1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Trade Opportunities for VP

Discussion in 'Mods Repository' started by adan_eslavo, Sep 8, 2018.

  1. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Further progress:
    upload_2018-11-7_23-34-8.png
    upload_2018-11-7_23-37-6.png upload_2018-11-7_23-34-31.png
    upload_2018-11-7_23-37-32.png upload_2018-11-7_23-38-39.png
     
    wistak and CppMaster like this.
  2. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,089
    Great work!

    The question about trade opportunities I have is the City State section. Under it, the blank space confuses me as to what or which city states the icons pertain to.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    It referes to whole CS section to the right. Those colorful icons of CSs (trait icons) are showing up underneath the line. Each CS state column is tied to some resource which CS has or can have. Nothing shows up strictly below the City-States sign because it is kind of header to those icons on the right.
    upload_2018-11-8_17-52-3.png
     
  4. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Another milestone thanks to EUI makers:
    upload_2018-11-8_19-44-22.png

    That was the part I really wanted to add. This was my priority. Thanks to @Gazebo I found appropriate code and modified it slightly. I think that such info is really needed. You have now whole bunch of info in one window: monopolies, city demands, surpluses, traded items, embassies etc. I will do some tests and probably release new version this weekend, unless you have some ideas :p
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
  5. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Finally finished v7 version of the mod. You can test it by yourself.
    Remember that much content was added/changed/tweaked so there can be some errors. If you find any please post description of an error with screens.

    @pineappledan I managed to add compatibility part for any resource outside VP. Tested it with VP resources, but commented to be treated as from some other mod. It worked. Space is enough for at least 10 new resources. Any info available for basic resource is shown for such additional resources so players do not miss aything. If you add successfully coca to the MUCfVP then please test it. I would be grateful.

    Overview screens are like always available on main thread!

    Latest changelog:
    Code:
    v7:
    - new version numbering system: dropped "28m" part because mod was changed so hard including code refining; now any version start from "v7".
    - reworked main file.
    - resources:
        - Paper to "Strategics" part,
        - "Other luxuries" to "Luxuries" part; makes all mod which add new luxuries compatible with TO; significantly reworked basic feature.
    - UI:
        - totally reworked "Colour Key" tab,
        - totally new colour palette in main window:
            - cyan or blue - one or more cities respectively demands that resource (unavailable for non-active players),
            - dark green, light green, yellowish green - player has more than 3, 1 or equal to 1 tradable resource copies respectively:
                - yellowish green is not available for non-active players.
            - orange - player has no tradable resources,
            - red - new category: player uses more resources than he has (has deficit - means that he uses imported ones from CSs or from other players),
            - brownish grey - rest of cases; new grey colour is much darker; now other colours are visible at first glance.
        - now numbers are centred in the window instead of aligned to the right,
        - new markers:
            - ' shows strategic monopoly bonus for the resource,
            - " shows strategic global bonus for the resource.
        - bigger "No player met" text label,
        - "War" status is now moved to the right; red background shows up instead with increased opacity; it now does not hide content below (you can still see numbers underneath),
        - now different columns' colours for luxury (light gold) and strategic (light silver) resources,
        - added ICON_CAPITAL icon before capital city on list with cities demanding some resource; added icon, name and some generic text; city names coloured,
        - added icon, name and some generic text for unavailable resources,
        - deleted resource icon before city-state name in tooltip,
        - slightly scaled down CS icons to better fit the frames,
        - added "Monopoly bonus" info to resource icon (header) tooltip,
        - added "Current Deals" tooltip separate for every non-active player,
        - few things moved in the main and City-State windows for better alignment.
    - code:
        - cleaned UI xml code,
        - cleaned and refined main lua code,
        - fixed resource calculation: now it takes also resource used for units or buildings into account,
        - hovering over CS icon shows all its resources instead of only strategic ones,
        - reduced spoiler informations:
            - now player on start can see only its own resources,
            - during exploration, after meeting new players, new sources are "discovered",
            - code checks available resources and resources in nearby area from cities,
            - fixed resource logic for strategics: same like in CSL mod (now shows resource visible for active player not for target player; means that if active player researches iron then it will be searched for every other player including CSs):
                - hovering the CS's icon still shows resources improved by that CS.
    Enjoy!
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2018
    ChickenFighter and CppMaster like this.
  6. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Any initial thought about mod during your gameplays? I started round with Greece, but honestly, I had no time to continue it before release.
    Do not hesitate to post any suggestions about changes, additional info, arts, UI look, glitches, colours etc. Your help will be appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2018
  7. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,089
    I will be beginning a marathon game on 11-9 patch soon. And I'm Carthage so trade is monitored throughout my games. And this mod is crucial. I'll notate anything I see.
     
    adan_eslavo likes this.
  8. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Excellent! Cannot wait for that. Don't forget about screens! I love watching them :]

    EDIT:
    For now I worked a while with new upcoming v38 of MUCfVP. I did some small corrections to upcoming v8 of TO.
    Code:
    v8:
    - code:
       - deleted check for useful resources at the lua file load (now only on window opening left),
    - texts:
       - modified tooltips (those with monopoly info) for standard resources to be compatible with "Other luxury resources",
       - "..." instead of "?" for "Other luxury resources,
       - "City-State" instead of "CS" as a header for luxury resources form City-States,
       - some capital letters substituted by small ones (Protected (B)y, Allied (W)ith, Current (D)eals and so on),
       - fixed "Colour Key" tab,
       - fixed spelling errors.
    - UI:
       - made "..." mark for "Other luxury resources" more visible (orange),
       - fixed alignment like always.
    
