1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Tiny map??

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Road to War' started by makke, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Could someone please make tiny map for this mod?(any scenario; desert war, France vs Germany etc) Please. I love the mod but i got too weak computer to run it. I can play like 4 turns till it takes hour to load. So it would be amazing if someone could do it.
     
  2. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    It might be interesting to play a highly detailed invasion of france type game, including only western Germany, France where Paris is close to the edge of the map, and a tiny part of Britan to the north. I'll see if something like that could work with RTW.
     
  3. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Sounds good :)
     
  4. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    The only issue will be the speed the units move compared to the time. Normally, this part of the game would be completed in a very small amount of turns, so as long as people *ignore* the Month/Year, it could still make sense.

    What size of map do you want? Do you mean literally a 'Tiny' sized map, or is small okay?
     
  5. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Tiny would be awesome, even small maps are too big for my comp : D or maybe if theres only 2-4 civ's it would work
     
  6. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    How's this doing? Anyone doing scenario?
     
  7. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    Well, I don't know if you read the thread about the huge Europe map, but I'm temporarily unable to make any maps at all.

    I have thought about this though and I have the general idea of how it will work, so once my comp is back up and the Huge map is done I can get to work.
     
  8. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Okey cool. I love this mod but i have to bad computer to play it.
     
  9. Rusted Armor

    Rusted Armor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Maybe, if you ever have any time in the future, I would suggest an in depth Winter War.
     
  10. Chamboozer

    Chamboozer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    The winter war is kind of hard to replicate because russian units are so much stronger than the ones the Finns would have. It was generally a leadership issue that allowed a finnish victory, and that can't really be replicated in the game.
     
  11. Karjala

    Karjala Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Yeah winter war kinda sucks in the global map. Finland falls at first turn.
    Biggest problem is finnish infantry combat is only 5 while russia 15.
     
  12. mrmariobro

    mrmariobro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Miami
    if you think their overpowered, you can just add extra money and units in the worldbuilder for all the other civs like I do
     
  13. Karjala

    Karjala Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Yes I done that and also changed early infantry power from 5 to 10 and tank power from 10 to 15. Maybe that help so small nations dont die so fast.
     
  14. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    Anybody doing tiny map?
     
  15. chueche

    chueche Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    No, i like to play great or gigantic maps. My dreams are GEMs map to play world war 2;)
     
  16. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,547
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Mine too !!!

    I may make one in a later version of my mini-mod.
     
  17. makke

    makke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Finland
    It sucks i can't enjoy this great mod because my computer is too old :(
     
  18. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,547
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    ACtually I have a i7 and it is still slow.

    You could turn off "Bitter Winter"
     
  19. Quklis

    Quklis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Finnish Socialist Workers' Republic
    Why can't you do scenario yourself? You don't need good computer for that..
     
  20. Maaximillus

    Maaximillus Vice Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Weeland
    It ain't so easy to make scenario for mod, especially for a mod that changes alot. Besides of the difficulty to make it, it would also take alot time.
     

Share This Page