1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Sword of Islam: RFC Medieval Middle East

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall: The Sword of Islam' started by embryodead, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,212
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Probably all national wonders should be removed upon flip and spawn
    It's for a new civ after all, getting a prebuild national wonder sounds strange for me
     
  2. Tyo

    Tyo HANDS HIGH TO THE SOUND Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4,131
    Question: What does the Roman Emperor title do?
     
  3. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Prevents the holder's civ from collapsing due to instability.
    All of the titles are explained in the in-game civilopedia.
     
  4. Tyo

    Tyo HANDS HIGH TO THE SOUND Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4,131
    Ohhhh Okay. I see, thanks.
     
  5. incognet

    incognet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    The asscrack of America
    Hello everyone. I've been away from the forum (and my PC) for several months; the new version of SOI is quite impressive, and I've enjoyed (most of) the changes. However, I have noticed one possible bug/glitch (related to holy cities):

    ~Playing as Ajmer, I notice that Dwarka (hindu holy city) loses the holy city tag sometime after 1170 AD. It is controlled by Gujarat.

    Is this a scripted event? It's especially annoying, as I planned to invade Gujarat after 1200 AD, and build the hindu shrine (which the AI has yet to construct!!)
     
  6. dragodon64

    dragodon64 Noble

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    870
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    Did you remove Hinduism from a city via worldbuilder? Doing so removes the holy city tag from the holy city of the religion you just removed.
     
  7. The Turk

    The Turk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,186
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Ya, I was about to say the same thing.

    Also Embryodead, are you still working on the mod? I still have quite a few suggestions, if you are up to improving the mod further.
     
  8. incognet

    incognet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    The asscrack of America
    Nope, I didn't. I did, however, open world-builder & re-apply the holy city tag to Dwarka once I noticed that it had disappeared.

    edit: no need to reply, I probably did something boneheaded (and cannot remember).
     
  9. 2phunkey4u

    2phunkey4u West-Eastern Divan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    way out west
    Of all the minors around, the Zengids could be fun to play. J.Pride stated he'd think of a couple of UHV goals - and here are my ideas.

    UU: Iqta'dar - superior Horse Archer with 7 str + starts with Flanking II
    UP: Power of Coalitions - easier to convince other factions to join a war

    UHV1: Conquer or vassalize Egypt by 1250
    UHV2: Do not allow any non-Muslim states in Egypt, Levant and Cicilia in 1291
    UHV3: Never lose a city to barbarians until 1400.

    What do you think?
     
  10. The Turk

    The Turk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,186
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    You know what, for the first time, I think you've actually might have convinced me that the Zengids would be fun to play as :) I agree, but perhaps UHV3 should be brought down to 1350? What do you think? I just think that 1400 is a bit late IMO.

    BUT... this should only be applied if the Human is playing. So perhaps the AI gets to keep their UU and UP, but the AI should still get the units and be easily vassalized. So essentially AI Zengids would play the same, but Human Zengid player would get the UHV and no help from a large stack of units.
     
  11. Opera

    Opera Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    I like the UP, could be quite interesting.

    What do you mean "easily vassalized"?
     
  12. The Turk

    The Turk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,186
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Currently the AI Zengids vassalize to the Seljuks or Abbasids, due to their historical attachment. So I'm saying that should continue, but the Human Zengids should not be so cozy with the Seljuks/Abbasids, but still hold good relationships.
     
  13. Opera

    Opera Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Is that enforced or just coincidental?
     
  14. The Turk

    The Turk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,186
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    They are more likely to become a vassal. But its not 100%, like everything in the game.
     
  15. J. pride

    J. pride Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    2phunkey4u:Those UHVs are on-point and and imo dont need any changes; they sound challanging and fun. Nice Job!

    Ive always wanted to play to play a civ based in the Levant (other than the crusaders). The Zengids will be fun because u dont start out as strong as the Ayyubids but have to accomplish the same things. Very challanging but imo possible if u play ur card right.
     
  16. incognet

    incognet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    The asscrack of America
    Hi all... I'm currently playing as the Byzantines, but the "greek fire" quest seems bugged/broken. I've fufilled the requirements, and built 6 war galleys. I have not researched any techs that "advance to mongol invasion era". The quest still appears in my event log. Is there some other time limit, or criteria for this quest that I am not aware of? I've tried loading earlier saves... and building more than 6 war galleys (all in on turn), or building *exactly* six war galleys. Nothing works :(


    edit: I successfully completed this quest in an earlier game (unknown version) around 1000 ad. In my current game, I postponed building the requisite war galleys until much later (re: 1200 ad)... but the quest is still 'active' !!
     
  17. ElCommandante

    ElCommandante Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Given that the Byzantine military was known for using horse archers, would it be more accurate to give them the Horse Archer line instead of the horsemen line?
     
  18. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Yeah, that has always puzzled me.

    From wiki:
    Again on the Komnenian army:
    Maybe the intent was to have the player hire more mercenary horse archers from the local tribes (which was true). But then it seems that the Byzantines used their own specific horse archers (differently armored) as well.
     
  19. The Turk

    The Turk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,186
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Edead,

    I'm very happy you made these changes, but out of curiosity,why the sudden change of heart when it comes to adding the camel resource (something which you did not want to add earlier), and making the pig resource unusable for Muslim civs. By the way, when you mean "unusable" do you mean that they don't get a bonus from them?

    Also I suggest that camels should also give one commerce as well, considering how vital they were for trade routes, especially in the Arabian peninsula, but really across the region.

    PS. Shouldn't there be at least one source of camels in India, most likely in the Punjab/Sindh area?
     
  20. embryodead

    embryodead Caliph

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    basement
    Because 1) Stolenrays made a real camel resource and 2) I figured I can use it as Food bonus, not Strategic one (it's practically only Food, since Yemen is always going to have access to Camels). With Pigs I was always for it, just couldn't find a simple way to do it.

    Just build a caravan ;)

    1. India has enough Food resources
    2. They were brought from the Middle East after the spread of Islam i.e. you can trade them

    On another note: sorry all, I see there's many old posts I still didn't quite reply :(
     

Share This Page