The Sims 2 | "Nehru" Legacy Challenge (Reader Participation Welcome)

Smellincoffee

Trekkie At Large
I've been playing The Sims 2 ever since its release in 2004, but I've never completed a 'legacy challenge', in which I play a given family through ten generations. There are lots of rules for scoring and so on (this many points added for sims who die happy, so many points taken away for Sims who pass out into their spaghetti, etc), but I'll not be keeping track of all the little victories and failures. That's tedious. The challenge will be to stay interested in this family alone for ten generations, and so I'm going to open parts of it up to readers -- particularly in naming kids.

First, let's meet our Founding Father, Hieronymous Nehru. Hiero, or "Harry", is a Knowledge sim who is active, neat, and nice. His heart's desire is to be a City Planner, but for the moment he's a scientist. Knowledge sims are obsessive about wanting to learn skills, and are eager to try being abducted by aliens, turned into a witch or vampire, and saved from death. Hiero is also a Fortune sim, meaning he'll want a constant barrage of increasingly nice things.

The rules for Legacy challenges require the founder to buy a 5x5 plot of land, which leaves him or her with only a little over $4000 to spend on furniture and such. Rather than wasting money trying to build a home I don't have the means to complete, I build a little shower/toilet room and let Hiero be an outdoorsman.

Meet the neighbors, doubtless curious about who might've left a storage shed and a bunch of furniture sitting out in the middle of an open field.

Study faster, Hiero. The sooner you get promoted, the sooner you don't have to sleep in the snow.

Hiero's social life.

When not at work or chatting on CFC, Hiero works on his skills so he can manage to make pop-tarts without setting fire to his..er, field.

Eh...blue!

Nice going, Hiero. You're not poor enough.