There is a massive gap (IMO) between warlord and prince

Leathaface

Emperor
On warlord I can get wonders much more easily. I'm on a standard map ATM and have 3 cities. (as do the other civs.) I could have 2 cities building wonders, the other 1 building military units and yet I could have 60000 points in military points, while the average is 40000.

On prince, I need to keep building units in 4/5's of my cities to keep up with the number one military power. Wonders are build way way quicker by other civs and they declare much more easily. The maintaineance of roads and military units is (from my view) a lot higher on prince, they can crash your economy. (and WILL crash my economy, as i'm not an experienced player yet.)

So on warlords I build units in 1 city, knowing I won't get declared upon period, i'm coasting. Whereas in prince I have to keep building units in 4/5's of my cities and the other civs still declare war. So much of a gap. I am still learning, and I haven't played many games on prince, but this is what I think so far. I coast on warlord and stumble every time on prince.

(BTW i'm on the latest patch, and I play on epic speed.)

Wonders become increasingly pointless, and your military increasingly important, as you move to higher difficulty levels. Building a lot of wonders is not a part of most victory conditions past Prince difficulty.

You don't have to build military units in all your cities. Its usually enough to build one garrison unit along with each settler (archers are quite good for this), and then "some" extra units (horses are nice since you can move them fast between your cities). "Some" of course depends on your situation (if you are sandwiched between Alexander and Montezuma, you probably want more units :)