1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Music Rocks at Civ4.com

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by covenant, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. covenant

    covenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    All I can say is wow. I turned off the music at first, dreading what was to come, but after reading a few posts I clicked the on button, and was in shock.

    I got headaches from hearing the civ 3 music for hours on end :mad: but his was a real treat. :cool:

    Congrats Fraxis. Great job. :king:

    Guy posted over at Apolyton, that the music is civ and ear spefic. So if your interacting with a a civ that has two leaders the music will fit his era and civ style. Also when you zoom into towns it will reflect the civ.

    Its touches like that that make a classic game.
     
  2. spicytimothy

    spicytimothy Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Just wanna point out the Japanese music for Tokugawa Diplomacy Screen is the famous Sakura music! Very culture savvy!

    Now if only they'd fix the Chinese city names...

    Sakura... Sakura...
     
  3. Melendwyr

    Melendwyr God-King of Babylon

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    304
    The music for the Spiral Minaret isn't functional - I keep getting another copy of the Ancient Soundtrack by Cromer.

    It's all good stuff, though.
     
  4. Lucky The Fox

    Lucky The Fox Prince

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Lylat / Finland
    I really dig them too. They give me some kind of nostalgic feel. It's like I was back in the days when I got my first computer.
     
  5. Sepeteus

    Sepeteus Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    I also made the decision to mute the musics from civ3. Although, I wasn't all quite in my room while playing, Winamp is very important when playing civ :)

    I'll remember the leader screens from civ1 and ecspecially the babylonian leader Hammurabi's backround music.. I still can here the drumming in my head :) I'll Hope that I will hear something as nostalgic as that was back in the days from civ4... But if not, there is always my mp3-player! :>
     
  6. Jürgen Hubert

    Jürgen Hubert Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    The music... worries me.

    You see, I always play 4X games in the evening, and hear the news and similar programs on my public radio station.

    But the music in Civ IV seems to be good enough to get me listen to it exclusively - so where am I going to get my news now? ;)
     
  7. Masquerouge

    Masquerouge Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    17,790
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Yeah, good job, especially the remix of the Civ1 intro... memories :)
     
  8. m15a

    m15a Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,471
    i appreciate the references that some of the music makes to other well known music (of different cultures) and that of older civ games. i was thinking about doing some sort of music mod (or suggesting it to the civ community). but if the music is that enjoyable (and supposedly varied) then it might be a while before people get bored enough for it to be worth it.

    i might miss listening to my lord of the rings soundtracks, too. :)
     
  9. Matte979

    Matte979 Jedi Master

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Chicago
    I was wondering isn't the music played when you click media from Colonization?

    I wish they would have made a remix of the fountain of youth song in Colonization.. I just loved that song.
     
  10. Undertaker798

    Undertaker798 I studied on killin' you!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Heck, i like the music so much i have civ4.com on in the backround as i type this!
     
  11. bshock727

    bshock727 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    USA
    The music is indeed pretty nice. I was expecting the worst after the not so good music from Civ 3, but they seem to be going all out on this game.
     
  12. Modifiable

    Modifiable Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    I noticed that too, but it is working today. Make anyone nervous about bugs in the game?
     
  13. QiZhe

    QiZhe Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    That's unrelated. The Sprinal Minaret theme link was just to the wrong file. It's the webmaster's fault, not the developer's fault.
     
  14. Spatzimaus

    Spatzimaus Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,063
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    What's nice is, that "LOADING" when you went to the page for the first time was it downloading the .mp3 into your temporary internet files, so I just copied the four files over to my music directory.

    This implies that the game uses .mp3's in general... which means it should be really easy for people to put their own music collection into the game. Imagine the possibilities! For anything involving the Romans, I might have it use the Gladiator soundtrack. And, of course, I'll put REM's "It's the End of the World As We Know It" on right before I nuke the heck out of someone. (Once upon a time, back in college, I saw an anime music video for that song, with the footage cut from dozens of different anime's where Tokyo was destroyed. Nukes, giant lizards, giant robots, and whatever that big black explosion was in Akira...) And if the same logic extends to Wonder movies, think of what this means for mods.
     

Share This Page