Tip for beating barbarian camps

I noticed this over the weekend. Is it new since last patch? It seems like a bug.

I've also found that even if I can't win it's usually a good idea to attack the camp (at 25%) because unless they can kill you in one move they won't come out so you can attack once and then stand there healing and attack again in a few turns to finish them off. This also seems a bit buggy to me - I only play king level though so maybe they are more aggressive at higher levels.

Dont kill camps unless a CS asks you to or you really need the dough.

Dont kill camps unless a CS asks you to or you really need the dough.

How do you level up/promote your units then (aside from going to war with another civ)? Seriously, I'm new to Civ but I feel like I've spent the first 100 turns of my games hunting down barbarians so I can level up my units.

I don't always kill barb camps. If it's close to my cities, I kill it. If there is rough terrain 1 hex away, and the camp is on open terrain, I usually will kill it, if I want the experience. If there's only open terrain around and/or the camp is on rough terrain, I'll usually leave it alone. A lot of the time though, if I am exploring, I'd rather keep exploring than take the time to kill a barb camp and heal up.

Never noticed the reduction in fortification. Will watch out for that in the future.

How do you level up/promote your units then (aside from going to war with another civ)? Seriously, I'm new to Civ but I feel like I've spent the first 100 turns of my games hunting down barbarians so I can level up my units.

If you don't kill the camp it keeps spawning barbarian units, right? Maybe that's what he was getting at.

Yes, Kill the barbarians, but not the camps, you will never run out of barbarians then and you will know where the camps are. You should only remove the camps if you are strapped for cash, not strapped for experience.