1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Things you only just now realized

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by nefloyd, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. nefloyd

    nefloyd King

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    -The number of horses shown in a tile is the same (up to a point. 4?) as the number you receive as a strategic resource. I don't know how long this has been true..
     
  2. Bibor

    Bibor Doomsday Machine

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Forever :)
     
  3. hobbsyoyo

    hobbsyoyo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    21,893
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The pale blue dot.
    Yeah and I'm pretty sure the graphical size of ore deposits scales with the deposit size.
     
  4. nefloyd

    nefloyd King

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    The more you know©
     
  5. slobberinbear

    slobberinbear Ursine Skald

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Foraging in your trashcan
    I think watching some of the Let's Play videos has been helpful to find out more about what I didn't know. Bibor and Mad Djinn have illuminated me on several things, in particular AI behavior, how certain strategies work together, and timing issues. I now pay greater attention to what is happening in the game and focus more on my chosen strategy.
     
  6. Tabarnak

    Tabarnak Pô Chi Min

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,902
    Location:
    Québec
    So true. Being a mp player for almost 100% of the time a couple of months ago, the AI was only a distraction for me until i realized how much potential these guys have for your own game and decisions :)
     
  7. regeneration64

    regeneration64 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Shropshire, England
    Some of the history mentioned in the Civilopedia...
     
  8. Gori the Grey

    Gori the Grey The Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    It always bugged me that uninjured AI units seemed (by that different icon shape) to be able to fortify, whereas only my injured units seemed to be able to do so. Then I discovered that "alert" lets an uninjured unit fortify.

    I just recently noticed the horse thing too. I just thought they were alternate graphics for variety's sake and then I noticed that they correlated to the number of the resource.
     
  9. ronjon

    ronjon Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    I had played 2 games, and in both had long rivers to plant cities on, and in both got too around the middle ages and was having severe money and happiness problems, gave up and went to a third game, only a small river so I had to connect with roads and suddenly that symbol that I thought meant I had discovered the periodic charts appeared and the whole game I was pretty much flush with cash and was able to afford happiness structures. I have been playing Civ 4 so long just never thought to look and see what that symbol meant.
     
  10. Tachii

    Tachii Procrastinator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I thought I would get founder benefits by taking over their holy cities before my first G&K game. I was disappointed.
     
  11. compwiz1202

    compwiz1202 King

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Bethlehem, PA, USA
    Only units that get defensive bonuses become the shield when you alert or fortify. Mounted units don't become a shield because they don't get any defensive bonuses. If you alert then they activate when an enemy unit is in range. If you fortify, they won't go active unless you manually activate them.
    I don't understand why rivers don't allow trade routes anymore. You used to get a trade route if two cities were on the same river or a road/roads ran from that river to cities.
     
  12. nefloyd

    nefloyd King

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    I believe its because of the 'not having roads on every city tile' change. Now a city to city road connection is more important, so having a river fulfill that requirement would devalue it.

    You'd still want the connecting road in time anyway for unit movement, and how often do you have cities on the same river? I think they coulda left it in; or made it part of some civ's UA at least
     
  13. HelloGoodbye123

    HelloGoodbye123 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    U.S.A California
    I agree, they can always give you that extra detail..
    just dont go with any video on youtube that says that, I find that most ppl who do that, dont know how to properly play the game, I find so many errors, that I want to comment raging how they are misusing etc but it doesnt fit in the comment box.

    those guys you mentioned though, are pretty descent. So get your info from those guys :)
     
  14. Navelgazer

    Navelgazer Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    547
    Gender:
    Male
    Playing Sweden, I realized (or I guess learned) too late that gifting a GP doesn't count as "expending" them. I had already built the Mausoleum and chosen Reliquary as my enhancer bonus. Lesson learned now.
     
  15. SurplusInk

    SurplusInk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    They removed culture bomb border expansion ): I figured this out while doing the one city challenge.
     
  16. nefloyd

    nefloyd King

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    It was moved from the Artist to the General, not removed
     
  17. Lance of Llanwy

    Lance of Llanwy King

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Iron Working is a really useless tech. But I still research it out of habit:sad:
    Can't get away with that when I'm fresh to Emperor. Seriously though, they need to do something about spearmen and pikemen being all the non-ranged units you ever really need.
     
  18. n00bxqb

    n00bxqb Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Yeah, swords were nerfed way too hard in G&K. I wonder if they should perhaps introduce a defense penalty vs. ranged for spearmen/pikemen?

    Here's the description from the Civilopedia:
    I also miss the attack bonus Swords used to get when attacking cities ...
     
  19. _invy_

    _invy_ Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Specialists produce A LOT of unhappiness - noticed this when I went conquering and moved into -20+ unhapiness. 10+ unhapiness was produced by scientist specialists.
     
  20. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Deity

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,704
    specialist produce as much unhappiness as normal population thats why the freedom policy is pretty usefull because you can basicly remove some unhappiness from the population by specialists
     

Share This Page