    @ryanmusante I will wait with release until you give me some suggestions and until v38 is released. Do not rush. It will take a while.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2018
  9. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    For anyone who makes mod that adds new civilization to VP and it has new luxury resource:
    If you want your mod to be compatible with Trade Opportunities for VP then you have to add Help text for your new resource like it is done for VP resources or Coca in MUCfVP!

    If anyone notice that the resource is not showing up in your list, then it is first thing to check. Please, notify any modmakers who should know that.


    For now I noticed that @jarcast2's The Samnites mod is incompatible, because of this. Until next update I hope :].
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018
  10. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    v8 out. Small tweaks.
    Code:
    v8:
    - code:
        - deleted check for useful resources at the lua file load (now only on window opening left),
    - texts:
        - modified tooltips (those with monopoly info) for standard resources to be compatible with "Other luxury resources",
        - "..." instead of "?" for "Other luxury resources,
        - "City-State" instead of "CS" as a header for luxury resources form City-States,
        - some capital letters substituted by small ones (Protected (B)y, Allied (W)ith, Current (D)eals and so on),
        - fixed "Colour Key" tab,
        - fixed spelling errors.
    - UI:
        - made "..." mark for "Other luxury resources" more visible (orange),
        - fixed alignment like always,
    - files:
        - renamed few folders and files.
     
  11. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,089
    I receive this inside of lua.log. This is after it finishes loading EUI top panel on Turn 1. It repeats 12 times [truncated for post].
    Code:
    [1501.157] Runtime Error: C:\users\ryan\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\UI - Trade Opportunities for VP (v 8)\UI\InGame\Popups\DiploTradesStatus.lua:862: attempt to index upvalue 'gAvailableUsefulResources' (a nil value)
    [1501.525] Runtime Error: C:\users\ryan\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\UI - Trade Opportunities for VP (v 8)\UI\InGame\Popups\DiploTradesStatus.lua:862: attempt to index upvalue 'gAvailableUsefulResources' (a nil value)
    
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2018
  12. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    I don't get second error. It must be from some other mod (I guess). If you are sure it is from TO then give me complete description.

    First error: Was it at the beginning of the game? It was caused by Mercantile CS hich founded a city. Recent code simplification was a reason.

    v8.1 with lua fix only.
     
  13. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,089
    Disregard second error, it is from a different mod.
    TRA_1.png shows that only two of the resources are shown in light blue but as it shows in TRA_2.png, there are 6 resources that are in need by the cities.

    Am I using the grid information incorrectly? When does the blue option override another?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 24, 2018
  14. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    You just did not encouneter 4 other resource. If you meet civ which have or can have that resources, then it will be marked with blue.

    But if the game shows some demand then it would be reasonable to add them at that moment tothe grid as "known", because you know now that they are somewhere on map (some kind of cheat).
     
    ryanmusante likes this.
  15. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,089
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2018
  16. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Thats indeed tons of info. Most of them are put either in TO or EUI right panel (that with civ leader icons). I will look through that mod, maybe I will find some handy info, but I would like to focus on keeping TO focused on trade not all diplo things. In TO you still can see OB, RA and ebassies info, useful during trading. Also score, era or war info is on.
     
    civplayer33 and ryanmusante like this.
  17. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,089
    @adan_eslavo
    This is a video that covers CivWillard. It's from 2012 so, non-VP. It gives good screenshots and explanation of the pop-up windows. Skip ahead to 12:30 minutes to find CivWillard.
    Code:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHFxR15pTbc
    Can you create a customization menu for your Mods? Is transparency used by default?

    It would be nice to be able to enable/disable specific options for more/less information.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2018
  18. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    I make each modmod to be balanced and finished and contain as much needed info as it can have without overwheling the player. I'm not interested in using any setting info. It would be small gain for huge amount of work.

    Transparency is default. And to be honest there's no need to change it. I made all things visible and with good contrast. Any problems with that? Colour change needed?

    Willard mod can be adjustable bacause he uses modificable columns everywhere. In TO I made everything "just in place". If you eneable or disable something everything break apart.

    As I said, I will look at some stats he presents and add them either to TO or LE.
     
  19. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,089
    Contrast is perfect, I don't think it should be changed unless you see that it should. I just was making an observation about the transparency. The grid background you use makes it very easy to locate information.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2018
  20. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Yeah I made it little bit darker tgan standard mod to be better visible. Now you have info at the first glance.
     

Share This Page