Thought Experiment for Civ IV Players

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by I_batman, Nov 24, 2007.

?

Would you buy an improved Civ III (20 bugs fixed) for $30-40

Poll closed Jan 3, 2008.
  1. Yes

    15 vote(s)
    13.2%
  2. No

    99 vote(s)
    86.8%
  1. I_batman

    I_batman Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,261
    Location:
    markham, ontario
    Given all the turbulence the last week with more Civ III vs Civ IV shots being fired, I am a little worried to post this. But then again, so what?

    Simply put, Civ IV players, if a modified Civ III game was available with say, the top 20 bugs fixed, and it cost $30-40 dollars, would you buy it?

    I have absolutely no interest in knowing which each person's personal list is. There are oodles of threads out threads out there that discuss issues with Civ III.
    Just a yes or no, would you buy it?

    And please answer in the poll, not the thread.
     
  2. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
  3. jessiecat

    jessiecat Divine Monarch

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,405
    Location:
    Cornwall, somewhere near England
    As far as I know, Civ 3 Complete has ironed out any bugs I'm aware of.
    So, if you buy the Civ Chronicles collection as I recently did (lost a couple
    of discs) you get all the patches and updates. Been playing Civ 3 for a few
    of weeks and had no problems at all, so far. So where's the problem?
    Somebody tell me.:confused:
     
  4. JJ Boston

    JJ Boston Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Boston
    I'm pretty content with Civ4 and honestly, I don't notice too many bugs in either game. There's no need to go back to Civ3, so I wouldn't.
     
  5. pikesfan

    pikesfan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    No.

    Unfortunately I can't just say No, as it’s less than 10 characters, so I'll have to say:

    No, I would not.
     
  6. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    That's why I said nnnnnooooo
     
  7. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    For 30-40 $ , no way... 15 -20 , maybe ( but well, I still play SMAC :old: )
     
  8. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I would. But it would have to stay closer to 20 if all it does is fix 20 bugs.
     
  9. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    To warrant paying that much for a game I have already played (for four years), there would have to be a lot more changes than just bugfixes.

    But if a new version included also significant improvements to the AI (armies, artillery, diplomacy, naval warfare), better models for pollution and coruption, a streamlined UI and reduced micromanagement overall, 40 bucks would be fine. :)
     
  10. mrt144

    mrt144 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,121
    Location:
    Seattle
    i didnt buy it the first time. why would i buy it now?
     
  11. Game_Addy

    Game_Addy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Well, I voted yes because I took it to mean new disks and all that, with the top bugs(includes glitches, sprites, and improved AI), and essentially an expansion pack which also deeply modifies some of the core game concepts, I think it would be reasonable.

    However, if it's just an update for 40 bucks, yeah. Not worth it.
     
  12. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
  13. jessiecat

    jessiecat Divine Monarch

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,405
    Location:
    Cornwall, somewhere near England
    OK. Just read it. Never encountered any of these and have played Civ3C
    since it came out. Many appear to be issues that occur in scenarios I don't
    play. Except for one. I have played as Portugal in the Age of Discovery and
    trashed Spain. No, the game didn't crash. Some other bugs appear to be a
    bit beneficial to the player, so who's complaining? In short, I've never had
    a problem. Maybe I'm just lucky. But can somebody answer my previous
    question. Civ 3 Complete was supposed to be fully patched and fixed. Was it?
    It certainly feels different to previous versions, though I can't say why.:)
     
  14. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,150
    Gender:
    Male
    Civ 3 Complete has all patches that were revealed for this game. The problem is, that the last patch for C3C was only a semi-patch that was unfortunately interrupted with the arguement that there is no more time for fixing things, as they now have to work for Civ 4. May be the most famous bugs that did rise up again are the submarine bug and the broken AI armies. Lots of other never fixed options in the editor like the no-corruption-flag, the precision bombing-flag, the forgotten no-raze option and lot of other things (p.e. the lost city view) can give C3C the value, that was originally intended by the creators.

    For all posters: Please don´t transport this thread to another thread about different games of the Civ-series. At least two current threads about this theme in my eyes are more than enough. And thank you CyberChrist for only posting the bug-list.

    Sorrry for this post as we should answer in the poll and not in the thread. But I thought this question should be answered.
     
  15. zyphyr

    zyphyr Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    461
    Wouldn't consider it. Wouldn't bother with a free patch that does it.
     
  16. Powerslave

    Powerslave Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    USA
    I'm with Zyphyr. I wouldn't even download a free patch that fixed every bug in C3C. I could never go back to the corruption model, not to mention those horrible graphics.
     
  17. 3 EMS

    3 EMS King

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NC
    I already have it.

    I mean I already have civ III. I'm happy with it.
     
  18. gps

    gps King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    No, sorry. As much as I would like this great game to be finished properly - but I don't pay somebody to for a pure bugfix to something I allready paid for. Give me five or ten bonus tribes and a few more scenarois or mods and I'll happily reach for my purse...
    But I don't see this happening anyway, with or without having to pay for it. Official Civ III support and developpement are as dead as can be. :(
     
  19. AmazonQueen

    AmazonQueen Virago

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6,552
    Location:
    Climbing Kero Fin
    No
    Civ III was the only game in the Civ series I disliked
     
  20. Swedishguy

    Swedishguy Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,257
    Location:
    Eskilstuna, Sweden IQ: N/A
    I already have CivIII... why would I buy this?
     

Share This Page