1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

the poles!

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Strategy & Tips' started by VanillaCube, Dec 8, 2000.

  1. VanillaCube

    VanillaCube Your local Schizophrenic

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    678
    Location:
    Half a mile from the Spruce Goose.
    one thing I think is a good Idea to do in the later half of the game is to send a transport with a partasin unit to the north and south pole because you can always find 3-5 villages on each pole and the AI never gets them
    also barbarians that come out off those huts for some reason just disapear and not attack so you will usualy get money
    but once I had a city at the north pole because It had some whales near it! and it was never attacked!
    but in conclusion the north and south poles in civ usualy have many huts for fast moving units (explorers,partisons,and alpine troops)

    ------------------
    my words of wisdom

    1.Square meals often make round people.
    2.You Cant Argue With Stupitity!
    3.an Eye for and Eye(and while your at it take 2)
    4.visit my site at http://grworld.com/vanillacubesgames/Vanillacubesgammingtips.html
     
  2. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,210
    Gender:
    Male
    I usually do that very early, before 0 AD. Just drop a horseman to the north/south pole and let him live in the cold.
     
  3. drake

    drake Bring it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,092
    Location:
    Land of the M*******s
    It's easier just to send a naval unit along the bottom. Much quicker. Do the whole pole 3 times faster this way most likely. It can serve as an escape route from barbarians as an extra....

    Hats off to the explorers, who search for the "buried treasure" of the civ world.<IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/smile.gif" border=0>

    [This message has been edited by drake (edited December 11, 2000).]
     
  4. SlowwHand

    SlowwHand King

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2000
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Having some cities on the poles allow you to "appear" at several spots undetected also. Apart from your mainland.

    ------------------
    It's In The Way That You Use It
     
  5. ShakaZulu

    ShakaZulu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Augusta, GA, USA
    Something that I hava done (and it has been very successful) is to build a city on the poles. I then used that city to build only one kind of unit (usually naval). You get a steady flow of naval units to replace ones that might have been destroyed or build up your navy.
     
  6. SpacemanSpiff

    SpacemanSpiff Rational Spiritualist

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    252
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD, USA, N.Am, Earth,...
    Thanks for the tip, VC!

    I usually do this as early as possible ... in fact, total conquest of all huts is usually my 1st Civ goal ... makes me feel invincible for the rest of the game! I usually do poles with a Triemermremerme and any land unit I can spare (usually a Horseman or Chariot brrr!) because I'm WAAAY too paranoid that someone else will get my loot first ... as if the AI is smart enough to do that! !duh!

    Spiff <IMG SRC="http://forums.civfanatics.com/ubb/scan.gif" border=0>

    [This message has been edited by SpacemanSpiff (edited January 06, 2001).]
     
  7. Cunobelin Of Hippo

    Cunobelin Of Hippo Site Pachyderm

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    2,087
    Location:
    The muddy shallows
    In a recent game I was playing I sent a trireme with two horsemen over to Africa from South America in about 2000 BC and went looking for huts. Not only did I get way ahead in tech, but I also built up a large enough army to wipe out the Greeks! Then all their cities became trading outposts for my far east friends, and I won the space race with ease. Goody huts can be really useful.

    ------------------
    Consider a career in Hippo Taming.
     
  8. LordOfTheMorning

    LordOfTheMorning Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    D/FW, Texas, USA
    Don't the goody huts stop giving you tech after a certain point? The best tech I have ever been able to get from a hut (and I do the save-and-retry tactic for all huts) was Invention. Is that the top limit?

    ------------------
    "I would not mind you in my head" said Lews Therin, "if you were not so clearly mad."
     
  9. vladmir_illych_lenin

    vladmir_illych_lenin King

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Civ Fanatics
    Save reload is cheap.
     
  10. VanillaCube

    VanillaCube Your local Schizophrenic

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    678
    Location:
    Half a mile from the Spruce Goose.
    yea your pathetic if you always use save reload

    ------------------
    The people in my cool book
    1.travin
    2.Thunderfall
    3.Stellar
    4.SunTzu
    5.Håkan
    6.scorch
    7.vladmir_illych_lenin
     
  11. LordOfTheMorning

    LordOfTheMorning Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    D/FW, Texas, USA
    Then I guess I'm pathetic because I like that technique. I always turn my barbarians off too!

    ------------------
    "I would not mind you in my head" said Lews Therin, "if you were not so clearly mad."
     
  12. Loaf Warden

    Loaf Warden (no party affiliation)

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,972
    Location:
    Alaska Grown, currently Outside
    I only use the save/reload technique if I know I *don't* want a city right there. Then if I get a city after marching into the hut, I reload. Otherwise, I accept whatever happens. If I don't care whether I get a city there or not, I don't bother with it; I just mosey on in.
     
  13. Loaf Warden

    Loaf Warden (no party affiliation)

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,972
    Location:
    Alaska Grown, currently Outside
    Actually, come to think of it, I don't even do that anymore. I have since learned that if I end up with a city where I don't want one, I can just knock 'em down to a 1 population, rush-build a Settler, and send it into my country proper to either do manual labor on roads and whatnot, or found a new city where I do want one. I prefer that technique now.
     
  14. LordOfTheMorning

    LordOfTheMorning Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    D/FW, Texas, USA
    I very rarely am aiming to get a city... I'm usually trying for tech or money. I dislike the barbarians and get really annoyed at the "Weeds grow in empty ruins."

    ------------------
    "I would not mind you in my head" said Lews Therin, "if you were not so clearly mad."
     

Share This Page