1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The New FFH Models

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by WarKirby, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    If you take a glance at the release notes for the next FFH patch, you'll see quite a few new unique models being added, all of which look great.

    Will we be able to get these models in FF, by simply installing the FFH patch, or do you guys have to do something special to include them? Will they appear in existing games, or would new ones have to be started?
     
  2. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    It depends on how they were added. If no XML was adjusted (they created the new model with the same name and location as the old one) then it will automatically join FF if you install over a FfH version which already had it (at the time of initial installation of FF).

    Very few of the new models fit this requirement though. So the majority require that you manually edit the Art Defines.

    Once incorporated though, they would appear the next time you loaded the game.
     
  3. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    This confuses me. Does this mean I'd have to uninstall and reinstall FF, to get the new art (after installing the FFH patch)?



    Where are these located? What parts would I have to change? Can you give a little more detail, if possible?
     
  4. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    Since installing FF copies all your FfH files to the FF directory first you will get anything that your latest version of FfH had. That would work perfectly if none of the file names changed (so how FF was referencing it stays the same).

    But, as Xienwolf mentioned, all of the new models have changed names so it will take an updated FF patch to change the references.

    The change is in the CIV4ArtDefines_Unit.xml file. Thats what switched form the old model name to the new model name.
     
  5. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Instead of a completely new installation of Fall Further though, you could just copy the Assets/Art folder from FfH2 into FF, then re-apply our latest patch. At initial installation the Art folder SHOULD be comletely empty, since having things loaded into a PAK file means the game loads faster from the desktop.
     
  6. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I've tried using winmerge to merge the artdefines, as instructed elsewhere, but there are so many differences, and quite a few places where things are simply in a different order, it's a nightmare trying to dig through it all.

    I seem to have finally gotten one of the models working. Now to just repeat that 99999999999 times for all the new ones. I exaggerate a little, but it's a bit much to expect everyone to do this.

    Can we expect a new FF patch to update the artdefines soon?
     
  7. Vehem

    Vehem Modmod Monkey

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    Aye - it'd be a bit much for everyone to do it. Would really only require it to be done once and then included in the patch. If you have done so and have an ArtDefines that includes all the changes - please post it and I'll be very happy to use that :D

    Otherwise, it's basically going to be a case of doing the same thing ourselves - which as you mentioned might take a little while. It is due to be done, but we're currently mostly looking at making the game "smarter and faster" rather than "prettier" (though I do like the look of the new models a lot).
     
  8. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I started on doing it myself, but hit a few stumbling blocks.

    Just replacing some of the existing units, was working fine. I got chalid, donal, etc, working. But some of the new models didn't have a unique entry in the FF artdefine. Specifically, the new bannor champion, and the mercurian Ophanim. I tried copying in the new parts in the art define, but the default model still shows ingame.
     
  9. Black Whole

    Black Whole Dancing Condor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Theatre of Dreams
    Here are the files. I started it last evening without knowing that someone was trying to do it already.
    The problem with the Ophanim was this: In the UnitInfos.xml it is said that the game should take the graphics from art_def_war_chariot. This should be art_def_ophanim.
    I am not sure whether I got every unit, but the most are in. Just replace the old files with those in the rar.
    IMPORTANT NOTE: It is necessary, that you have applied patch z to Fall from Heaven 2, before installing the core Fall Further modmod! Otherwise it couldn't work!
     

    Attached Files:

    • ffh.rar
      File size:
      77.8 KB
      Views:
      71
  10. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    yaay!

    (^_^)
     
  11. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Hey Black Whole, I installed this and had a look. Seems all the units are there, great.. But the buildings aren't.


    Don't suppose you care to do those too?

     
  12. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ok, nevermind, I'm doing the buildings.
     
  13. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ok, here we go.

    It's just one file. Was simpler than I thought. IT goes in Assets/XML/Art
     

    Attached Files:

  14. zup

    zup Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,238
    So I just copy these over the FF050 files or am I missing something?
     
  15. zup

    zup Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,238
    This double post brought to you by the letter W, T and F...
     
  16. Vehem

    Vehem Modmod Monkey

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    I love this community :D

    Thanks guys :goodjob:
     
  17. Black Whole

    Black Whole Dancing Condor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Theatre of Dreams
    Very good! It was getting late yesterday, so I didn't manage to include the buildings too... (The problem with the Ophanim took over an hour until I found the solution ;) )

    Yup, it's that easy. Just find the location of the files in the XML directory and replace them with the new ones.
     
  18. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    This community loves you too :D
     
  19. Jhoniten

    Jhoniten Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Vehem might want to consider linking these files in the main download thread.
     
  20. Kalimakhus

    Kalimakhus Emperor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249
    @Black Whole & WarKirby

    Thanks a lot guys. The attached file just combines your files in patch format so for those who don't know where the files should go and are too lazy to search the folders they can extract this into the mods folder (where FF is installed).:D
     

Share This Page