1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The "OMG! Look what happened!" Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by ZachScape, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. flaming_iles

    flaming_iles Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    260
    And England have Infantry too!
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,581
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    That's ... unfortunate :D
     
  3. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    Can anyone make a modmod with Nouvelle Orléans renaming if captured by Russia? :p

    Corovanrobber, do I see two Incan cities west of the Andes and do is the Boston-hill a flatland now or do I need some new glasses?
     
  4. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    Should rename to Novy Orlean I suppose... to keep it consistent with other American cities' transliterations, otherwise Novyj Orlean.

    Also, yes, you do.
     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,581
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Does that mean Rhye has changed the map as well?
     
  6. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    Weird. Auto-rolled an American start and I got Russian New Orleans too. :eek:

    On the other hand, they also had Nidaros and Uppsala, but left northern Finland empty. It was thrilling to see them so far in the west.
     
  7. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    @ Corovanrobber or any other who knows Russian:

    Could you make a list of American cities (maybe other cities that are missing) renamed into Russian so I can edit it into the Citynamemanager.py? Then make a new thread out of it.

    I could then upload the updated citynamemanager file.

    I think I wouldn't be the only one who'd like that.
     
  8. Wessel V1

    Wessel V1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417
    Location:
    Nijmegen
    What about a Japanese Mongolia? The replay confirms that the Mongolians succesfully invaded Japan, Japan collapsed afterwards.

    Also included: Vikings that conquer Bordeaux and settle Copenhagen. Although that probably won't be OMG anymore.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    I guess they forfaited after failing their first UHV... :lol:
     
  10. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,878
    So, this time the Kamikaze didn't destroy Kublai's fleet?
     
  11. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
  12. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,878
  13. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    I'm actually thinking of providing Cyrillic and Katakana renames for the whole map someday (also Hangul, but there is no Korean civ unfortunately ;)). Would add some flavour.
     
  14. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    Actually, I meant Romanized Russian so I can read it.
     
  15. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    Remember to rename 'Spalatum' to 'Spalatvm' while at it.
     
  16. MessageMan

    MessageMan Prince

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    For the second image, Babylon had just respawned, so maybe that had something to do with it?

    I also have an American start where the French have collapsed and the Dutch own Paris though I don't know if that's all too uncommon. In addition it contains an Independent India which looks to have collapsed a long time ago, since only Kandahar, Delhi, Patliputra, and Mumbai exist.
     
  17. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    is this with yesterday's patch?
     
  18. MessageMan

    MessageMan Prince

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    No. I haven't updated to the new patch yet, and the game which I got the screenshots from was finished about a week ago.
     
  19. Conqueror500

    Conqueror500 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Rome pushed France off to England! (New patch)

    Edit:Next turn there were pushed back to France.

    Edit 2: 9 ottoman cities in Mexico and a few American states.

    (I have noticed the Caribbean islands usually get settled now so that is not a OMG.)
    Portuguese Canada.
    Arabian Indonesia(In the newest pictures you can see that only Spain is christian everyone else is Buddhist or Islamic)
     
  20. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    That's exactly what I mean.
    Like New York -> Нью-Йорк -> N'yu-York
     

Share This Page