenario? This is a direct question to Sarevok and Rocoteh.

    By the way, if you are interested, I have somewhere in my files the exact names of the British capital ships and their placement at the start of the war. I know that you all are aware that the Goben was in the Mediterranean and was followed by the British navy in August 1914. Tuchman devotes a chapter in her Pulitizer Prize book "The Guns of August". It eventually escaped to a Turkish base and altered the balance of naval power in the eastern Med -- but I am sure that you all are aware of this.
     
  19. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  20. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618

    CellKu,

    Thank you.

    Metacomet,

    Thank you.
    I also hope that TGW-DIV shall have a positive response
    since you do not have to deal with so many units each turn.

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     

Share This Page