1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Most Essential Mod Never Developed (Balance of Power) - A PROPOSAL TO MODDERS

Discussion in 'Civ - Ideas & Suggestions' started by Berent Baris, Jun 4, 2020.

1. Berent Baris

Berent Baris Chieftain

In my opinion, the biggest problem of Civ 6 is the horribly incompetent AI. There are many mods that attempt to make the AI better by making it more aggressive, persistent and better at preparing for and waging war. But none of them seem to modify WHO it chooses to go to war with, which is the leading cause of the AI's incompetency.

In power politics (of which I am a student), there is a concept called "balance of power". The theory predicts that states attempt to secure their survival by preventing one state from gaining enough military power to dominate all others. If one state becomes much stronger than the rest, it will take advantage of its weaker neighbors, thereby driving them to unite in a defensive coalition.

In Civ 6, the theory holds true when you are going for a domination victory, as mechanics like warmongering penalties, grievances, and military emergencies unite civilizations against an aggressor.

However, domination is not the only way you can win in Civ 6, and the balance of power theory doesn't hold true for any other victory type. As soon as you surpass the AI in science, culture, religion or diplomacy, you can just cruise to a victory without ever attacking or being attack by a civilization. The AI will just passively watch you win the game and you won't have any competition. It makes the late game extremely unchallenging and tedious.