1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Nobles' Club Bullpen: Second Cycle

The Nobles' Club Bullpen: Second Cycle

  1. Framesticker

    Framesticker Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Israel
    They something like Archers at Emperor, Worker at Immortal and Settler at Deity or something like that.
     
  2. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    The level of difficulty you pick when you start the game decides the number of units the AI gets when it starts, as well as its other advantages like increased tech and production rates. The techs in the WBsave file determine what those units are.
     
  3. happyturtle

    happyturtle Mrs GrumpyOldCivver

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    860
    Okay, so if someone starts a new scenario off the world builder save, the units are generated then?
     
  4. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    If the WBsave has no units for a particular civilization, they get created at that civ's starting location. If a civ has any units at all in the WBsave, those are the only ones it gets.
     
  5. happyturtle

    happyturtle Mrs GrumpyOldCivver

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    860
    Ah, so I should delete the units then?
     
  6. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    I'm not sure I understand what you're asking. To use the NC WB save files, just unpack the .zip file, select one of the 4 saves (Noble, Monarch, Immortal, or Deity), select your difficulty and speed levels, then play.
     
  7. happyturtle

    happyturtle Mrs GrumpyOldCivver

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    860
    I'm trying to build WB save files for a new map.
     
  8. Siran

    Siran Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Karlsruhe, Germany
    May you should try elaborating what you are trying to do and what exactly your question is. Nobody knows why you think you have to delete any units...
     
  9. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    I though I told him why: You delete the initial units for the AI civ if you want it to get the right units for the difficulty level people choose when they start the scenario. Otherwise they get just the units in the WB save file.
     
  10. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    NC 57 Joao is up.

    One alternative I considered specifically because of Joao (but rejected) was to add an extra AI in the new world and make it a minor nation. I'm not sure how big a change this makes to how the "barbarians" behave -- I'd appreciate someone's explaining -- but I'm nearly certain it means Joao's IMP trait "works". That is, he'd get 100% Great General emergence against the inhabitants of the new world.

    Does anyone want to try that version instead of the one I posted? If so, should that be some separate non-NC thread?
     
  11. drlake

    drlake Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,247
    Location:
    Plattsburgh, NY
    I'm not playing much these days, but I'd give it a try. I recommend separate threads.
     
  12. Amao

    Amao King

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    Shanghai
    How about add 2-3 Normal AIs on the new worlds? Maybe 3 peace techers? ;)
     
  13. millahnna

    millahnna Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    PDX
    So I know someone already uploaded a zip of all of round one. But since I did this for myself, I figured I'd upload it in case someone found it useful. You see, I'm super anal retentive about how files sort in my directories. Since I started doing Noble's Club at the end and worked my way backwards, I got used to the NC ## naming convention and the renamed the earlier files accordingly as I downloaded them. I also took all single files (before each download included multiple WB saves) and pulled them out of individual rars so they were solo.

    So when you extract this to a folder and sort by name, they will be in the order they were posted. You'll know which games came with multiple levels of WB saves because they are still in an archive and not standing solo in the directory.

    Of course anyone as anal as me probably already did something like this for themselves. But just in case, merry frelling christmas. :D

    Archive is 7zip, it's free, go get it.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. CHEESE!

    CHEESE! On a long nostalgia trip

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Care to update the OP?
     
  15. cripp7

    cripp7 Playin' Bored

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Fantasyland
    Thanks:goodjob: Could you be super anal retentive on the other games like Lonely Hearts Club and Monarch Student(which has a Continued Monarch Student also) games
     
  16. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    :blush: Done. Also moved the list of last round's leaders to the end, which makes editing this round's stuff a lot easier.
     
  17. millahnna

    millahnna Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    PDX
    Yeah I can probably do that. I don't play those much though so I may not upkeep it with every new addition. But I guess that's easy to do yourself once all the backlog is handled. I'll go add the threads to my subscription list so I can work on it when I'm done bashing my head against this thing on Wikipedia. Should I add my NC zip to the round one thread?
     
  18. cripp7

    cripp7 Playin' Bored

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Fantasyland
    That would be good too, just incase someone is looking at that thread. Also put it in the Sample Game Directory
     
  19. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    So far this round we've exercised traits Cre, Exp, Fin, Imp, which to me means the next couple ought to involve some combination of Agg, Cha, Ind, Org, Phi, Pro, and Spi. I'm considering Boudicca (Agg/Cha) on a Global Highlands map; this has lots of hills, but isn't all land like Highlands. Any other suggestions? Relatively few people played Joao, which I assume is at least partly (maybe mostly) the immanent release of Civ 5, so there's relatively few of us to comment.
     
  20. i_imperator

    i_imperator Imperator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    957
    Location:
    Ireland
    I played Joao (Great map Bdw) but i decided not to show it online because of the few people who played that map. I've never played Global Highlands before, or as boudicca, so i'd like to see that.
     

Share This Page