The Welcome Center

peter grimes

Retired Moderator
Greetings!

Let's use this thread to get to know eachother a little bit. Feel free to post as much or as little as you like :)

I'll start us off:
My user name is my real name. I live in New York City, which has been great so far. But with 20% of the city's income derived from the financial services sector, it may not be a great place to be for the next few years :(

I'm a woodworker / furniture maker for a theatre. Mostly it's pretty mundane stuff - make a chair stronger, change the dimensions of a table top, build mock-ups for the actors to rehearse with, &cet. Every now and then there's something interesting to work on, like a mechanical effect or a custom built piece of furniture.

I've been in all 3 previous MTDGs. In the first, I was on MIA. Chamnix was on our team, and I'm pretty sure he was the single reason we won. You can read all of our team's private posts here. In the next civ3 MTDG, which is currently going on, I'm on The Council. The forums have not been unlocked yet. But you're welcome to join The Council or any of the other remaining teams (team Gong is dead :salute:) by posting here. In the last (and first :crazyeye:) cIV MTDG, I was on Epsilon Team. But then I switched to Piffle because there was nobody around to play their save. You can read all of those teams' forums here.

I am not a great cIV player, and I've never played BtS. I will be getting the game soon, though. But my MTDG experience has taught me that far and away the most important thing is not playing the save perfectly, but perfect Diplomacy. Good Diplomacy in this game can take a weak position and leverage it into a strong one. Strong Alliances are the only way to win. Even if it is decided that Domination is the way to go, you have to keep 3 teams from ganging up on you while you pummel the 4th.

Epsilon did the unthinkable - they won a Diplomatic Victory in a multiplayer environment. :eek:

Spoiler TEAM 5 ROSTER: :

Domino369