1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Timeline for Eras in Civ 5

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Glassmage, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. Glassmage

    Glassmage The Desert Flame

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    USA
    Let's take Standard speed for example. Is the tech advancement in Civ5 match with the real world? This is saying without GS bulbing and no research agreements and no science specialists and no science nations like Babylon and Korea.

    REAL eras timeline for Western European perspective from wikipedia.

    Ancient: 3000BC to 800BC
    Classical: 700BC to 400AD
    Medieval: 500AD to 1500AD
    Renaissance: 1500AD to 1700AD
    Industrial: 1800AD to 1900AD
    Modern, Future: 1900AD to whenever
     
  2. binhthuy71

    binhthuy71 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,887
    Location:
    Southern California foothills
    Aha! Someone else discovers an area where a game digresses from reality. When you open this can of worms you have to decide where we stop. For instance, why are Food yields from Farm tiles the same until fertilizer when the practice of planting legumes to refresh exhausted soil only began in the 1100's? Why are the yields from Mines the same end-to-end even though surface mining was the rule until the late 1300's early 1400's?

    I'm an amateur historian (World History; Classical, Middle Ages) of some decades modest standing. I'm not making fun of you but, if you want historical accuracy you're going to have to code your own game. You can, from a historical perspective, nitpick the game in a thousand ways. I could probably nitpick it in 5000 ways. I don't. It's a game. I enjoy it for what it is and what it does.
     
  3. Glassmage

    Glassmage The Desert Flame

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    USA
    Ohh I was just wondering because I want to adjust Research and Culture acquisition to match with the time for various game speeds.
     
  4. binhthuy71

    binhthuy71 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,887
    Location:
    Southern California foothills
    Are you modding the game? The only way I can see to make that work would be to limit techs to the appropriate era. Otherwise, a skillful player will still be launching a spaceship early AD.
     
  5. Horizons

    Horizons Needing fed again!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Civ5 is 100% historically accurate.
     
  6. OmegaKabob

    OmegaKabob Le Just Derpin' Around ~

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    Lololololol I second this.
     
  7. Pouakai

    Pouakai It belongs in a museum. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,154
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I normally reach Industrial on Prince around 1750 AD, if not slightly sooner.
     
  8. binhthuy71

    binhthuy71 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,887
    Location:
    Southern California foothills
    In every way. :lol:
     
  9. Windsor

    Windsor Flawless

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    Norway
    Since each turn represent less years as the game goes on, the output of tiles increase.
     
  10. ggmoyang

    ggmoyang King

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    993
    Location:
    Rep. of Korea
    In history, there was no immortal or deity rulers so there was no insane progress.
    and so many noobish emperors and kings were reluctant to build library and national collages... so it slowed down the tech too.
     
  11. smallfish

    smallfish Immortal

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,968
    There were certainly no Great Scientists who would sacrifice themselves just so their civ could unlock a tech (from some abstractly preset tech tree).

    But yeah, all the Civ games have been historically accurate over NINE THOUSAND percent.

    Totally.
     
  12. RealHuhn

    RealHuhn Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    Germany
    In CiV games you can design your own history, so why do you want to copy reality?
     
  13. Bamboocha

    Bamboocha Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Even this can be considered inaccurate. Some historians will debate that the Renaissance started in the 1200's in Italy, and the medieval period, while often being branded as "that time when nothing happened and everybody was stupid", is far to complex to be branded as a single era. There's the dark ages, which lasted from 500 AD to 1000 AD, in which the Western Civilizations were recovering from the fall of the Roman Empire, and the late middle ages of 1000 AD to 1500 AD, which did see some significant changes on the fields of warfare, science and philosophy.

    In conclusion, whenever you start seperating historical periods into "era's" you're already on thin ice, as it's very difficult to decide when an era starts and when it ends. Even more so when you're talking about different civilizations. For example, some will debate that the muslim world never had a real industrial era, and skipped from renaissance straight to modern under western influence.
     

Share This Page