trade route ?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Maydrock, May 18, 2007.

  1. Maydrock

    Maydrock Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    CT
    I just built my second city and I got the "Congrats you have connected your city to your capital" message. Could someone explain how these are connected. To me at least one tile needs to be roaded as indicated on the map for them to be connected. Thx

     
  2. Dystopian

    Dystopian Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Edit: Hmm Good question. I don't see the "trade" icon on York either.
     
  3. Greeneyedzombie

    Greeneyedzombie King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    Below the sea.
    the red tile is connected on both sides by rivers. this is the tile that connect your 2 cities. it works the same as riverside resources, wich don't need roads to be connected to the city siding on the same river. So a tile with rivers on both sides, act like it has been roaded to connect your cities.
     
  4. LlamaCat

    LlamaCat Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,212
    yeah I think the giveaway here is how that tile shows 1 coin, which means it's next to a river. so that tile is the connection, although visually it sure looks strange that it would be connected! York looks like it's going to be a great city site once the border pops, by the way!
     
  5. ecskipone

    ecskipone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    that's weird because i believe coastal tiles don't connect continents when you have sailing (trade on coast).. it would be weird if river tiles did

    are you sure that southern river doesn't snake around and connect to yours? or maybe another open bordered civ has roads connecting them?
     
  6. Maydrock

    Maydrock Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    CT
    Na, the river doesn't snake around and it's too early for open borders. It's the red tile, but I don't think I have ever seen anyone post this post this as a way to establish a trade route.

    Copper did show up in the capital once it was mined and a roaded.
     
  7. strategygamer

    strategygamer Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Well, in all fairness, during ancient times it wasn't uncommon to drag boats from one canal or river to another to continue along a water trade route.
     
  8. JackOfClubs

    JackOfClubs Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Orange County, CA, USA
    I think the situation here is that the way rivers are handled has changed form previous versions. In earlier versions, rivers were actually drawn within a tile but they are now drawn as part of the border. However, a riverside tile is evidently still considered to "contain" a river so you end up with the counter intuitive situation here.
     
  9. singletonmj

    singletonmj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Hello,

    I noticed from looking at the map that there is a river going from York and touching the cultural border of your capital. This may be how they're connected. I've ran into the same situation myself.

    singletonmj
     
  10. amaterasu

    amaterasu the true messiah

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    Rebelling
    Zoom out to globe view then look at trade groups, that will tell you :D
     
  11. lutzj

    lutzj The Last Thing You See

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    New England
    if you have sailing, then the coastal tile between the mouths of the rivers would connect them. the trade route seems unnecessarily long, but the traders going between the cities would go down one river, take the coast to the other one, and then go down the other river.
     
  12. 50_dollar_bag

    50_dollar_bag Imitation Louis Vuitton

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    36 52 S 174 45 E
    It wouldn't be that easy to drag a boat full of copper would it?
     
  13. JimT

    JimT Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Leeds, Yorkshire
    It wouldn't unless the coast had been explored, so it is not this

    It's the red route whether you want to call it a bug or realism is personal choice
     

Share This Page