1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The VEM Question Thread

Discussion in 'Strategy Forum' started by EsoEs, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. EsoEs

    EsoEs Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Ask and be answered! All of your random VEM needs can be posted here in this thread, questions about mechanics, policy effects, etc.

    My first question:

    Does a medic increase the healing rate of air units stationed in the same city as the medic, or does he need to be on an adjacent tile for the effet to occur?
     
  2. tlaurila

    tlaurila Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    I thought medic now does heal himself, too, so in that sense the effect extends to the tile of the unit. Don't know what happens with air units, though, but if they're healed in the adjacent square, logic would dictate they are also healed in the square of the medic.
     
  3. EsoEs

    EsoEs Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Cool thx, whats next? :p
     
  4. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Medics heal all units within one tile, including the tile the medic is stationed on. This is most commonly important with the Khan.
     
  5. Tids

    Tids Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Is this done whether or not the surrounding units have moved?
     
  6. EsoEs

    EsoEs Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    If you want any unit to heal you cannot move it. If you move a unit, it cannot begin healing until your next turn. Although if Im not mistaken, units with a march promotion will receive a bonus from medics.. could be wrong about that tho :p
     
  7. tlaurila

    tlaurila Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    Yeah, medics work with march.
     
  8. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Medic simply increases the normal heal rate. Healing requires the unit to perform no action during its turn (March removes that requirement).
     
  9. Toddy

    Toddy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    A silly question, but playing the GOTM #2 I noticed, has the building of great person improvements always been limited to only strategic resources if you want to receive that resource?

    For example, I build a manufactory on coal, and I'm able to use this. Build it on marble, and I don't receive it.
     
  10. Seek

    Seek Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,410
    @Toddy - It's been strategics only for a few months. Previously it was a combination of strategic and luxury resources depending on the great person type.
     
  11. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    I changed it to only strategics to more closely match a vanilla change done in June, IIRC. The logic behind Firaxis doing so was strategics are the only resource type revealed by techs, so we could accidentally place a Great Improvement atop an unrevealed strategic, and therefore not be able to access it.
     
  12. Toddy

    Toddy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks both, makes sense.

    Just wish I noticed before I put that scientist on the marble.
     
  13. EsoEs

    EsoEs Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Can Great People be generated in puppet cities?
     
  14. Seek

    Seek Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,410
    Yes. The UI is bugged (last I checked anyway) so you won't see the puppet employing specialists but they do, and will sometimes unexpectedly generate a GM.
     
  15. Jorlem

    Jorlem Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Is the "Extra Diplomacy Text" mentioned in the 114 changelog in any way related to this mod?
     
  16. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, that is one of the mods part of the CiVUP package.
     
  17. Jorlem

    Jorlem Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Ah, ok, thanks. I hadn't seen any mention of it being included in the mod's thread, and I had overlooked it on the list of CiVUP component mods, so I wasn't sure. I see it there now though. Sorry about that.
     
  18. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
  19. Tids

    Tids Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hey i was wondering if a map script is used, such as PerfectWorld3, is the distribution of resources used in VEM still applied?
     
  20. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    It depends on the script. An easy way to check is:

    1. Start a game.
    2. Open the tuner's "Active Player" tab.
    3. Click "Modern Era Techs."
    This reveals the map and all resources. If it uses VEM's resource distribution there should be a variety of resource deposit sizes, while vanilla uses only 2 sizes per resource (Iron deposits are always size 2 or size 6, for example).
     

Share This Page