1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Transcendence Required Techs?

Discussion in 'CivBE - Modding Help & Mod Creation' started by Bandobras Took, Aug 31, 2017.

  1. Bandobras Took

    Bandobras Took Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,890
    Location:
    Orem, UT
    How does one edit the required techs for a Transcendence Victory?
     
  2. Bandobras Took

    Bandobras Took Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,890
    Location:
    Orem, UT
    Or, if that turns out to be too complicated, would it theoretically work if I simply changed the display name of the required techs and moved them around the tech tree?

    Edit: I cobbled together a test, and disguising two techs as one another will work.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2017
  3. Valessa

    Valessa Communistress

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,103
    Gender:
    Female
    The victory conditions are Quests (TranscendenceVictoryQuest.lua in this case).

    Even if you don't know lua, making the changes without workaround is easy in this case. At the top of the file, there is:

    local FIRST_TECH_TYPE = GameInfo.Technologies["TECH_TRANSGENICS"].ID;
    local SECOND_TECH_TYPE = GameInfo.Technologies["TECH_SWARM_INTELLIGENCE"].ID;
    local THIRD_TECH_TYPE = GameInfo.Technologies["TECH_NANOROBOTICS"].ID;

    Just swap out the tech names, but make sure you keep the rest of the formatting intact.

    Quests must be imported into the Virtual File System (click on the file and then look at the properties window), and they must be imported via the content tab as Type Quest (you must type that manually after choosing the File in the lower field), and the Name-field must match the name of the file, but without the extension, so TranscendenceVictoryQuest in this case.
     
  4. Bandobras Took

    Bandobras Took Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,890
    Location:
    Orem, UT
    Thanks; the checklist in the last paragraph was what kept (repeatedly, it seems) throwing me.
     

Share This Page