1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The IceBreaker Mod - dynamic icecaps and ice-breaking vessels!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by Optimizer, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. Optimizer

    Optimizer Sthlm, SWE

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    692
    This mod makes the polar icecaps dynamic. Ice can occasionally grow and disappear, so that arctic passages can be open during one turn and closed during another.

    The ice can be crossed by Workboats and Destroyers, but the high movement cost allows them to move only one tile a turn through ice.

    With Combustion, Workboats and Destroyers will become able to break the ice. This will be useful for opening passages.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    That is such a cool idea - good job!
     
  3. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    awesome!

    edit: message lenghtened to reach 10 letters.
     
  4. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    I definatly like this idea... any known bugs yet?
    *wants to merge it into Composite Mod*
     
  5. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    Incredible idea. Any chance that icebergs can wander a bit as well?
     
  6. Optimizer

    Optimizer Sthlm, SWE

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    692
    I have had some problems with balancing - please tell me if there is too little or too much ice in the endgame.

    I will also try to do land glaciers.
     
  7. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    I will test it when I get home tonight :)
     
  8. tableist

    tableist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Sweet idea, gonna try this out tonight!
     
  9. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I'd love to include this mod in my mod, but it's nigh onto impossible to identify what changes you've made. Whatever editor you're using has just totally messed things up as far as a diff is concerned, introducing a zillion textual changes that have no semantic value.

    Like changing
    Code:
    <UnitClassUpgrades/>
    to
    Like changing
    Code:
    <UnitClassUpgrades>
    </UnitClassUpgrades>
    and apparently encoding the CIV4GameTextInfos.xml into a different encoding.

    Those of us who live and die by diffs are and will be overwhelmed by this problem. If I'm missing something, I'd love to know what it is.

    --Kristine
     
  10. Optimizer

    Optimizer Sthlm, SWE

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    692
    I have used Open XML Editor by Dieter K&#246;hler, mostly because that was the first one I found. Maybe you could suggest another editor?
     
  11. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    :lol: Well, the only editors I use are vi and emacs, so they're probably not real acceptable suggestions, except I did use XMLWriter once to reformat the CIV4UnitInfos.xml file. As delivered from Firaxis, it contains no newlines. And I'm sorry if I came across a little strong. I do like the mod idea and would like to include it.

    --Kristine
     
  12. Zuul

    Zuul Mod lister!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Sweden
    Very nice :).

    What happens if a unit (that cant break them) is on a tile that becomes icecap? Trapped? Dies? Nothing?


    Now if someone made a forrest change mod, lite forest fires and more commonly spread.
    And maybe same for dessert, grassland and other things :).
     
  13. s3d

    s3d Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    236
    I don't think AI will be able to use icebreakers competently. May be all ship should be able break ice after Combastion ?
     
  14. Optimizer

    Optimizer Sthlm, SWE

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    692
    Gotta try that. My guess would be that it would be able to get out if there is an adjacent open sea tile.
     
  15. noid

    noid Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Poland
    just a thought :
    -subs should be able to go under the ice
    -a promotion for naval units that allows them to break the ice (after Combustion ofcourse)
     
  16. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Um this is already possible in the vanilla game :p
     
  17. noid

    noid Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Poland
    never tried it :) sry
     
  18. Optimizer

    Optimizer Sthlm, SWE

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    692
    A new version is coming up, including these changes:

    * Some renamings to avoid confusion and increase realism. Ice (the feature) renamed to "Icecap". Ice (the base terrain) renamed to "Permafrost". Tundra renamed to "Moraine".
    * Icecaps can grow on Permafrost and Moraine.
    * Icecaps are passable by most ships, but the movement cost is high.
    * Icecaps give zero food, production and commerce.
    * Icecaps provide fresh water.
    * Moraine gives 1 production.
     
  19. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    I would recomed that Tundra remain Tundra, Ice on Water becomes "Pack Ice" or "Ice Sheet", Ice on land could be "Glacier".

    A Moraine is a very specific localized feature created from bits of rock a Glacier breaks off and carries with it. At the Glaciers melt point the stones are droped in a pile that grows to become a hill/ridge. I would only call Ice Covered Hills Moraines, is it possible to do that?
     
  20. Optimizer

    Optimizer Sthlm, SWE

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    692
    Maybe till is a better translation of the landform I am referring to. (The Swedish word "mor&#228;n" translates to both "moraine" and "till".) It consists of a mixture of rocks, rough gravel and clay, left from the Pleistocene ice age. Most of this land is covered by forest, because of the low evaporation and the hard labor needed for cultivation.

    The Tundra in Civ 4 is very similar to the land I see outside my window, in a Stockholm suburb. The trees grow tall, but our forefathers had to struggle for centuries to clear away the rocks so they could grow some crops.

    The Ice (land terrain, called Snow in the files) in Civ 4 is much like the real world tundra. You can walk on it, but no trees grow there, even less cereals, due to the permafrost. (I like cloudberries though...) The land is not economically productive at all, unless you find some valuable animals or minerals.

    When the Ice (terrain feature) grows onto land, it becomes like a real world glacier. Only foolish adventurers would try to climb it.
     

Share This Page