1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Wheel of Time - C3C FULL mod

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by alerum68, May 3, 2004.

?

What do you want from a WoT MOD?

  1. Staying True to the Book

    61 vote(s)
    38.1%
  2. Game Play

    80 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. JUST PUT IT OUT QUICKLY!!!

    19 vote(s)
    11.9%
  1. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    This thread is for the disccusion of the upcoming Wheel of Time MOD. Anyone and everyone that is willing can help out, so if you're interested, post your ideas, units, tribes, whatever, and we'll try and work it into the MOD.

    Here are the orignal threads by Cam that has some really good ideas already:

    Giga MAP post
    Unit Request post

    And here is the final map the Cam has made. This is the one that will be used in the mod.

    If anyone knows any good links, post, or anything that would help out in this project PM me, and I'll put a link up here to it.

    We're going to try and make a fully modded WoT game, with UUs for each of the nations, (including even the Seanchan and Darkfriends), as well as techs, nations, and of course MAPS!! (Thanks Cam!:))

    Check back often as we'll be posting regular updates as well as ideas for the game here... Now, before you ask when will it be ready, let me paraphrase Robert Jordan, ..."I pledge, I swear unconditionally, that this mod will be out on the shelves, very shortly after we finish writing it." ;) The good news is that Cam has already started on the Maps and has them at the link above.;) Enjoy his GIGA!! size map of Randland.
     
  2. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    Questions for the group:

    Whould should rule Amadcia? The King or The Whitecloaks? I have it as the Whitecloaks now.
    Also, I've ran into a slight snag with not having enough city names. Should I keep using city names that are in the book, (I'm using peoples names form those countries as well, when I'm not using them for military/sci leaders), or should I start making up name to fill out city list to at least 20 cities?
     
  3. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Your going to have to make up a few city names. That was always my concern about making a mod of this. Not enough cities to go around. Names of leaders shouldn't be too hard. You only need one for each (military/science).

    I think the Whitecloaks should rule Amadcia since the true king is in control as long as he does not go against the wishes of the Whitecloaks.
     
  4. the mormegil

    the mormegil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    Yeah names of stuff could be big problem.

    If this is just a mod then it doesn't really matter who controls Amadicia does it? Or are you making a scenario with it aswell?
     
  5. CamJH

    CamJH Uncle Cam

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I'm in agreement with tjedge1 about the Whitecloaks ruling in Amadicia. I always like having the Children as their own nation when playing with (against) them in a game.

    I wouldn't worry about the names too much of leaders, if one is all we got... one is all we need. As for city names, you could always give Robert Jordan a shout-out and see if he could throw some more your way. ;)
     
  6. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    mm hum... He'll put them all in the same chapter as the one when he tells us who killed Asemodaen. I'm going with the Whitecloaks because I already found a leaderhead for them.:p

    And we're not sure if we should have it be a MOD or a scenario yet. So far it seems like it's going to be a scenario, but who knows...
     
  7. the mormegil

    the mormegil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    Before you make the scenario, you'll need a mod won't you? Then build a scenario with the mod?

    If you do then first you should set up a plan of what you're going to edit. Then discuss each part here in turn. Work through the tabs in the editor.

    Well, that's if you want to do it in a Lord of the Modders style. :)
     
  8. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    That's about what I'm doing now... I've gotten flavors, eras, goverments set up. Right now I'm setting up the tribes. The only question we're not sure about yet is if we should place the cities, or let the player build the cities... So far it'll probably be us placing the cities, but if we do that I think I may want to disable or remove settler units... some people don't like that, and truthfully if we built the cities we'd build it more towards the series, so placement would be pretty bad for the player.

    As for *WHAT* is going to be edited... Everything is going to be.;) I even want to remake basic units such as Pikeman, and workers.... unit graphics, that would fit into the WoT theme are badly needed... I'll accept any unit that can POSSIBLY be added to the game... Most of the units I've found don't fit in very well I'm afraid.:(
     
  9. the mormegil

    the mormegil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    I think you should disallow settlers to make it more real, it might mean you need to use a smaller map so gaps between nations aren't as big.

    If you're commited to making this mod then I'd advise deleting ALL Civ3 units and the like and starting from scratch. It's more work but it will be more real and probably more fun.

    EDIT: You can start a WoT unit graphics request thread for all units you don't have but want.
     
  10. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Don't know for sure, but I think the Golem got him. That would be my geuss.
     
  11. CamJH

    CamJH Uncle Cam

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    St. Louis
    smaller maps huh?

    Ok then I'll throw this question out there. The map I'm putting together is the global map including the realms of Seanchan, the Land of Madman, Shara, and everything else. So what size would you suggest? I had invisioned giga map (256*256) since it is the whole globe and since there are so many nations to include. But the last giga map I created was followed up with plenty of requests fo the same map in smaller versions (due to size and length of time inbetween turns). So what are your (everyone's) thoughts?

    I'll attach a picture of the map I'm working with to give you all an idea, but I'm sure you've all probably seen it before.
    _____
    p.s. if anyone's concerned I'm knocking out basically all of the icecaps, so don't worry :)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    Already going to delete all the IA, and MA units in the game... most of he AA units are going to go too. Would you be willing to sending links to this thread of cool units you think could be used in this mod, mormegil? That would be helpful, especially if we take your suggestion and do wipe all units from the game.

