1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Trading w/ other Civs

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Hector Achilles, Apr 22, 2019.

  1. Hector Achilles

    Hector Achilles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    What is needed to be able to trade with foreign civs on other continents? I am alone on my own continent and can only trade with the few city states I have on my continent. I am in 1005 AD and have met ALL the other civs. Since I have met them and even have an alliance with one of them, why can I not trade with any of them?
    Thanks.
     
  2. criZp

    criZp Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Nidaros, Norway
    trade units cannot move into water, or out of water, unless there's a harbor or or city on the coast
     
  3. Hector Achilles

    Hector Achilles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I actually have a few harbors completed and 6 or 7 cities on the coast. I even have a few markets, which I believe you would need instead of or an addition to a harbor for inland trading,....which in my scenario is irrelevant because I'm the only civ on my continent, but just wanted to point it out. Any other suggestions? Do the other civs need harbors too? Maybe they have not built harbors and that could be the problem?
     
  4. Joezumah

    Joezumah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    You also need map revealed enough to provide a path to get to the other civs. In my current game I made an economic alliance with England, but didn’t yet have the map revealed enough to use it.
     
  5. MrRadar

    MrRadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    659
    They might be out of reach for your trader units. Can it be that none of the known AI coastal cities is within 30 tiles of one of your coastal city, counting uncovered visible tiles? They do not have coastal cities? They have harbours, but inland cities are still out of reach?
    Trader must have an entry point to the AI landmass - a coastal city or a harbour. If none of these are present, the continent is closed for overseas trade. Just one coastal AI city or a city state within range will do to open it up, once the first route completes and trading post is created, the range extends from there.
     
    CPWimmer likes this.
  6. Hector Achilles

    Hector Achilles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Rochester, NY

    I have explored the entire other continent,...all fog of war (not sure if that is what you call it) is lifted and all other civs have been exposed/met. I have probably sent over 40+ missionaries to convert them to my religion as well, so they too have exposed all the land. I have knights and musketmen over there now occupying land, and again I am consistently sending over missionaries so they have no problem accessing the land. There are many different parts of the continent that I am accessing the land as well, not just one spot. Some have coastal cities, but not sure if they all do, but some civs do. Again, I do not know if any of them have established harbours. As for the distance, I believe the only other continent on the map is certainly w/in 30 tiles. it's the ONLY other land mass on the map, I would think I would be able to trade with them. I guess I'll just keep playing the game and see if the trading opens up. I'd hope it would, this is restricting me from generating larger amounts of gold.
     
  7. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,584
    25 tiles for a water trade route and that 25 tiles cannot pass through fog.
    The only other limit beyond what has been mentioned is you cannot be at war to trade.
    And yes, this distance will be severely limiting your potential gold unless you have a well developed commercial CS locally.
    If going for a CV this lack of trade routes will be severely limiting you.
     
  8. MrRadar

    MrRadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    659
    Well, in most cases one look into a save can save a thousand words of description. Can you upload one to have a glance at? Also, running any mods?
     
  9. Hector Achilles

    Hector Achilles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Rochester, NY

    Well, the water has "fog" ....Like I've I said, I have sent many troops and missionaries over which only clears the fog as they go through. After they pass the fog returns. Maybe I need to leave ships in the ocean to make a waterway/clear path? I can do that, I have 20 or so ships. I'll give that a try.
     
  10. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,584
    No need I meant undiscovered fog.. or parchment. Once been through it should be fine.
    City to city is how many tiles apart? The source and target need to be on coast or have a harbor
     
  11. Hector Achilles

    Hector Achilles Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Okay, thank you for clarifying. I know one of the civs, Sweden, has a coastal city. So, I'll count the tiles from my coastal city to theirs. I'm guessing it must be more than 25 tiles....must be the reason as to why I can't trade with anyone.

    Would it be possible to found a few new coastal cities on the other continent and "gift" the cities to the other civs so I could trade with them? I've done the domination victory a lot (want to try another victory method) so I'm not planning on starting a war or wiping out any of the other civs on the other continent, so I wouldn't mind giving away a few cities I created. The reason I ask is because part of the continent reaches much farther east than the other part of it....definitely less than 25 tiles.
     
  12. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,584
    Gift? Try selling first... or you could just trade from your founded city, it only takes a turn to move traders there.
    The likely issues with that though are the city will probably flip and you get more money going over water.
     

Share This Page