1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[R&F] There needs to be a difficulty level between King & Emperor

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by DrJambo, Feb 9, 2018.

  1. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    One that doesn’t give the AI an extra settler.

    I can fairly reliably turn over King, and this is perhaps even more so in R&F where there’s emergencies, loyalty and eras to game the AI on. But moving up to emperor sucks the enjoyment away from the early game as you’re literally forced into warfare of some sort just to keep up. Building wonders is also ill advised

    Is there a mod? What do people do who’re like me and find themselves somewhere in between these two very different difficulty levels?
     
    nzcamel, Fede1893 and ZeroSuitSenpai like this.
  2. ferretbacon

    ferretbacon Obsessor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,238
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Texas
    I'm in the same boat as you. King is only slightly difficult at the beginning, but I steamroll by mid game. When I try to jump to Emperor, I struggle. It's the first difficulty level where you have to actively exploit the AI to pare down its advantages. As a player that can get swept up in the roleplay aspect of the game, I dislike min/maxing and abusing the AI.
     
  3. ZeroSuitSenpai

    ZeroSuitSenpai Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    I feel like I quit most king games by turn 200, because I know I'm going to win. But I also really struggle with emperor.
     
  4. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    Anyone know how to mod emperor difficulty to remove the extra settler in R&F?
     
  5. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5,541
    I play Emperor for my peaceful games, even immortal for a challenging one.
    The enemy having 2 settlers is not that big, as long as you pump out settlers before improving your cities you are fine.
    It’s pretty simple maths, the AI gets some advantages that make up for their deficits, so roughly a city extra give them an advantage you have to fix by getting more cities than them.
    It’s all about having the space to expand, and if you do not then you have to go sailing a bit but you should be able to get a couple of settlers out early. It’s more challenging but perfectly winnable.
     
  6. Stilgar08

    Stilgar08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,169
    Location:
    Zeven, Germany (Lower Saxony ;)
    I agree that there's a big step between King and Emperor. But there have to be steps, right? It took me quite a while to get to Emperor and I can win on Immortal, but Immortal still is not fun to me. Maybe you should play around with the game options while starting Emperor games (barbs on/off/raging - age of the planet etc.) It can hamper AI and help yourself narrowing the gap...
     
  7. Giskler

    Giskler +1 Sleuthing

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norway
    If you want to get an upper hand in Emperor+ then you need to steamroll your nearest neighbouring civ before they build walls.
     
    ChocolateShake likes this.
  8. ChocolateShake

    ChocolateShake Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    That's the problem with Emperor+, it feels like you're constantly behind in the early eras. I like trying to catch up, but it would be nice if they balanced the difficulties so that every era was enjoyable on all the difficulty levels. I used to use the Smoother Difficulty mod, not sure if it's still supported. I have trouble winning on Emperor and Immortal when I don't go on the offensive.

    I'd say Prince and King are the most enjoyable levels. It would be nice if the AI adapted somewhat to your success, maybe small boosts to their yields if you jump too far ahead.
     
  9. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,057
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    The Deity++ mod (which may or may not still be working with R&F) has variations that alleviate some of this pressure, even a version without any extra starting units for the AI. As there's a maximum of 100% bonus yields for the AI though (at the moment not accessible in the code) those versions do give penalties to the very highest difficulties (it adds two more above Deity).

    Would love to give some advice on how to change it yourself, but I can't figure out where the files are located. It's not the "Difficulty.xml" file, surprisingly.
     
  10. psyde

    psyde Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    u guys will think im bad for this, but when i play on emperor diff, i use cheat engine during the first five or so turns in order to pump out free units to put me on more of a lvl playing field with the ai. after that, it's a fair and fun challenge. the key is doing it right so u don't get carried away, or sell urself short either.
     
  11. ChocolateShake

    ChocolateShake Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    This mod looks good: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=906205258

    Think I'll give it a try too :)

    Yup I can't find it in the XML either, it has to be in there somewhere.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2018
  12. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    It's the "Eras.xml" file for modding starting units for the difficulty levels. However, since R&F came out, there is now an "Expansion 1" folder containing similar xml and an "Expansion1_Eras.xml" version, so I don't know if using the base game eras.xml is still the right thing to do?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2018
  13. ChocolateShake

    ChocolateShake Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    If you change the one in the "Expansion 1" folder, that should do the trick.
     
    Leyrann likes this.
  14. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    Righto. I've used this new xml file to create a mod to remove the freebie settlers up until Deity level.
     

Share This Page