Tips on the endgame?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by ZenMonkey, Dec 6, 2006.

1. ZenMonkey

ZenMonkey Chieftain

I'm still a Civ 4 newbie so I'm trying to figure out how to manage the game. When I get to the end and have a lot of cities, including ones I've taken over, I find myself somewhat mindlessly building things. (For example, putting a theatre and a colosseum in every city as soon as they're available.) The last game I played I changed my objectives from cultural victory to technological victory (while warring with Persia) to finally accepting a diplomatic victory just to put an end to it.

I know the endgame changes depending on how you play, obviously, but do you have any advice for how to manage a growing empire towards the end of the game? Is it better to keep expanding or to improve every city you have? What is a reasonable objective for a new (and still very confused) player moving up in difficulty, and how does the endgame fit in?

Thanks for any ideaas.

2. JonnyB

JonnyB Workaholic

It depends on the situation and what kind of victory you're going for, but later in the game you can also build culture or wealth or research instead of buildings and units.

3. TM Moot

TM Moot King

Totally dependant upon what Victory you are going for (i.e. if in a Space race then have all cities chugging out Research until you can knock out the SS components).

4. mardy

mardy Chieftain