1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The King of the World Throne Room

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Neal, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. Coffee Mug

    Coffee Mug Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Welcome back!

    Have you ever played around with the Earth 1000 AD scenario? It's not terribly well thought out, but the Vikings are tons of fun to play (and are definitely behind the 8-ball at the start), especially if you tweak the save to Epic or Marathon speed.
     
  2. Harv

    Harv Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,691
    First of all, welcome back, Neal! I am sure everybody is glad to see you alive and well. There no need to be worried about losing interest in the Lincoln Game.

    Personally I find the Huge Earthmap games to be very exhausting and I seem to remember you mentioning real life every once in a while. I am chronic with never finishing games. As time elapses since the last turnset I find myself less inclined to finish.

    Have you looked at the Earth Challenge? It is on the General Discussion Forum and available in Standard and Huge sizes.

    Here is the Earth Challenge on Huge Size

    Here is the Earth Challenge on Standard Size
     
  3. Pieman

    Pieman Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Where you aren't
    Sweet, it's The Return of the King!
    Personally, I really enjoy Civ V - sure the changes can be disconcerting but I like what they've done with it, at least after all those patches. That being said, I think Neal's following would drop by two-thirds if he took up V so best to stick with IV :p
    A Rhye's game might be cool, though I'm not sure what everyone else feels about that, including Neal. All that said, it's entirely up to him to decide what to do - it's his game series after all
     
  4. dankok8

    dankok8 Elected World Leader

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,215
    Location:
    Canada
    May I suggest playing the next KOTW with the starting locations mod. You load the mod, go to Custom Scenario, load the sr neutral Earth map and you can play with 18 random civs in the world. Makes it more interesting when you don't know who shows up! :)

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=17413

    The mod does not change anything in the game accept it sets the starting locations for every civ.
     
  5. bobbyboy29

    bobbyboy29 I was saying boo-urns...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Welcome back Neal! Your brilliant series and writing style have been sorely missed. I'm really excited for this game. I wouldn't mind seeing a European AW (Greece or Germany?) or maybe a south-east asia start.
     
  6. Sian

    Sian Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,673
    find a map with everyone on and run that, if you haven't done allready ... optional with assorted extra civs from assorted mods
     
  7. WelshGandalf

    WelshGandalf King

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    WB Neal!

    I'm a relatively recent addition to the forum, but I've read most if not all of your KOTW games. They're a fantastic read & would love for you to do more, don't really care if you use the orinigal Earth18, or other Earth maps, or these mods people are suggesting etc.
     
  8. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Hey, neal is back :p

    To be honest I like the idea of running a E1000AD game just to break it out. It is a very interesting scenario especially because you have to get out of the hole in most of the civs. I already runned 2 SGs with it ( Inca and Japan ... first space win ( quite easy IF you push the colonization up and evade a European or Asian invasion ) and the second by conquest ( just start by grabbing China before they can get their act together )...

    So I would sugest maybe the Byzantines ( their UU pwns everything in the game start and Saladin is up for the grab ) or the Arabs ( lots of possibilities of expansion, but also a lot of danger with the Christians all in gangbang on you since game start... and the nice fact of losing cities even before you play :p ). If you want to go more exotic :/ the Khmer or the Koreans ... both start in horrible positions for war and unlike the Inca you can't make it by mindless expansion
     
  9. Camikaze

    Camikaze Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27,234
    Location:
    Sydney
    Good to see you back, Neal. I'd love to see more games by you, for Civ4 or 5. :)
     
  10. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Okay... So I'm closer to a resolution. Everyone's saying either "Civ IV!" or "Either one," so I guess Civ V is out :) I own V, but I never got around to installing and learning it, so it's probably for the best. Then again, I haven't played IV since the abandoned Lincoln game, so I'm thinking I'll do an easier scenario to ease my way back into things. Right now I'm torn between China on Earth18 using the Real Always War mod and try to keep my head above water as the world burns, and tearing it up with some Cataphracts in 1000 A.D.
     
  11. madscientist

    madscientist RPC Supergenius

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,954
    Location:
    New York City
    I think it's easier to get back into the swing of things with the always war mod. Less concern for diplomacy that way.
     
  12. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22,221
    Which is a roundabout sneaky way of saying "Play the Real Always War Mod" dammit!!! :lol:;) (umm.....that would have my vote as well - just in case that didn't go through :D)
     
  13. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,047
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    Well, it obviously has my vote too, as I proposed it :p
    Would be nice to see a game with no diplo involved.
     
  14. Neal

    Neal King of the World

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Grr... Well, it appears that my copies of Civ IV, Warlords, and BtS somehow disappeared between my two moves in the past year and a half (part of the "real life stuff" that got in the way). So things will be delayed by at least a few days while I order up a replacement. The best deal I can seem to find is a UK import for about $8.50. That'll work, right? There's no real difference? I mean, if I should spring the $30 for the U.S. edition, I guess I will, but I don't really see the point...
     
  15. Sian

    Sian Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,673
    i'd guess if you look a bit around you should be able to find a complete box in a bargage bin in a computer shop for 5-10£
     
  16. Fleme

    Fleme Obey the Kitty!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,205
    The UK Edition replaces Spices with Tea and the tech flavor texts for tech discoveries are read by Ian McKellen instead of Nimoy but other than those and a few other minor things such as a few graphics modifications and what have you it should be the same as far as I know.
     
  17. madscientist

    madscientist RPC Supergenius

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,954
    Location:
    New York City
    What!!?? Tea instead of spices!!!! I aint following this!
     
  18. vranasm

    vranasm Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    6,437
    Location:
    Czech Rep.
    I think they are sales on steam too. 30$ looks like a lot of money to me for the game of this age.
     
  19. Gwynnja

    Gwynnja Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    CA
    You were playing 3.19 right? You shouldn't need the disc so long as you didn't delete it from your computer.
     
  20. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Yup, if you have BtS installed just patch it to 3.19 ( if you didn't already ).
     

Share This Page