This isn't like me ...

Baleog

THE FIERCE
Nostradamus.

Has anyone read his prophecies? I don't just mean hearing that apparently he predicted September 11th.

I read a book of his prophecies and suggested interpretations two weeks ago and I can safely say it's the only book that has ever frightened the sh*te out of me. I don't know how to begin a talk on this (I very rarely start threads) so I'll just post up a few of the prophecies and see what people think. Hopefully others here have read them.

Beforehand: Note how I have not said that I believe he could predict the future. I am someone who tends towards the rational and am quite unsuperstitious (I'm studying mathematical physics for anyone who doesn't know). All I'm saying is that I find the contents of the book I read "suspect".

I've restricted the selection to prophecies interpreted during the 20th century.

Nostradamus wrote each supposed prophecy in four lines called a quatrain. He wrote a book called The Centuries in which he published them all (though the book was called this because there was 10 volumes, each with 100 prophecies called a century).

9/33
Hercules becomes king of Rome and of Annemarc
A man named De Gaulle is a three time leader
Italy, and the waters of Venice will tremble
The president will be renowned above all monarchs.

Interpretation:
Just as annemarc signifies Mark Anthony in another quatrain, Hercules here applies to Benito Mussolini, who became leader of Rome and Abyssinia (Mark Anthony's land)during the 1920s and 30s respectively. Remarkably General Charles de Gaulle, one of his chief opponents is mentioned here by name. He was, and remains "renowned above all monarchs" by a certain body of French opinion.

9/16
Franco will bring the army from Castille
The ambassador will complain, causing a schism
Rivera's men will be part of the force
The great man will be denied entry to the gulf.