    I don't think we should add Shara, and The Land of Madmen... we really don't know what is there yet.... Also, we need to make alot of the land between Seanchan and Their Blight mountians.... this will make sure that neither one of them would get out of hand with growth, and to provide a buffer between sending units at each other, to represent the fact that the Seanchan killed most of the Shadowspawn on their part of the world.

    I have a total of 20 civs. A huge map produces 15 civs in the list. Most of the civs will have 20 cities, and so I think huge should be plenty. I'm not sure if large would be able to keep the Seanchan and Randland isolated enough. I really don't want them to met until late in the game.... so I vote for huge, and dropping Shara and Land of Mademen as well as making Randland somewhat larger then it should be to make up for the fact that all the civs will be in that general area... Seanchan shouldn't be as large as the map, or we'll waste alot of space on 1 1/2 civs.... should probably shorten those "fingers" of land between Seanchan and The Blight, and make it somewhat more narrow as well.... Randland should be almost the same size as Shara and normal Randland combined I'd think... I mean it's going to hold 15 of the civs, with The Seanchan contient having the Seanchan and Shadowspawn on it. Should we make the seafolk a bunch of 1 tile island cities? If we do that, we may want to think about giving them a tech that makes coastal tiles give you +1 shields, with whales giving you +3.... or another resource to replace whales.

    EDIT: There is no way I'm going to be able ot get 20 cities for each civ... We better drop it down to Large.... that will give us more then enough room... we can go for huge still though, and keep the feel of the "largeness" of RJs world in mind... plus, down the road, size shouldn't matter.;)

    Also... anyway we could get Waygates?
     
  13. CamJH

    CamJH Uncle Cam

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    St. Louis
    one way to get waygates would be to set them up as airfields (with modified graphics), then set up ogiers to guard them to make sure they don't get runover. just a thought. i used to do something similar before i found out that the re-base ability worked for foot units, then i just started using that + airdrop as "traveling" and waygates kinda got left on the wayside. waygates would be nice to have though for "non-magical" units that can't travel.
     
  14. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    Anyone have a good idea for a name of the type of Goverment the Shadowspawn will have?
     
  15. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Dark Theocracy
    Fascism
    Absolutionism
    Chaos

    Any of those sound good?
     
  16. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I personally prefer giga maps myself, but then I love long games. If it needs to be downsized, then huge would be best so that there can be as much space as possible between Seanchan and Randland. It took a while for the Seanchan to sail to Randland and the Sea Folk had never been to Randland. I would not suggest removing Shara or Land of Madmen since the "The World of Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time" talks about both areas enough to give us an idea of what they are like. The Land of Madmen could just be a small continent full of barbarians and a few that can channel. According to the book they kill strangers so that fits perfectly. As for Shara, it can be arabian based and shouldn't be too much trouble. Just have to make up a few things. ;)
     
  17. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    The problem isn't with knowing the way the Land is, it's knowing about the civilizations that are on those land masses. And the Sea Folk are always in Randland, just along the southern coast.... I don't think I've heard of a Sea Folk vessel going further north then Toman's Head. And the way we've decided to set up the Sea Folk, it would somewhat hamper having an Isle of Madman because the Sea Folk "isles" would get in the way.
    I could see having The Land of Madmen being filled with nothing but Barbarians... For Shara, it's impossible. We know about the "gates" of Shara but that's it... Unfortanely I don't see a way to have the Shara in the game with what we know of them.
    I like Dark Theocracy... that or Absolutionism... No way for it to be called Chaos... in this series, the Dark One is order, and Rand is the Chaos...
     
  18. the mormegil

    the mormegil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    So will it just be a map of Randland, like the one CamJH made?

    I'm afraid my usefulness may be limited because I'm still only half way through the series. I'll try to find some links though.
     
  19. alerum68

    alerum68 Priest of Hiroshima

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,518
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    No it's going to have Randland, Aiel Waste, Seanchan, The Blight, and the Sea Folk Isles. In all the books very little is told of the Shara or the Isle of Madmen, and would be nothing then empty land... What we really need is Units... unquie units all around the game, with only a little of carry over for defenders in the mainland of randland... I'm done with the nations now, and have started on the tech tree... I have 2 ways of doing this... making the first age and second age one that everyone has already gone through. This would limit the number of things we could do, but would allow us to focus on the main story line... Or I could build all the techs from scratch. What this will do will allow units such as WolfBrothers and things like that being made... if we do this though, it will be based on the world, not just the series.
     
  20. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    I was refering to the people and cultures of these lands not the landmasses. Shara sounds very much an arab nation from what I've read with a few rumors of channelling there. They are actually quite a powerful nation and defeated Hawkwings invaders quite easily. The Sea Folk trade with them and do not even attempt to enter their lands as the Aiel also respect them. Leaving out these 2 lands would not be very cool, IMHO. Shara could have have some serious curruption to limit their power, and if you remove communications trading then none will really have much contact from Randland there. There is enough information to make up a few things to add to Shara to flesh it out and it wouldn't hurt since Robert Jordan hasn't really fleshed it out himself. The Land of Madmen could be moved far to the south as it is in an arctic sea anyway. According to the book I mentioned above it's bordered by icebergs and is a very cold region. Just move it south of where you plan to put the Sea Folk isles.
     

Share This Page