1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

To Upgrade or Not??

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by shahreevar, Jan 6, 2006.

1. shahreevar

shahreevar Prince

i am still learning this new Civ, so i have some comments, and finally a question in regards with Upgrading units.

i am specifically concerned with the process of upgrading units into Modern ones, generally this means infantry. in civ III, it was much easier, i.e. cheaper, to turn ancient, outdated units into modern ones. ofcourse having high amount of $$$ and Leo's workshop helped alot. in civ iv however there is no half price upgrade, and so its really expensive to do so. in one game in particular it would have cost me somewhere around 20000 $ to turn all my foot units into infantry.

so now, i am forced to do many things i previously didnt have to think about. things such as the building of a particulr type of unit, its relative utulity, and long term usefulness.
    i also have to choose between which particular unit in a certain type (e.g. which one of my longbowmen to choose) do i upgrade. collectively this means that there will be many cases of Disbanding.

so my question is, what do you do? what is your suggestion?
    i know this is a very general question, but i'd like to know a general path to upgrade.
    and how oftern do you upgrade? do you mass upgrade?(is this recommanded??)

2. Wodan

Wodan Deity

Some things are beneficial to upgrade, such as a unit with city defense skills to Machine Gunner (which can't get those skills). [Actually, this is pretty much the only time I personally use MGs... they're generally inferior to Infantry as new builds, so I hardly ever build them, period. But, with city defense, they can be monsters with their first strike.]